Chitchat Canadians with fake degrees.... 5 eyes into fakes... worrisome...

Another one is All good....

When someone ask how are you doing... your reply is All good...
Usually I am the one asking how are you. And replying to the replied question with I am doing pretty well myself thank you. Or I am good thank you. Or just good.

Why they feel uncomfortable ahhh...

PAP need to start a campaign to teach this....u reckon? Fix some loose screws...

Sinkieland you ask how are you they look at you and reply so so lah. Or like that lor.

My point was that the default phrases in this ice breaking greeting is I am doing well. Good. Pretty good. Regardless what it really is.

I know it is just a formality. But that's the default.

In sinkieland there is no default. You can say pretty shitty today. So so lah. Like that lor.

So is there an element of faking in Canadian culture? Maybe. Maybe not. As I said when you have fo say I am doing well thank you and yourself. You will feel a bit better even if you are having a bad day.

now that you mention it. nobody uses chiak png liao anymore?

Last edited by a moderator:
Why they feel uncomfortable ahhh...

PAP need to start a campaign to teach this....vu reckon? Fix some loose screws...
if you really want to dig deep. It's because of how children are socialized in society. They retain that programming with them into adulthood.

Pointing to Canada, I would feel that it's an issue with conformity. Believe it or not, Canadians do like a large degree of social conformity. If it's too far out of the norm, there's a quick rise in discomfort for them.

There are too many languages in Singapore and dont know u are Hokkien, teochew, hahkka, hainanese, so how?

Bo pain... hv to keep quiet wait use the wrong dialect... you hokkien he will reply... I am hakka.... like that become both get on the wrong foot leow...

if you really want to dig deep. It's because of how children are socialized in society. They retain that programming with them into adulthood.

There are too many languages in Singapore and dont know u are Hokkien, teochew, hahkka, hainanese, so how?

Bo pain... hv to keep quiet wait use the wrong dialect... you hokkien he will reply... I am hakka.... like that become both get on the wrong foot leow...
I forgot already. In sinkieland if meet someone new how they break the ice? In english. What to say? Hi hi? I thought also ask how are you? And reply is ok lah. You leh? Same right?

So many CECA with fake qualification in Sinkieland too with the full knowledge of gahmen.