• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cheerful send off...how many of you can ???

Most people expect funerals to be sombre affairs, shrouded in black and marked by tears, but not for one woman here.

While she was battling a terminal illness last year, the late Mrs Joyce Ho told her husband that when her time came, he should celebrate her life instead.

That was exactly what happened at a two-day 'farewell party' which started on Friday, where friends and family gathered to share stories about the former Pilates teacher after she died from carcinoid cancer last Saturday at the age of 54.

'Dying shouldn't be mournful if you had a good life. If you were content, you should go happily.' - Dr Paul Ho, recalling the words of his wife Joyce

Mrs Ho's husband Paul, recalled her saying: 'Dying shouldn't be mournful if you had a good life. If you were content, you should go happily.'

54 is still young lah...still quite sad!

Not many people will let go even if they are 84!!! They will fight tooth and nail to stay alive...

If I got terminal cancer, I will donate all my monies to SBF!!!...and invite all of you for a big celebration !!! Why die in utter misery and giving all your hard earned savings to hospitals and doctors. Time to die just die and go...no regrets.

Do you all have any regrets at all ? Or something you must do before you say fare-well?

Saw the obituary in yesterday's ST. Not a usual thing for Asians I think. Its always sad when a loved one passes on. Grief is the norm. So lets say if I were to attend the funeral, I don't know whether to be sad or to be laughing and joking.

nanbeh, below my void deck, one auntie who was a dancer passed away. all her friends came all dressed bright red colours and they danced the night away....all so happy.not a single sad face...all danced and danced...and i suspect the deceased also kicking!!!

kicking the bucket leh :o
nanbeh, below my void deck, one auntie who was a dancer passed away. all her friends came all dressed bright red colours and they danced the night away....all so happy.not a single sad face...all danced and danced...and i suspect the deceased also kicking!!!

There is still that old man clinging on to life wearing diapers and he is nearing 90. For sure we all will celebrate as it will be a joyous occasion.

If it is from her own wishes, then it is acceptable I guess.

Sometimes when u go to a funeral, the person crying the loudest is also the one who treated the deceased worst when he was alive.

Yes, I have witnessed many of these incidents. They are great actors/actresses.

Off topic, I see similarities in the HFJs too. The customers that kpkb talk loudly and steal attention type, usually no flower or $50 after making the singers drink like no tomorrow.

how true how true...and the deepest grief are those who suffer in anguished silence...life is so sad for those who love profoundly and deeply. so better don't love too strongly for love hurts as much as it gives you joy..

so when your loved ones are around, pls show them your deepest affection...go kiss your loved ones and say I Love You.

sudden death of loved ones will be very painful for the kins. if loved ones passed away after long battle with illness, already mentally prepared so mood should be alright. my grandparents all passed away after prolonged illness, i noticed not much sadness shown by my uncles/aunties throughout the funeral period.

i agree. i remember hoilding the hands of my dying mum as she passed away peacefully....the funeral was simple and we did what was necessary with no pomp and ceremony.....death is inevitable. must learn to accept it.but tragic deaths, sudden deaths and suicides are heart-breaking...sad.sad.sad.

Death is a natural .. is as natural as rain and sun. However, havent really come across anyone who really treat it as so natural that he doesnt feel a tinge of sadness when someone he loves deeply passed away. Its a level of mind. On books, i only recall reading about Zhuang Zi who didnt feel anything at all when his wife died. In fact, he didnt even bother to bury his wife as the body will decompose and recycle by itself.

very cheam bro...very cheam....how many of us can do this " detachment" from this worldly earth...all but illusion and all but mind spin...nothingness...why cry? why sob? why grieve? we are part of this ever changing cycle of Nature....kumsia very much for your very enlightening feedback.....<salute sir!>*