• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Coffee shops Increase Price of Kopi And Teh by 20 cents due to rising rent and salary

SINGAPORE: Some coffee shops in Singapore have increased the prices of coffee and tea, due to rising rental and manpower costs.

For one association, one-third of its 1,200 coffee shops across the island have increased the price by 30 cents.

The increase in costs this year is because landlords every year increase rent by 10 to 20 per cent. And also the workers – for every worker that earns under S$4,000, we have adjusted (their pay) by S$400,” said Mr Thomas Foo, chairman of Kheng Keow Coffee Merchants Restaurant and Bar-Owners Association.

For NTUC-run food outlets, the price of a cup of coffee has gone up by 20 cents. Its 12 food courts are now charging S$1.60, up from S$1.40. For its seven coffee shops, coffee is now S$1 instead of S$0.80.

However, coffee shops under the Kopitiam group will not be joining the beverage price hike. To handle manpower costs, the group said that it plans to provide more training for its staff and hire workers under a temporary arrangement.

Some members of public told Channel NewsAsia that they are receptive towards the price adjustments, as long as the increase is not too much.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/coffee-shops-raise-drink/2580976.html?cid=fbsg

Re: Coffee shops Increase Price of Kopi And Teh by 20 cents due to rising rent and sa

This means that the kopi roti outlets will get even more business and this will further indicate that SG economy is doing great. Huat Ah! :biggrin:

kryonlight

Re: Coffee shops Increase Price of Kopi And Teh by 20 cents due to rising rent and sa

The only winner is the Landlord aka PAP. It's a massive black hole that gets bigger with each passing year. When will you be sucked in?

MadrigalWheel

LOL. In SG when economy is bad, prices go up because must make up for loss in demand, when economy is good, prices must go up because things more expensive.

Like electricity go up when oil prices go up, but when oil price drop, electricity price is not fully dependent on oil price so lagi go up.

When oil price go up, petrol go up, when oil price go down, petrol cannot come down because of excise tax.

PAP loves to play "heads I win, tails you lose" with Singaporeans.

Lots of sinkies are still drinking $5-10 coffee at starbucks and chic cafes with free wifi. So what's the beef with paying $1 for coffee at the coffee shops?

shittypore

The only winner is the Landlord aka PAP. It's a massive black hole that gets bigger with each passing year. When will you be sucked in?

Ah Yeoooh, they suck till all dried up.

PAP Press says we have deflation leh. How can this happen?

hsienloong

Lots of sinkies are still drinking $5-10 coffee at starbucks and chic cafes with free wifi. So what's the beef with paying $1 for coffee at the coffee shops?

No true. Starbucks is shutting outlets Worldwide, Singapore is not spared.
Many chic cafes in Singapore have already shut down due to poor business and high rentals.

Starbucks is mostly patronized by PAP pet foreigners who are here to steal the jobs from local.
Only greedy PAP cronies increases the prices of beverages at the expense of local heartlanders.

http://danielfooddiary.com/2015/12/15/closedcafes/

http://www.soshiok.com/content/jackie-chans-cafe-coffee-tea-shut-its-doors

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/gallery/another-tiong-bahru-eating-house-is-closing-down-*gid-8e3f3101/

http://www.soshiok.com/content/tong-sengs-last-day

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/coffee-shop-bids-farewell-with-a-last-free-meal

http://www.spring.gov.sg/NewsEvents...esses-last-beyond-5-years-study-20150728.aspx

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/dr_cafe_coffee_ion_orchard/

http://aroimakmak.com/coffee-stars-by-dao-singapore/

http://sg.asia-city.com/nightlife/news/cafe-del-mar-singapore-close-down

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/cuddles-cat-cafe-closes-staff-volunteer-care-cats

http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/trung-nguyen-coffee-changi/10539

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/wendy-singapore-closes-last-outlets-010059989.html

Still plenty of sinkie ah cheks and ah sohs having kaya roti and drinking kopi at those kopi roti outlets. Sinkie economy must be doing great! :biggrin:

Shit papers up 20cts, my neighbourhood snack stall, fried meehoon/mee in a packet with luncheon meat & egg up 20cts, sticky rice up 10cts..kopi up 20cts.....thank you people for voting for the PAP...

Hacks

Shit papers up 20cts, my neighbourhood snack stall, fried meehoon/mee in a packet with luncheon meat & egg up 20cts, sticky rice up 10cts..kopi up 20cts.....thank you people for voting for the PAP...

Don't tell u buy them.

... The increase in costs this year is because landlords every year increase rent by 10 to 20 per cent ...
ah loon n his jingang n their cronies ... huat ah! ...

steffychun

SINGAPORE: Some coffee shops in Singapore have increased the prices of coffee and tea, due to rising rental and manpower costs.

For one association, one-third of its 1,200 coffee shops across the island have increased the price by 30 cents.

The increase in costs this year is because landlords every year increase rent by 10 to 20 per cent. And also the workers – for every worker that earns under S$4,000, we have adjusted (their pay) by S$400,” said Mr Thomas Foo, chairman of Kheng Keow Coffee Merchants Restaurant and Bar-Owners Association.

For NTUC-run food outlets, the price of a cup of coffee has gone up by 20 cents. Its 12 food courts are now charging S$1.60, up from S$1.40. For its seven coffee shops, coffee is now S$1 instead of S$0.80.

However, coffee shops under the Kopitiam group will not be joining the beverage price hike. To handle manpower costs, the group said that it plans to provide more training for its staff and hire workers under a temporary arrangement.

Some members of public told Channel NewsAsia that they are receptive towards the price adjustments, as long as the increase is not too much.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/coffee-shops-raise-drink/2580976.html?cid=fbsg

Why need to drink kopi and teh? Just drink urine!

And also the workers – for every worker that earns under S$4,000, we have adjusted (their pay) by S$400,”

What kind of no head no tail reporting is this? Adjsut by $400 from an initial salary of ???? U know any coffeeshop worker that earns $4000?

And also the workers – for every worker that earns under S$4,000, we have adjusted (their pay) by S$400,”

What kind of no head no tail reporting is this? Adjsut by $400 from an initial salary of ???? U know any coffeeshop worker that earns $4000?

The owner...he is a 'worker' also or his China Ah Mei, behind the counter, his mistress, was making $3,600 a month now increased by $400 ( Singapore Dollars)...but her pay is actually $800 plus OT etc...$1,300....so you figure out...which worker at the coffee shop earns about $4,000... ha ha ha ha

Aiyah....just pay & pay & pay....have we not use to it?...for 50 going to 51 years....live with it..

As consumers you have a choice. Just boycott.

No more FTs means no more upper middle class. We just have to try and bilk the poor instead.

As consumers you have a choice. Just boycott.

Consumers here have 'thick as brick' skulls with pea brains inside...they dare boycott?...they have choices..yet they keep endorsing people that help spiral costs every day of their lives...

You ask them to boycott....you are certainly, out of luck...

Consumers here have 'thick as brick' skulls with pea brains inside...they dare boycott?...they have choices..yet they keep endorsing people that help spiral costs every day of their lives...

Consumers have a choice to drink or not. Nobody is forcing them to drink $1.60 kopi. I for one am glad that NTUC is taking the lead to raise prices. No money drink office 3in1 instant kopi! Dun drink 1 kopi loiter around kopitiam whole day spoil business.

That's what I do. If for no good reason up price even 10 cents, I boycott. I even siam outlets selling my cigs at $13. I can buy them at lower prices elsewhere. Unless lan lan after 10pm. So I always buy 2 packets to keep. Last time got lobang from cig smuggler - M'sian cigs. At least 5 cartons one purchase then keep in the fridge.