• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

China livid as dissident Liu wins Nobel Peace Prize

GoFlyKiteNow

China livid as dissident Liu wins Nobel Peace Prize

By Wojciech Moskwa
and Ben Blanchard
Posted 2010/10/08 at 4:29 pm EDT

The Dalai Lama, whose receipt of the Peace Prize in 1989 similarly angered China, said the prize highlighted "the international community's recognition of the increasing voices among the Chinese people" pushing for reforms.

OSLO/BEIJING, Oct. 8, 2010 (Reuters) — Jailed Chinese democracy activist Liu Xiaobo won the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for two decades of non-violent struggle for human rights, infuriating China, which called the award "an obscenity".

The prize shines a spotlight on human rights in China at a time when it is starting to play a leading role on the global stage as a result of its growing economic might.

"We have to speak when others cannot speak," Norwegian Nobel Committee chairman Thorbjoern Jagland told Reuters.

The award drew muted reactions from the European Union, France, Germany and Britain.

But last year's winner, U.S. President Barack Obama, accused China of falling behind on political reforms as its economy surges, and urged it to free Liu Xiaobo as soon as possible.

Liu Xiaobo rose to prominence as a strike leader during the Tiananmen Square pro-democracy protests in 1989.

He was sentenced to 11 years' jail last December for writing a manifesto calling for free speech and multi-party elections.

The Nobel Committee praised him for his "long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights" and reiterated its belief in a "close connection between human rights and peace".

"OBSCENITY"

China, which had warned against giving the prize to Liu, summoned Norway's ambassador to protest.

"This is an obscenity against the peace prize," Foreign Ministry spokesman Ma Zhaoxu said in a statement.

"(Liu's) actions are diametrically opposed to the aims of the Nobel prize. Nobel's behest was that the Nobel Peace Prize be awarded to somebody who promoted peace between peoples, promoted international friendship and disarmament."

Beijing residents reported that CNN and BBC broadcasts were cut when the prize was mentioned.

Activists say human rights have dropped down the agenda of Western powers wary of upsetting China, now the world's second largest economy.

Britain, France, Germany and the European Union all congratulated Liu, saying they had lobbied for his release from prison.

Obama was more pointed.

He said China had made dramatic progress in fighting poverty, but that "this award reminds us that political reform has not kept pace, and that the basic human rights of every man, woman and child must be respected".

U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon said the award of the prize to Liu underscored growing concern around the world about human rights and he hoped any disagreement over the decision would not damage the global rights cause.

pallkia

I am beginning to doubt the prestigious status of Nobel awards as it is more a political tools used by a selective committee which is comprising only of westerners and no people from all walks of life of the World.

How can a rich Westerner (Norway with per capita income of USD 78176 )telling a poor Asian man (China with per capital income of USD3600) to follow their way of behaving?Not only they are different in income,they are also different in Cultures?

Besides,for the past 30 years ,China has been improving from nothing to today's status and is expected to improve further with threatening speed.

As such,nobody should pass the verdict whose systems is better!Whose rights is more important?Groups or individual?To China,it does not matter a cat is black or white,if it catches rats,it is a good cat!

The Chinese govt is focusing time on building the country with speed and spend no time in dealing with opposition parties!That is a good thing of a single party system at this developing stage compared to multi parties system!

China is still communist to the core.

Don't be fooled by the veneer of capitalist gloss on its surface.

Sure, its GDP is booming. That's because foreign investments and manufacturing jobs are moving to it. You get your beloved Apple products made/assembled there (and in the process indirectly caused some Foxconn workers to commit suicide).

But when it comes to dealing with dissidents, censorship, minority races, foreign policy (eg. to North Korea), the commie leopard has never changed its spots.

Go here for more insights into China:
http://chinasmack.com/

myo539

HOW ABOUT NOMINATING CHEE SOON JUAN FOR A NOBEL PRIZE?

He also fought for democracy in Singapore and world peace. He also kenna jailed, also a dissident fighting for injustice and fundamental human rights for everybody from the garang guni men to the old grannies selling newspaper at wet market. He also went on hunger strike in food crazy Singapore. He is also a Chinese. He even went to angmoh countries to sell his ideas like the Dalai Lama.

longbow

I think communism or democracy is not important for 3rd world nation.

What matters is the common man - is he better off. Does he have better housing, better future prospects, his children have access to education, acess to clean water and electrocity - in short his life is getting better.

I keep seeig Indians shout democracy, democracy and next moment they crap on the streets and live in slums - what is the point?

Sure, its GDP is booming. That's because foreign investments and manufacturing jobs are moving to it. You get your beloved Apple products made/assembled there (and in the process indirectly caused some Foxconn workers to commit suicide).

But when it comes to dealing with dissidents, censorship, minority races, foreign policy (eg. to North Korea), the commie leopard has never changed its spots.

pallkia

I think communism or democracy is not important for 3rd world nation.

What matters is the common man - is he better off. Does he have better housing, better future prospects, his children have access to education, acess to clean water and electrocity - in short his life is getting better.

I keep seeig Indians shout democracy, democracy and next moment they crap on the streets and live in slums - what is the point?

That is exactly what I mean?Communist,to me does not exist anymore!What is more important is the current system (whether authocratic or not) is lifting hundreds of million of Chinese out of poverty in a very short time!

Good job China,be steadfast and do what you think is better for your own country,dont care whatever kinds of interpretation or any forms of ways the Westerners trying to lure you into!

cooleo

He also fought for democracy in Singapore and world peace. He also kenna jailed, also a dissident fighting for injustice and fundamental human rights for everybody from the garang guni men to the old grannies selling newspaper at wet market. He also went on hunger strike in food crazy Singapore. He is also a Chinese. He even went to angmoh countries to sell his ideas like the Dalai Lama.

April Fool's Day joke for next year?

silliporean

White man for the past 2 to 4 hundred years have been plundering, murdering, raping and enslaving her neighbors.

Today, they talk about humanity? Ha..ha...

So which countries have China raped, conquered, plundered and enslaved for the past 2 to 3 hundred years?

cheowyonglee

well said brother! something to share with you guys...

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/LiEi1XKI53M?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/LiEi1XKI53M?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

cheowyonglee

White man for the past 2 to 4 hundred years have been plundering, murdering, raping and enslaving her neighbors.

Today, they talk about humanity? Ha..ha...

So which countries have China raped, conquered, plundered and enslaved for the past 2 to 3 hundred years?

hi brainless bastard, let me show you what communist ruled china had done during the past 2 to 3 hundred years!!!to those guys who are pro communist, watch carefully and think hard... :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

number one --->>>the mass killings of own citizens.. :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/mXBSlmqy2O4?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mXBSlmqy2O4?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

destorying own culture, own teachers and own good citizens... :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/p63xt5AlahY?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/p63xt5AlahY?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

helping the north korea invading the South korea.... :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:
Lucky the U.S came in and helped to drive out the north korea communist.
knn if not, you guys think there will be all the famous korean brand like sumsung??? and all the good movies and also a decmoratic south korea?
becos of the communist china under the order from the russia communist, they are to spread communist all over asia.including south korea.
if let's say british, US prefer to be self-fish and leave us to the communist, then u me and singapore lee kuan yew will have any chance to be what it is today???? think hard about it.

if communist is good, why china communist dun just pratice it but now start the open door policy???but their system still using communist.just that they want their economy to be strong, they open the door to the world.but their thinking still communist.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/JcT-tz8Az78?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/JcT-tz8Az78?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

becos of the stupid chinese communist ruled china, now their young children are also becoming like a shit!!! :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/mzZ414vOD8Q?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mzZ414vOD8Q?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

now now, do you guys think, communist china is good??????how many people had died under the stupid communist rule????

Sideswipe

China should arrest these fools.
next year 2011, they can win a Nobel Peace Prize group award.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/1FWMHI4226o?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/1FWMHI4226o?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Cruxx

Communist here communist there. How many Sinkies or Chinks even know what "communism" is? The fuckin CCP even have the cheek to call their system "Socialism with Chinese characteristics". WTF is "Socialism with Chinese characteristics"? It's as dumb as a one-party state flaunting their "Asian democracy" to the western world. What a joke!

Agoraphobic

There is no need to fight for democracy in Singapore - there are elections every four or five years; that is democracy.

The "ang moh" countries see Singapore as a friendly country with political, religious AND financial stability. Efficient civil service, business friendly. And get this - NO corruption. Mobil would not have their biggest refinery outside the US in Sg if they didn't think that Sg is a safe place to have it.

Chewing Gum ban is a joke and maybe puzzling, but not disturbing. Sg is definitely not in the pool with Iran and N. Korea. And unlike China, Sg is not a potential threat, nor robbing their manufacturing jobs.

I don't think CSJ is out of line, but going to western nations for his cause is quite silly. He should go there for a job in the field he is certified. He'll do better than try to fight for people who won't fight for him.

Agoraphobic

China has her reasons to disagree with some of these Nobel prize winners; but playing up to it only displays politcal immaturity and insecurity.

Since this happens so often, I wonder what's preventing China from starting her own Heaven and Harmony Peace Awards to Western dissidents?

pallkia

Communist here communist there. How many Sinkies or Chinks even know what "communism" is? The fuckin CCP even have the cheek to call their system "Socialism with Chinese characteristics". WTF is "Socialism with Chinese characteristics"? It's as dumb as a one-party state flaunting their "Asian democracy" to the western world. What a joke!

Whatever systems,nobody care.I have been visiting China for the past 15 years and it is getting freer and safer day by day like most big cities.It is very interesting to see how fast they've learned and progressed.Reduction of Poverty,Olympic,bullet trains,space, World expo etc

Why the SE Asia Chinese are so successful is becos they talk less but work, practical and hardworking !Likewise,what is most important is China is able to develop stronger day by day in the fastest time!Forget about human or political rights abuse because this is the price you have to pay while developing!

cheowyonglee

Fucking PRC. I rather see a strong ROC or Japan.

驱逐共产,反共复民。

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/H3G_mYC0qOw?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/H3G_mYC0qOw?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

silliporean

hi brainless bastard, let me show you what communist ruled china had done during the past 2 to 3 hundred years!!!to those guys who are pro communist, watch carefully and think hard... :oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

hi fuckhead, why dont you tell me how the whites have enslaved the the africans, how the whites took over Mexico and make Los Angeles and Texas their own state, why dot you tell me about the crusades, white man's lies for protecting pilgrims which in actual fact was an invasion attempts.

Why dont you tell me about the whites planting a jewish state right in the middle of arabs countries right after the war, and what's their purpose in doing so.

Why dont you tell me if the whites found weapons of mass destructions in the middle east after bombing the shit out of them destroying their country, hunted their leader down like a dog.

Why dont you tell me about white man selling opium to CHina, why dont you tell me about white man tearing up china just about a hundred years ago

Why dont you tell me about white man nuking Japan while sparing Germany in wortd war 2.. the germans put up a fierce fight too.

Tell me more so that I can learn from you.. :oIo: