• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Capitalism is not working for most people

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/01/16/bri...apitalism-is-not-working-for-most-people.html

With just over $18 billion to his name, capitalism has been good to Ray Dalio: He started his hedge fund, Bridgewater Associates, out of a two-bedroom New York City apartment in 1975 and it now manages $160 billion in assets and is the largest hedge fund in the world, according to Forbes.

Quite literally, Dalio has built a fortune thanks to capitalism. But he's also keenly aware that it is a deeply flawed system.

"Capitalism basically is not working for the majority of people. That's just the reality," Dalio said at the 2018 Summit conference in Los Angeles in November. Monday, Dalio tweeted a video of his Summit talk.

Dalio made the comment about capitalism during a discussion about wealth inequality.

"Today, the top one-tenth of 1 percent of the population's net worth is equal to the bottom 90 percent combined. In other words, a big giant wealth gap. That was the same — last time that happened was the late '30s," Dalio said. (Indeed, research from Emmanuel Saez and Gabriel Zucman of the National Bureau of Economic Research of wealth inequality throughout the 20th century, covered by The Guardian, bears this out.)

Further, Dalio points to a survey by the Federal Reserve showing that 40 percent of adults can't come up with $400 in the case of an emergency. "It gives you an idea of what the polarity is," Dalio said. "That's a real world. That's an issue."

And Dalio says the income gap will only get worse.

"We're in a situation when the economy is at a peak, we still have this very big tension. That's where we are today," he said in November. "We're in a situation where, if you have a downturn, and we will have a downturn, I believe that — I worry that that polarity will become greater."

In fact, Dalio said that the President of the United States should declare the current wealth gap a national emergency.

"If I was doing it, I think that you have to call that a national emergency," said Dalio. Then, reasoned Dalio, the President could "[take] responsibility for changing those metrics. I think there's a lot that can be done in private-public partnerships and so on to be able to change it, but I fear that that probably will not be done by the next time we have a downturn, and I fear for what that conflict is going to be like that."

Dalio is not the only billionaire to speak out about the problems with modern capitalism.

Berkshire Hathaway CEO Warren Buffett, who is worth $81 billion according to Forbes, has said the problem with the economy is the extreme wealth of people like him.
"The real problem, in my view, is — this has been — the prosperity has been unbelievable for the extremely rich people," Warren Buffett, who is currently worth $81 billion, told PBS Newshour in June 2017. "This has been a prosperity that's been disproportionately rewarding to the people on top."
The evolving economy "doesn't benefit the steelworker maybe in Ohio," Buffett said on Newshour. "And that's the problem that has to be addressed, because when you have something that's good for society, but terribly harmful for given individuals, we have got to make sure those individuals are taken care of."

That's not what's currently happening according to the billionaires, and it worries Dalio.
"I'm concerned because we're not working together around our common principles," Dalio said in a Summit follow-up interview, published on Jan. 8. "The amount of tolerance there is for the differences, the amount of empathy, the desire to work it out and find the common solutions, is diminished."

See also:
Billionaire Warren Buffett says 'the real problem' with the US economy is people like him
Bill Gates, Warren Buffett and Richard Branson have the same unexpected definition of success

Billionaire Ray Dalio: You will 'inevitably succeed' if you follow these 5 steps

If the billionaires are worried about the effects of capitalism they are most welcome to give it all to those who need the money more than they do.

for you socialism works. not.

You show a corrupt guy and he becomes the symbol of socialism?

Yankees are so ignorant. Just because government assist the people, that's socialism. Using that definition, America is a socialist country. Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid are socialist. Yet, Americans embrace Social Security and many would live in abject poverty in their golden years without it.
American model of capitalism is not working ….that's how a Trump came about. All over the world, people are disillusioned by the capitalism promise of good life. Where is it, many are asking.

There is a BIG difference between socialism and communism.

tun_dr_m

The REAL CULPRIT IS CALLED THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT! Whole Concept of ECONOMY is a HOAX a MYTH & LIE which FOOLED the GREEDY IDIOTS!

Only in the most recent 1 or 1.5 Centuries the bastards of Modern Civilization Invented this idea of Economy to fool and fuck themselves dead. And it is working well, and all of the G7 nations already completely fucked most of G25 are are almost completely fucked. Most of the rest are half fucked. China is on the way - massively and most rapidly getting itself fucked.

The stupidity is to take whatever available means to EXPLOIT & SQUANDER EVERY BIT OF PLANET EARTH RESOURCES to PAMPER PEOPLE, promise unlimited good future and quality live = COMPLETELY BASELESS & UNSUBSTANTIAL. Earth can NEVER SUPPLY SUCH UNLIMITED RESOURCES in the very 1st place.

There will only be a period of BUBBLE INFLATION ADVANTAGE and Short Term Gain.

In the past when Pioneer Industrialization states did it, they took nearly a century to reach their full cycle, hence such long duration misled whole world that it is something that will never end and can last forever in the indefinite length of time to FURTHER DEVELOP ECONOMY - but BALLS! NEVER!

The speed shorten the cycle time. Later nations took 60,50,40, 30,20, years to reach their final stage. China now is doing it at fastest rate, and will get there very soon.

A landmark will be like fucking PEE SAI, calling itself 1st World. Or DEVELOPED state. That's it!

You will be stuck no further inflation of bubble, no growth, high cost high risk and high difficulties in every way. NEVER CAN GO UP! Worst is you CAN NEVER REVERSE & BACK DOWN. You are no longer competitive. You lose out to EVERY NEW COMER. Your past advantages are ALL GONE ONE BY ONE. Your unemployment and suicide rates & IMH rate rise beyond imagination. You will never understand. The more number of ECONOMIC PhD Professors Expert you got the more deeply you are fucked and lost! They will lead you in circles and fuck you deeper into shit. You will be dead buried in shit.

Resources will be depleted and exhausted.

This is called ECONOMY! Remember this is what killed you all!

You show a corrupt guy and he becomes the symbol of socialism?

Yankees are so ignorant. Just because government assist the people, that's socialism. Using that definition, America is a socialist country. Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid are socialist. Yet, Americans embrace Social Security and many would live in abject poverty in their golden years without it.
American model of capitalism is not working ….that's how a Trump came about. All over the world, people are disillusioned by the capitalism promise of good life. Where is it, many are asking.

There is a BIG difference between socialism and communism.

Instead of trying to knock capitalism all Dalio has to do is round up the 90% who are not succeeding and give provide them with this advice.

https://www.cnbc.com/2017/11/16/billionaire-ray-dalio-5-steps-to-success.html

Since success will be INEVITABLE it won't be too long before the 90% all become wildly successful.

Billionaire Ray Dalio: You will ‘inevitably succeed’ if you follow these 5 steps
Published Thu, Nov 16 2017 • 9:41 AM EST

Catherine Clifford

103936357-20160913-8170-2234.jpg

Ray Dalio
David A. Grogan | CNBC
Billionaire Ray Dalio has built the largest hedge fund in the world. Bridgewater Associates has $160 billion in assets under management. And according to Dalio, there is a five-step formula to guarantee success.
Here are the five steps, with descriptions by Dalio, as told to Recode executive editor Kara Swisher on her podcast, Recode Decode.

1. Set goals. “You have to have your audacious goals.“
2. Notice your mistakes. “As you go to those, you are going to encounter your failures, your mistakes. You have to identify those and not tolerate them.“
3. Understand why you are making those mistakes. “You have to get the diagnosis to the root cause of them, which could be that you have a weakness or somebody has a weakness.“
4. Fix your mistakes. “You have to design what you are going to do about it to get around it.“
5. Persevere. “You have to push through to results”
“And if you keep doing that over and over again, you will inevitably succeed,” says Dalio, 68. “You do it over and over again because you have determination — you will inevitably succeed.”
Dalio discovered this formula for success in his professional life because he had to. He opened his hedge fund in 1975 and in the early 80s, he was convinced the economy was heading toward a recession and made moves with his company accordingly. Instead, the economy was just getting started on an 18-year-bull run, he says in his new book, “Principles: Life and Work. ”
https://twitter.com/RayDalio/status/918580797992587264
“My experience over this period was like a series of blows to the head with a baseball bat. Being so wrong — and especially so publicly wrong — was incredibly humbling and cost me just about everything I had built at Bridgewater,” he says in the book.
“I’d lost so much money I couldn’t afford to pay the people who worked with me. One by one, I had to let them go,” he writes. “To make ends meet, I even had to borrow $4,000 from my dad until we could sell our second car.”

The massive failure in judgement forced Dalio to examine his self-perceptions. He determined that, without candid feedback from smart people, his own opinions were leading him astray.

So Dalio built and implemented an “idea meritocracy” at Bridgewater, and his hedge fund has become both famous and infamous for it: famous because it has lead the company to legendary success; infamous because Dalio’s style can be brutal to get used to.

“The biggest tragedy of most people is that they think that the right decisions are in their heads, they have opinions that they are attached to and that I learned through experiences, I learned humility,” says Dalio to Swisher.

To truly get to the best possible solution requires soliciting opinions from smart people around you. Everyone has to articulate their honest thoughts. Then you need to have productive discourse, what Dalio calls “thoughtful disagreement.” Work to understand the perspective of the people who disagree with you, says Dalio.

The other piece to developing this culture is to have what Dalio calls “radical transparency.” For an idea meritocracy to work, everyone has to have access to the same information. Bridgewater Associates takes that to an extreme: for example, every employee at Bridgewater has access to a tape of almost every meeting that happens in the company, says Dalio.

For Dalio’s protocol to be successful, participants have to opt in to the process. When the group decides on the best path forward, there’s no room for emotions or egos. It’s not easy, but works, says Dalio.

“Our culture, this idea-meritocratic culture has been mind-blowingly effective,” says Dalio. “No human being has anywhere near the capacity to make the great decisions as great collective decision-making.”

Whether you are implementing Dalio’s strategy of an idea meritocracy in your company or following his five-step plan in your own personal life, the processes are parallel: set goals, admit and confront mistakes, educate yourself on how to improve, change your behavior and push forward.
It has worked for Dalio, who is now worth $17 billion, according to Forbes.

Illegal Opium trade war with China is US capitalism where individual American was protected by US government gunboats even China was against it...

Fuck chao angmoh shitskins...

borom

Its working well for the highest paid politicians in the world running one of the smallest countries in the world.
Cock up so many things and so many people die in hospitals due to negligence also not accountable.
Can call Parliament to declare you innocent and suka suka spent monies on Youth Olympics, Trump-KIm meeting while increasing water bills by 30%.
Can import immigrants by any numbers to displace locals and still be voted to power by these same displaced locals ! Facts sometimes stranger than fiction

Whats happening is that the stock market is sucking a huge amount of wealth from the economy. All that money stuck in some account nobody can touch in return for a piece of paper saying you own a percentage of a company

Investing in the market is not a problem per se. In fact, you grow your wealth when you invest in the market. The problem we have is that most people don't have the means to invest. The owners of capital are getting richer while the rest are falling behind.

Capitalism is working just fine in Singapore so I don't see why it wouldn't work anywhere else in the world.

The early bird gets the worm ... and a bag of official BTS merchandise. At the National Stadium, where the K-pop boy band are set to play to a sold-out crowd of 45,000 tonight, fans of the septet have been in queues for hours, some from as early as 9pm yesterday (Jan 18).

The merch store, located within OCBC Arena, opened two hours ahead of schedule at 7am due to the large number of fans in the queue, said an usher.

Though fans were allowed into the arena at 7am, the cashiers only began checking out purchases at 9am, the original stipulated time.

Joelle Long, 17, and Louisa Chew, 18, spent a total of S$1,201 on official BTS merch for themselves and their friends. The two students joined the queue at 3.30am this morning, and only left with their purchases at 9.30am.

bts-concert-day--2-.jpg

https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasi...-fans-queue-overnight-spend-hundreds-11143340

Capitalism is working just fine in Singapore so I don't see why it wouldn't work anywhere else in the world.

The early bird gets the worm ... and a bag of official BTS merchandise. At the National Stadium, where the K-pop boy band are set to play to a sold-out crowd of 45,000 tonight, fans of the septet have been in queues for hours, some from as early as 9pm yesterday (Jan 18).

The merch store, located within OCBC Arena, opened two hours ahead of schedule at 7am due to the large number of fans in the queue, said an usher.

Though fans were allowed into the arena at 7am, the cashiers only began checking out purchases at 9am, the original stipulated time.

Joelle Long, 17, and Louisa Chew, 18, spent a total of S$1,201 on official BTS merch for themselves and their friends. The two students joined the queue at 3.30am this morning, and only left with their purchases at 9.30am.

bts-concert-day--2-.jpg

https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasi...-fans-queue-overnight-spend-hundreds-11143340

Wait till they can't pay their credit card debt first lah, then you can brag about capitalism working in SINKapore.

The level of credit card debt is pretty low in Singapore. There are only about 100,000 delinquent accounts at any one time out of a base of more than 1.4 million card holders.

maxsanic

bts-concert-day--2-.jpg

WOW!!! $1,200 for these common corporate door gifts!? Other than the disposable round fans, the rest don't even have anything to do with BTS.

The level of credit card debt is pretty low in Singapore. There are only about 100,000 delinquent accounts at any one time out of a base of more than 1.4 million card holders.
I think its pretty high figure. About 7%.
Investing in stock market means the many giving their money to the few that controls it. Countries with high income taxes has low gini coefivient as money that could be absorbed into the stock market ended up in gahmen hands instead and distributed evenly across the country like the nordic countries.

We should not be too caught up with democracy or socialism or capitalism also neither riches nor poverty.

Let’s not forget happiness and joy. As my old king (may Lord Brahma bless his soul) taught us we should be more concern with happiness index not some worldly GDP index.

My old king (may Lord Shiva bless his soul) also taught us about sufficiency economy that we can be poor but as long as we are sufficient our happiness index will go up.

So as you can see, I may be one of the 90% yet in my limitation I find happiness and joy because I chose to live sufficiently. Disregard all these politics or economic talks, you can find joy and happiness no matter your situation. My old king (may Lord Vishnu bless his soul) is very wise.

We should not be too caught up with democracy or socialism or capitalism also neither riches nor poverty.

Let’s not forget happiness and joy. As my old king (may Lord Brahma bless his soul) taught us we should be more concern with happiness index not some worldly GDP index.

My old king (may Lord Shiva bless his soul) also taught us about sufficiency economy that we can be poor but as long as we are sufficient our happiness index will go up.

So as you can see, I may be one of the 90% yet in my limitation I find happiness and joy because I chose to live sufficiently. Disregard all these politics or economic talks, you can find joy and happiness no matter your situation. My old king (may Lord Vishnu bless his soul) is very wise.
Happines and joy can be celebrated with pocketful of cash.