• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino DAILY Levy is now $150

hokkien

SINGAPORE — With Marina Bay Sands (MBS) and Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) committing about S$9 billion of non-gaming investments to build tourism, facilities and attractions, the Government has moved to provide them with “business certainty” by ensuring that no casinos will be built here until end-2030.
To help the new attractions and facilities remain commercially viable, the Government has also agreed to allow the expansion of the casinos at the two Integrated Resorts (IRs).
Currently, each IR has an Approved Gaming Area (AGA) of 15,000 sqm. MBS and RWS will be given an option to deploy, subject to payment of additional land costs, an additional 2,000 sqm and 500 sqm of AGA respectively.
However, as the non-gaming areas will be expanded by a much larger area, the AGA as a proportion of total floor area will ultimately be reduced from 3.1 per cent to 2.3 per cent.
ADVERTISEMENT

With the expansion, MBS and RWS can increase their allowable gaming machines by 1,000 and 800 respectively.
The IRs’ S$9 billion investment is almost two-thirds of the S$15 billion they had initially pumped in in 2006, said a joint statement by the Ministry of Trade and Industry, the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Home Affairs and the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) on Wednesday (April 3).
MBS and RWS were granted exclusive rights in Singapore from 2007 to 2017, partly to allow their operators — Las Vegas Sands and Genting Singapore — to get a head start in recouping their large investments.
The Government had previously said that there were no plans to award additional casino licences.
INCREASE IN CASINO LEVIES
The Government also announced that the casino levies for Singaporeans and Permanent Residents will be raised by 50 per cent — from S$100 to S$150 for the daily levy, and from S$2,000 to S$3,000 for the annual levy — to deter casual and impulse gambling.
In a statement, MSF said that it considered a range of issues before coming to a decision. These include the problem-gambling situation, changes in household income levels, the prevailing prices of alternatives to local casinos such as those in Genting in Malaysia and the general economic conditions.
The National Council of Problem Gambling (NCPG) said that it welcomed the increase in entry levy and would continue to work closely with the Government to ensure that problem gambling remains low in the country. Currently, problem gambling affects less than 1 per cent of the resident population.
It also welcomed the joint study by the IRs and MSF to employ technologies that can provide casino patrons with information to help them better control their gambling behaviour.
“We have seen examples of such systems in other countries that allow gamblers to set a budget or time limit for themselves and to get automatic reminders when they are nearing these limits,” said NCPG in its statement.
“It is positive progress that the IRs will study and implement suitable technology to promote responsible gambling in casinos,” it added.
The NCPG also urged individuals to exercise personal responsibility and family members and the community to encourage those with gambling issues to seek help early.
ACTIVATION OF LEVIES, INCREASE IN CASINO TAX RATES
From August onwards, both daily and annual levies will be automatically activated after six hours, even if the patron does not enter the casino by then. Also, the earliest a second levy may be purchased is six hours before the first expires.
Currently, entry levies are activated when a person first enters the casino. Daily levies are also automatically activated 30 days after purchase, or 90 days for annual levies. There are also no restrictions on the purchase of a second levy.
Meanwhile, a tiered structure for casino taxes will be introduced after the current moratorium ends in February 2022. Currently, there is a flat tax rate of 5 per cent for Gross Gaming Revenue (GGR) made through premium gaming and 15 per cent for GGR made through mass gaming.
Premium gaming refers to the GGR made through players who open a deposit account with a credit balance of no less than S$100,000. Mass gaming covers players who fall outside of this category.
With the change, the first S$2.4 billion of GGR from premium gaming will be taxed at 8 per cent, while GGR which exceeds S$2.4 billion will be taxed at 12 per cent.
For mass gaming, the first $3.1 billion of GGR will be taxed at 18 per cent while GGR which exceeds $3.1 billion will be taxed at 22 per cent.
Related Stories
What S$9 billion will get you: Minions, Nintendo attractions at RWS, new tower at MBS and more
SINGAPORE

Casinos could use technology that lets gamblers set budget, tells them when to stop
SINGAPORE

ADVERTISEMENT

Subscribe to our email newsletter to receive updates on the latest news.
SUBSCRIBE

By clicking subscribe, I agree for my personal data to be used to send me TodayOnline newsletters, promotional offers and for research and analysis.

Read Next

How international news media covered Singapore's proposed laws against fake news
03 APRIL

50 foreign vehicles denied entry at Woodlands and Tuas after April 1 ban: ICA
03 APRIL

Singapore's millennials are practical, non-materialistic and care for community: OCBC survey
03 APRIL

Promoted Stories
Recommended by

cheeyen

Yesterday around 7pm, my RWS marketing girl called me to tell me. Apparently they announced at 6.30pm. And the marketing were all busily calling everyone to go down RWS to buy an $2000 annual levy before 12 midnight (after midnight $3000). I dropped by around 9.30pm to buy an annual levy but did not activate. The girl told me I have up to 90 days (from 4 April) to activate it.

cheeyen

The Government also announced that the casino levies for Singaporeans and Permanent Residents will be raised by 50 per cent — from S$100 to S$150 for the daily levy, and from S$2,000 to S$3,000 for the annual levy — to deter casual and impulse gambling.
In a statement, MSF said that it considered a range of issues before coming to a decision. These include the problem-gambling situation, changes in household income levels, the prevailing prices of alternatives to local casinos such as those in Genting in Malaysia and the general economic conditions.

Seriously, did Singapore household income increase by 50% for these greedy PAP politicians to increase levy by 50%?

ST_20150801_LOTTERY01_1563623.jpg

:rolleyes:

Impulsive gambling, including the high rollers, would have already obtained membership for the casinos, and I would presume have paid the annual membership fees.

Well 70% Sinkies, enjoy your 'water conservancy' tax, higher GST to 'help the poor', smoking ban at Orchard Road and censorship masquerading as 'laws to combat hate speech'.

brothers, me thinking General Election 2019 coming very soon :biggrin:

Sinkieland is fucked if there are Sinkies out there who would instantly vote PAP when it makes moves to give the impression of defending 'morals' and clamping down on 'vice', for example, the Orchard Road smoking ban, the Watain concert ban. Perhaps some anti-prostitution raids coming up next?

specialOne

Kee Chiu up casino levy $100 to $150 per day entry and $2000 to $3000 for an annual entry levy an increase of 50%. Well done Kee Chiu.
New Century ‘ho sir liew’ Albert is laughing all the way to the bank. Boarding tickets to casino ship certainly will also go up 50% and gaming biz will be much better than before even ticket rises due to $150 per entry.
Please say thank you Kee Chiu

PTADER

Its great to see the Government doing this. Otherwise, Sinkies will lose all their money either in Batam or these casinos. They will then be holding out their hands demanding for taxpayer handouts from the "PA fucking P".

Thank you PAP. Your party truly cares for the people.

My family and I can't wait for the next election to come around where we can demonstrate our appreciation to your party through the ballot boxes.

Joke la - to deter casual and impulse gambling.
So increase by 50% will only attract so call only serious and non impulsive gamblers? Wtf logic is that?

bobby

If they really serious...impose a complete ban on all Singaporeans entering the 2 Casinos.

Its great to see the Government doing this. Otherwise, Sinkies will lose all their money either in Batam or these casinos. They will then be holding out their hands demanding for taxpayer handouts from the "PA fucking P".

Thank you PAP. Your party truly care for the people.

My family and I can't wait for the next election to come around where we can demonstrate our appreciation to your party through the ballot boxes.

On the contrary, now there is even more impetus to gamble on cruise ships, Genting Highlands or Batam.

This is just the jiakliaobees at the CRA getting a bit more kopi money... legally of course.

If they really serious...impose a complete ban on all Singaporeans entering the 2 Casinos.

Better idea: allow Sinkies to enter the casinos. When they want to purchase gambling chips, an 'administrative fee' is levied. That 'administrative fee' goes directly to the casinos, not the CRA.

This also helps the casinos to save money, by doing away with security checks for illegal entry at the entrances.

Free entry for all during CNY and on the person's birthday (midnight to 23:59).

It's also fun to watch other people gambling: not different from watching other people play sports, video games etc.

Kee Chew

Casino Levies are but Red Herrings.

Without The 2 casinos Singapore is already World No. 1 gamblers in the world.

i mean Per Capital Per Dollar Wager.

Kee Chew

On the contrary, now there is even more impetus to gamble on cruise ships, Genting Highlands or Batam.

This is just the jiakliaobees at the CRA getting a bit more kopi money... legally of course.

Screenshot_2019-04-04-11-51-56-767_com.facebook.katana.jpg

Let him go and meet the children of parents whose lives have been destroyed by gambling. So instead of developing the social infrastructure to make Singaporeans more innovative and enterprising, the PAP government wants to turn Singapore into the gambling mecca of Asia. A Peoples Voice Government will always Put People First and not allow crass and harmful capitalism to proliferate. We will work towards Making Singapore Our Home Again and we would never allow businesses such as gambling to expand!

bobby

Better idea: allow Sinkies to enter the casinos. When they want to purchase gambling chips, an 'administrative fee' is levied. That 'administrative fee' goes directly to the casinos, not the CRA.

This also helps the casinos to save money, by doing away with security checks for illegal entry at the entrances.

Free entry for all during CNY and on the person's birthday (midnight to 23:59).

It's also fun to watch other people gambling: not different from watching other people play sports, video games etc.

Liddat then all the uncles and aunties will squat there day and night, enjoying the free drinks and air-con.

When the gahmen decided on the 2 casinos being set-up, the negotiation with them in investing the $b would be the non-banning of Singaporeans as one of the conditions for their investment in $b.