Dear Bro Ram , is it Cleaner got a good deal here

the deal = 5 mths x 1/3 remission for good conduct = 3.333 mths

take S$54,000 divide by 3.333 mths = S$16,200/-

Conclusion pay is S$16k per mth .:confused:

Cleaner paid $54,500 by mistake14 Dec 11

Title: Cleaner paid $54,500 by mistake
Source: Straits Times
Author: By Elena Chong

A MAN was given a cheque for $54,500 - instead of $545 - by his employer when he resigned from his job as a cleaner.

Ng Leong Chuan, 30, who kept mum about the mistake, went on to bank in the cheque and withdraw $53,955, spending all of it.

Yesterday, he was jailed for five months after he admitted dishonestly misappropriating $53,955 belonging to Madam Ng Lay Ha, 41, on Sept 6 last year.

She is a co-owner of Song Huat Catering & Supplier, which runs a coffee shop in Toa Payoh Central.

The court heard that Ng went to the company's office that day to collect his final pay cheque after his resignation.

He was supposed to get a cheque for $755, but was entitled to only $545 after deductions.

Madam Ng instructed her clerk to issue a cheque for $545.

The clerk, who used a cheque-printing machine, mistakenly keyed in $54,500. Madam Ng signed the cheque without realising the error and gave it to Ng.

He kept quiet about the mistake.

He went to the POSB branch at Toa Payoh Hub and deposited the cheque into his DBS Bank savings account.

He claimed he had spent all the $53,955 withdrawn.

A police report was made in January.

Senior District Judge See Kee Oon said that if Ng had made any restitution or tried to do so, the sentence would have been lighter.

Ng said in mitigation that he was earning $800 a month as a cleaner and supporting his mother.

He could have been jailed for up to two years and/or fined.

When contacted, Madam Ng's husband, Mr Guay Kim Hua, 47, who is co-owner of the company, said he had asked Ng about the cheque after the mistake was discovered.

'We waited for six months trying to recover the money but our calls and visits to his place were unsuccessful,' he said.

The clerk who made the mistake resigned in September last year.

'Now we are taking extra precautions by ensuring that some cheques are signed by two parties. My wife cannot read English so I have to help her double-check,' said Mr Guay.

'In the past, because we had a huge stack of cheques to clear, she usually just signed them, but now we make sure we check the company's name and amount.'

[email protected]

It's not finders keepers

TAKING something that does not belong to you could land you in trouble with the law.

Lawyer Ramesh Tiwary said if a person receives money that he is not entitled to, he is legally bound to report it.

'If you find $1,000 on the road, you are duty-bound to return it to the police. Obviously nobody threw away the $1,000,' he said.

But if you don't know that money you are not entitled to has been credited into your account, then you are not liable until you discover it.

Mr Tiwary said that under the law, the moment anyone finds out that this has happened, they should inform the bank.

If they know, and keep the money for their own use, then it is misappropriation.

Another lawyer, Mr Lee Teck Leng, said that if someone were to find something such as a mobile phone, wallet or a bag, retaining the item would lead to an offence of criminal misappropriation.

He said Ng Leong Chuan crossed the line when he realised that it was an excessive amount but proceeded to deposit the cheque into his account.

It is not a case of finders keepers, he added.

Mr Tiwary said failure to make restitution is an aggravating feature taken into account in sentencing.

1. mdm tang, i like your avatar!
2. is this some challenge for ms irene or what?

This man can come out earlier if he got programme....tagging on the ankles....within 2 month out liao

.Ng Leong Chuan, 30, who kept mum about the mistake, went on to bank in the cheque and withdraw $53,955, spending all of it.

Yesterday, he was jailed for five months after he admitted dishonestly misappropriating $53,955 belonging to Madam Ng Lay Ha, 41, on Sept 6 last year.
:
:
The clerk, who used a cheque-printing machine, mistakenly keyed in $54,500. Madam Ng signed the cheque without realising the error and gave it to Ng.

This is an unusual case. The chq was issued in his name and thus he is the rightful owner of the cheque, whether it's $1 or $100,000

In the Penal Code, check out Section 403, Explanation 2, Illustration (a), where "A finds a dollar on the high road, not knowing to whom the dollar belongs. A picks up the dollar. Here A has not committed the offence defined in this section. In Ng's case, he was GIVEN a cheque, issued in HIS NAME, and thus banked in the chq. Corresponding, it should not be a case of misappropriation of property. Rather, it was a MISTAKE MADE by both the clerk & the signatory. :*:

I wonder who is the judge for this case.

Dishonest misappropriation of property
403.Whoever dishonestly misappropriates or converts to his own use movable property, shall be punished with
imprisonment for a term which may extend to 2 years, or with fine, or with both.

Illustrations
(a) A takes property belonging to Z out of Z’s possession in good faith believing, at the time when he takes it, that the
property belongs to himself. A is not guilty of theft; but if A, after discovering his mistake, dishonestly appropriates the
property to his own use, he is guilty of an offence under this section.

(b) A, being on friendly terms with Z, goes into Z’s house in Z’s absence and takes away a book without Z’s express consent.
Here, if A was under the impression that he had Z’s implied consent to take the book for the purpose of reading it, A has not
committed theft. But if A afterwards sells the book for his own benefit, he is guilty of an offence under this section.

(c) A and B being joint owners of a horse, A takes the horse out of B’s possession, intending to use it. Here, as A has a right to
use the horse, he does not dishonestly misappropriate it. But if A sells the horse and appropriates the whole proceeds to his
own use, he is guilty of an offence under this section.

Explanation 1.
A dishonest misappropriation for a time only is a misappropriation within the meaning of this section.
Illustration
A finds a Government promissory note belonging to Z, bearing a blank endorsement. A, knowing that the note belongs to Z,
pledges it with a banker as a security for a loan, intending at a future time to restore it to Z. A has committed an offence under
this section.

Explanation 2.
A person who finds property not in the possession of any other person, and takes such property for the purpose of protecting
it for, or of restoring it to the owner, does not take or misappropriate it dishonestly, and is not guilty of an offence; but he is
guilty of the offence above defined, if he appropriates it to his own use, when he knows or has the means of discovering the
owner, or before he has used reasonable means to discover and give notice to the owner, and has kept the property a
reasonable time to enable the owner to claim it.
What are reasonable means, or what is a reasonable time in such a case, is a question of fact.
It is not necessary that the finder should know who is the owner of the property, or that any particular person is the owner of
it; it is sufficient if, at the time of appropriating it, he does not believe it to be his own property, or in good faith believe that
the real owner cannot be found.
Illustrations
(a) A finds a dollar on the high road, not knowing to whom the dollar belongs. A picks up the dollar. Here A has not
committed the offence defined in this section.

(b) A finds a letter on the high road, containing a bank note. From the direction and contents of the letter he learns to whom
the note belongs. He appropriates the note. He is guilty of an offence under this section.
(c) A finds a cheque payable to bearer. He can form no conjecture as to the person who has lost the cheque. But the name of
the person who has drawn the cheque appears. A knows that this person can direct him to the person in whose favour the
cheque was drawn. A appropriates the cheque without attempting to discover the owner. He is guilty of an offence under this
section.
appropriates it to his own use. A has committed an offence under this section.
(e) A finds a purse with money, not knowing to whom it belongs; he afterwards discovers that it belongs to Z, and
appropriates it to his own use. A is guilty of an offence under this section.
(f) A finds a valuable ring, not knowing to whom it belongs. A sells it immediately without attempting to discover the owner.
A is guilty of an offence under this section.

Justice.png

a few months ago i gone to top up

$200 into the my handphone top up card

but was in hurry and keyed in the last

digit wrongly . ended up topped

up someone else hp card. i called

her but she refused to pay me back !!!

more recently my friend did a atm

bank transfer and keyed in wrong

a/c . $1k gone. !

He did not find the $$$$ on the road. If he did, there is no grounds for prosecution. He got it from a party who realised its mistake, called him back but the farker refused to give it back. So it is like you go to a hawker centre and ordered a char kway teow that costs $5. You gave fifty by mistake and walked away thinking it is $5. When you realised your mistake and go back to the stall, the hawker refused to give you back. How? is this not akin to stealing?

I think the cleaner ready for jail. Worth it for someone who makes only 800 per month

'If you find $1,000 on the road, you are duty-bound to return it to the police. Obviously nobody threw away the $1,000,' he said."

Mr. Tiwary, if you dropped $1,000 I pick it up, it is my good fortune & my duty to spend that $1,000 ha ha ha, have he not heard the saying from, we were young " finders keeper, looser weeper"!!

:D

bros, is it even aftet serving the 5 months

he still liable to pay back the s$54k ?

i thought after served time ;

no need to pay back ?

how come system like that ?

No need pay back.
But if you owing HDB conservancy or income tax then after sit still liable to pay back.
Cannot owe Govt money.

bros, is it even aftet serving the 5 months

he still liable to pay back the s$54k ?

i thought after served time ;

no need to pay back ?

how come system like that ?

No need pay back.
But if you owing HDB conservancy or income tax then after sit still liable to pay back.
Cannot owe Govt money.

Look like coffeeshop owners want Him to pay back ...

Sit already also must pay back when is this mah ...

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20111215-316425/2.html

This . costs coffee shop $53,955

Employee pockets money after clerk keys in $54500 instead of $545.00. -TNP

Fri, Dec 16, 2011
The New Paper

One missing decimal point cost the owners of a coffee shop nearly $54,000.

The simple mistake was made in a cheque that Must Eat coffee shop in Block 177, Toa Payoh Central, issued to a cleaner.

By the time the mistake was discovered, he claimed to have spent the money.

Yesterday, Ng Leong Chuan, 30, was sentenced to five months' jail after he pleaded guilty in a district court to dishonestly misappropriating $53,955.

The coffee shop is owned by Mr Guay Kim Hua, 47, and his wife, Madam Ng Lay Ha, 41.

Their former clerk made out the cheque to Ng on Sept 6 last year.

Ng was supposed to receive only $545.

But the clerk, Ms Chong Yee Wan, who used a cheque printing machine, keyed in $54500 instead of $545.00.

Instead of alerting his former bosses about the error, Ng promptly made his way to a nearby bank and deposited the cheque into his savings account.

Shocked

Mr Guay told The New Paper that he found out about the mistake only last December after his accountant noticed the cheque payment.

Mr Guay said: "She asked me why I had given out so much money to one Ng Leong Chuan, and I was shocked when I found out the amount involved.

"I could not recall who Ng was, so I asked my wife about him and she did not remember either."

By then, the clerk, Ms Chong, had left her job with them. It was an honest mistake on her part, said Mr Guay.

"At first, we thought it was a case of fraud. But the deposited cheque clearly showed my wife's signature on it. The bank showed us a copy of the cheque when we later requested to see it," he said.

It turned out that Madam Ng had failed to verify the amount printed on the cheque before she signed it.

Mr Guay said: "She turned quiet and looked very guilty when she realised her mistake.

"But I do not blame her because I know that sometimes, she has to sign stacks of cheques at one go.

"I believe she just flipped through them to put down her signature. And in her haste, she did not notice the clerk's error."

He phoned Ng shortly after this to inform him about the mistake.

But Ng disconnected the call as soon as he realised it was from Mr Guay.

The businessman's other employees then informed him that Ng was known to work as a cleaner at different eateries in Bishan and Toa Payoh.

So Mr Guay spent a whole week in January visiting different coffee shops and foodcourts in the area.

He finally found Ng working in Junction 8 shopping mall in Bishan.

Mr Guay confronted his former worker and informed the police.

He said: "Before officers came down to investigate, Ng told me that he would return the money if he could. But he claimed that he had spent it all."

Mr Guay found out about Ng going to jail only when reporters called him to find out more about the case.

He said he is thinking of pursuing a civil suit against Ng to get the money back.

He said: "My wife and I now make it a point to check every cheque carefully before we ink our signatures. We have definitely learnt our lesson the hard way."

For dishonestly misappropriating the money, Ng could have been jailed up to two years and fined.

This article was first published in The New Paper.

30 years old and act like an idiot, now he wasted his life away. now he have criminal record, how is he going to make a iving from 31-65++ . stupid idiot.