• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat CCS on Leadership Qualities

Chan Chun Sing lays out key leadership qualities needed for Singapore’s future

chan-chun-sing-interview--5-.jpg

upload_2018-1-11_17-44-27.gif
By Kevin Kwang
@KevinKwangCNA
11 Jan 2018 07:38PM (Updated: 11 Jan 2018 07:46PM)
Share this content
Bookmark

SINGAPORE: Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Chan Chun Sing on Thursday (Jan 11) shared his thoughts about leadership traits needed to steer Singapore into the future.

Mr Chan, speaking at the first SR Nathan Hard Seats Lecture organised by the Oxford & Cambridge Society of Singapore, pointed to the examples of leaders before his time having to decide on instituting conscription, create the Central Provident Fund and public housing as not shirking responsibilities towards current and future generations.

He said these leaders, including founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, had the mettle to make difficult but necessary decisions when the need arose, and kept faith with the people. “If we want to remain successful, we need leadership teams that are just as committed, decisive in their actions and yet able to keep faith with our people,” he added.

The minister’s comments come on the heels of Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong’s Facebook post at the turn of the year expressing his hope that the current fourth generation of leaders will pick a leader among themselves so current Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong can designate his potential successor.

The younger generation of leaders, which includes Mr Chan, subsequently responded on Jan 4 saying they are “keenly aware” that leadership succession is pressing issue given that Mr Lee has said he intends to step down after the next General Election. A leader will be chosen from among the group “in good time”, they said.

BUILDING TRUST

Leaders can only be effective if there’s a deep sense of trust between the Government and its people, Mr Chan said. He highlighted three ways for leaders to win and maintain this trust.

Firstly, leaders must be upfront with the people on the challenges and options, the minister said.

“Help Singaporeans understand what’s at stake and the trade-offs involved. Let them know how they’ll be affected directly, and spend more time on the ‘why’ rather than the ‘what’ or ‘how’,” he elaborated.

He also suggested working the ground and sharing as much information “wherever possible” so people can become better informed and trust that decisions were made only after careful consideration.

Secondly, leaders must continue to find new ways to communicate and connect with different generations, Mr Chan said. With a more diverse population, with different expectations of the government and in a fast-paced, digital age that has “social media influencers”, he said there is “no shortage of ideas, views and, of course, criticism”.

“At times, inaccurate and misleading information can ‘go viral’, possibly clouding a person’s view on an issue. The challenge then is to find ways to manage this, and get citizens to understand the matter at heart,” he said.

Thirdly, leaders must be accountable and responsible, Mr Chan, who is also secretary-general of the National Trades Union Congress, said. This means making good on promises and, when there are problems, working to put things right immediately, he explained.

People would also give their trust when they see the Government has been “responsible, anticipates and are responsive in meeting their needs” and there is an overall improvement in their lives, Mr Chan said.

The minister added: “Some policies take longer to bring forth results and the population may feel impatient.

“Each generation of leaders would therefore need to be consultative yet nimble in meeting these needs while managing finite resources responsibly. These are important so that we do not face a trust deficit, and run the risk of citizens disconnecting with or being disenfranchised by the government.”

KEEPING SINGAPORE UNITED

Mr Chan said apart from trust, each generation of leaders would also have to keep the country united to tackle challenges together.

He said in order for people to be united, they must have “a sense of a common threat, challenge, mission and vision”, and acknowledged there are some who may think the earlier Singaporeans were united because of the “life and death struggles of independence” in its early years. He also voiced the question of whether successive generations of Singapore would feel the same sense of mission and unity.

“I believe each generation must bond through different circumstances. This generation must similarly understand that we too have our share of ‘life and death’ struggles to keep this country going,” Mr Chan said.

“Our challenge, our mission, is to continue to defy the odds of history - that a small country with little common past, and no conventional hinterland, can survive and thrive with a common future and a common set of values. Indeed, I would argue that a forward-looking national identity is perhaps even more powerful than a backward-looking identity to help us bond together to overcome the challenges of tomorrow" he added.

Source: CNA/kk
Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...t-key-leadership-qualities-needed-for-9852508

• upload_2018-1-11_17-44-27.gif
    upload_2018-1-11_17-44-27.gif
    37 bytes · Views: 199

“.....Thirdly, leaders must be accountable and responsible, Mr Chan, who is also secretary-general of the National Trades Union Congress, said......“

Wow! Impress sia. How the hell did he manage to say this?!?! Thought accountability and responsibility is not found in pappies dictionary.

AntonKiasi

Chan Chun Sing lays out key leadership qualities needed for Singapore’s future

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
KNN I only agree on this portion. Very accurate.

mako65

Wat leadership? Totally hogwash..this little red dot is basically ruled by lackeys n goons! Just pay your taxes on time, abide the rules n regulations, follow the Pappies' policies stipulated n u are all safe n sound living "happily" ever after..

Like Halimah, this is the start of the campaign for the public to associate PM post and leadership qualities with CCS. There will be more of this over the weeks and months that eventually CCS will be top mind.

The campaign is handled by PAP HQ team with one PR professional who has been asked to do this on private comission basis and not thru his company.

Truth_Hurts

Did not keep chui win some yank military award Distinguished Master Strategist Award in the usa army command college? if kee chui can win than USA standards must really been dropping.

nayr69sg

Staff member
all signs point to CCS as next PM. OYK is trying to push for it too. HSK is out. No media exposure whatsoever.

Lets be even more frank. If left only 2 choice, Kee Chiu and Pinky, How many here want Kee Chiu to be new PM or Pinky to remain as PM?

Me die die also put money on Kee Chiu.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Lets be even more frank. If left only 2 choice, Kee Chiu and Pinky, How many here want Kee Chiu to be new PM or Pinky to remain as PM?

Me die die also put money on Kee Chiu.

so stupid. Then Pinky will be like the Sith Lord Snoke running the show while CCS dances around entertaining you. And that is supposed to be better? Pinky can hide and shirk responsibility (well he has none anymore)

Proof again how dumb sinkies are!

so stupid. Then Pinky will be like the Sith Lord Snoke running the show while CCS dances around entertaining you. And that is supposed to be better? Pinky can hide and shirk responsibility (well he has none anymore)

Proof again how dumb sinkies are!
Hi tonychat. Long time no see.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Hi tonychat. Long time no see.
I'm not Tonychat lah.

Geez guess I sound like him now.

But seriously I see all you stupid sinkies writing such dumb ass shit for so many years I have totally given up liao. Deserve to be scolded should scold.

Scroobal, just give up lah.

KuanTi01

Is Kee Chiu self-promoting his own rise to PMship? Seems like he is suggesting that he has all those qualities he touted in abundance.No horse run!