• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino jobs not hot woh.

Lee Hsien Tau

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

July 30, 2009
Casino jobs not hot woh
By Lim Wei Chean

Pit-Supervisor-and-Dealer.jpg

Marina Bay has filled only 1,500 of about 2,700 vacancies for croupiers. --PHOTOS: MARINA BAY SANDS

MARINA Bay Sands is having more difficulty than anticipated in filling up its casino positions with Singaporeans. It has filled only 2,000 out of 4,500 gaming positions.

It is holding a recruitment fair this weekend at Suntec Convention Hall 603, as a last ditch effort to get Singaporeans to apply for casino jobs, in particular, dealer positions.

Mr Ken Davie, senior vice-president of casino operations at the Marina Bay integrated resort, said: "We'd expected to fill all the positions by now... But we had not had the response expected because gaming is very new in Singapore. We don't think Singaporeans understand what the industry is quite about."

Marina Bay has filled only 1,500 of about 2,700 vacancies for croupiers. Of the remaining 1,800 vacancies for other gaming positions like cage cashiers, VIP hosts and slot attendants, it has hired 500 Singaporeans to date.

Mr Davie said they have never run into so much trouble filling the casino positions elsewhere in Macau or Las Vegas as here in Singapore, probably because this industry is entirely new to the market.

One of the biggest stumbling blocks could be the lack of understanding of what a dealer job would entail, the career progression for such a job and the necessity to work shifts, he added.

He said the job is an exciting one with clear career progression. A dealer's basic pay starts at $1,800, excluding tips, which could well add up to $2,500 in a good month. From being a dealer, one could progress to inspector, then to pit manager and finally to shift manager.

To qualify for a dealer post, one has to pass a basic Mathematics test, not be colour blind and have good customer service.

Mr Davie is hoping that by this weekend, thousands more will apply so they can fill the positions with as many Singaporeans as possible. Failing to get the Singaporeans means the company would have to explore other options like opening up the positions to foreigners, which the IR has received applications for but has not considered them since the main priority now is to hire Singaporeans.

Latest comments
So Sands is now grabbing this opportunity to bring in Foreign Trash....
Posted by: Frankiestine at Fri Jul 31 09:12:31 SGT 2009
<<To qualify for a dealer post, one has to pass a basic Mathematics test, not be colour blind and have good customer service.>>

good customer service - i think many sgreans are out.
Posted by: the_ultimate at Fri Jul 31 08:28:54 SGT 2009
$1,800 a month. That's Ok for the drinks bill. What about the living expenses?
Posted by: newcastle at Fri Jul 31 07:45:17 SGT 2009
S$1800, no wonder no one interested!? Why work when you can win 1800,000,00?! These angmohs still dont get it. Wait till you open, then you know why..
Posted by: eddiebaca at Fri Jul 31 06:37:11 SGT 2009
"Singaporeans shun these jobs" is a tired old excuse to hire more foreigners.
Posted by: Misnomer at Fri Jul 31 00:25:01 SGT 2009

Brightkid

This is a prelude (aka wayang) to openly hiring FTs on basis that citizen do not want the jobs. Remember Philippine president already booked most of the jobs for her citizens ?

I wondered how many applied for the jobs but got rejected by them.

batman1

No need to say anything. Another BIG SELL-OUT by the Bloody MIW against SINGAPOREANS in favour of FOREIGNERS !
Remember,when they say O! to open IR to create jobs for Singaporeans ? Create my FooT ! Let the MIW burn in HELL !

R4g3

now they can claim that it is the local not applying for the job so they have no choice but hire foreigner to fill up the position.

mikeryan

Lets just see how long are they able impose the $100 entrance ruling.
Initially they claim to create jobs for SINGAPOREANS and to attract only the RICH AND FAMOUS clients in the region, attempting to make it like Monte Carlo
. Hahaaaaaaaaaaaaa. :rolleyes:

Man in the streets

Not all singaporeans agree to opening casinos in singapore.

Only PAP supporters give landslide mandate to PAP to open not one but two casinos at the doorway.

So it is only true that local PAP supporters shun casinos jobs.

SamuelStalin

We don't think Singaporeans understand what the industry is quite about.

Anyway, those fucks aside including the ugly mat salleh faggot, knowing a good shitload of fuck about this rubbish industry like gambling is nothing to be proud of and usually does more harm and good to people in general.

hemunkeong

$1800 is way too low, for the reponsibility.
Macau casiono starting is $2500

Waiter/sales girls already getting $1200-$1400
Copier technician gets about $1600-$1800

No wonder nobody is applying !

Deki masen. Pachinko... Ha... Pachinko... is unbearable!!! But for social engineering purposes (like the continuance of the drone culture) I am all for it.

there is a lot of different pachinko machine in japan . you mean pachinko usai ? pachinko is a machine that also require some skill rather then luck to win .every machine tell a different story for different play stage . its something like a playstation game . complete each stage to discover a new story ...:smile:

coolguy

1-3.jpg

Sinkies can't even protect their own CPF $$. Do you think I will let them run the gambling table? Nay.
They are all born losers. Let them run the show my casino sure will close down.
But they are really good at one thing: BeScrewed. :oIo:

TeeKee

MARINA Bay Sands is having more difficulty than anticipated in filling up its casino positions with Singaporeans. It has filled only 2,000 out of 4,500 gaming positions.

Good! SGPlians still got principles, knows what a sinful job.....

kaikora

skycity paying 14.50 ph, the more skill u got, the more u get, i knew a guy who know 5 skills,(taisai, baccarat, blackjack, roullete,poker) get paid 22.50 ph.

SamuelStalin

there is a lot of different pachinko machine in japan . you mean pachinko usai ? pachinko is a machine that also require some skill rather then luck to win .every machine tell a different story for different play stage . its something like a playstation game . complete each stage to discover a new story ...:smile:

Honto desu ka? What kind of skill does one really need to get the balls rolled down into those difficult holes surrounded by with lots of blocking pins some of which even deliberately tightly clustered to further narrow down the possible gaps of access?

diversifyx2

Very clear cut they are giving the impression no sinkies applying for the job and they can openly hire foreigner to replace sinkies. GET IT?? once again ur being fucked