Cheaper electricity bills in the future?

laksa

HDB plans to go big on solar energy

Sep 25, 2013

By Grace Chua

The Housing Board is working on its largest single solar-leasing project to date - and is also looking into households being able to buy electricity made from the sun's energy.

Last month, it called its largest solar-leasing tender: for a company to own and operate panels on some 125 blocks in Ang Mo Kio, Sengkang, Serangoon North and Buangkok.

These would produce 5MW of electricity in optimum conditions, or 5 megawatts-peak (MWp), enough to power more than 1,000 four-room HDB flats.

The HDB will offset up to 30 per cent of the start-up costs, and, in turn, buy the electricity for 20 years at a 5 per cent or greater discount off the prevailing market price. This electricity would power lights in corridors and common areas, lifts and water pumps, among other things.

tings wun get chippa under ah loon ...

it wil oni b a massif saving 4 hdb ... but dun xpek hdb 2 boast dey make hansum profit ... dey wil stil tel u dey loose moni ...

wateva gains dat can b achieved wil go in2 ah loonz pocket ...

Please register for a discount at www.waitlonglong.com
Actually smart move as more public money is converted into private money and another opportunity to rip us off.

And everytime it rains, Haze, you would be without electricity. Might as well go nuclear at least you'll be guaranteed a constant supply of electricity.

Nuclear energy seems cheap until you consider the cost of disposing the nuclear wastes which most projects do not take into account. And the wastes have to be kept for hundreds of years.

You haven't seen the thorium reactors yet have you?

[video=youtube;P9M__yYbsZ4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9M__yYbsZ4[/video]

Nuclear energy seems cheap until you consider the cost of disposing the nuclear wastes which most projects do not take into account. And the wastes have to be kept for hundreds of years.

See if these block in PAP or opposition wards or not.

HDB plans to go big on solar energy

Sep 25, 2013

By Grace Chua

The Housing Board is working on its largest single solar-leasing project to date - and is also looking into households being able to buy electricity made from the sun's energy.

Last month, it called its largest solar-leasing tender: for a company to own and operate panels on some 125 blocks in Ang Mo Kio, Sengkang, Serangoon North and Buangkok.

These would produce 5MW of electricity in optimum conditions, or 5 megawatts-peak (MWp), enough to power more than 1,000 four-room HDB flats.

The HDB will offset up to 30 per cent of the start-up costs, and, in turn, buy the electricity for 20 years at a 5 per cent or greater discount off the prevailing market price. This electricity would power lights in corridors and common areas, lifts and water pumps, among other things.

tings wun get chippa under ah loon ...

it wil oni b a massif saving 4 hdb ... but dun xpek hdb 2 boast dey make hansum profit ... dey wil stil tel u dey loose moni ...

wateva gains dat can b achieved wil go in2 ah loonz pocket ...

Loon ada main billiards dalam pocket tak, Joe ?:confused:

The Housing Board is working on its largest single solar-leasing project to date -

Thanks for shairng information... I hope these plans are implemented strictly.. We need to use solar energy to decrease our reliability on fossil fuels.