• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Canadian PR

indig10

Thanks for the offer.

If I do go to Toronto in the future for a conference or visit I will let you know too. Maybe you Charlie99 and myself can have dinner together.

I had dinner with Charlie99 and his family at Miku Toronto last Nov.

Definitely, we can all head to Lion City Restaurant in Mississauga for makan.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Definitely, we can all head to Lion City Restaurant in Mississauga for makan.
I saw the menu and the google photos.

Actually a lot of the dishes my wife makes regularly for dinner and lunch.

But yeah I can see why you like that place.

Maybe we can order the Singapore chili and black pepper crab in advance.

There is a restaurant in Calgary that does the black pepper crab too. I like to ask them to cook lobster black pepper style. More stuff to eat. Unless it is Sri Lanka crab I find the Canada crab very anorexic.

Haha!

indig10

I saw the menu and the google photos.

Actually a lot of the dishes my wife makes regularly for dinner and lunch.

But yeah I can see why you like that place.

Maybe we can order the Singapore chili and black pepper crab in advance.

There is a restaurant in Calgary that does the black pepper crab too. I like to ask them to cook lobster black pepper style. More stuff to eat. Unless it is Sri Lanka crab I find the Canada crab very anorexic.

Haha!

Yah, I cook a lot of the same dishes, but sometimes it's just nice to go there and makan. Order the teh tarik and just chat there. Yes the chilli crab can order in advance. Anorexic - lol! Actually, the asian supermart here (T&T) is selling more Southeast Asian stuff: Prima Taste's box sets for curry, rendang, laksa, Hainanese chicken rice, there's Woh Hup's hainanese chicken rice minced ginger/garlic; Singapore style chilli sauce, Indomee, Indonesian sambal chilli, frozen prata. In some other places, they sell the Malay kueh dada, kueh lapis, keropok. The only 2 items hard to find for me are pandan leaves, and candlenut for curry.

Here's an article and photos about Lion City restaurant and the owners: https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/suresh-doss-lion-city-1.5036080

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yah, I cook a lot of the same dishes, but sometimes it's just nice to go there and makan. Order the teh tarik and just chat there. Yes the chilli crab can order in advance. Anorexic - lol! Actually, the asian supermart here (T&T) is selling more Southeast Asian stuff: Prima Taste's box sets for curry, rendang, laksa, Hainanese chicken rice, there's Woh Hup's hainanese chicken rice minced ginger/garlic; Singapore style chilli sauce, Indomee, Indonesian sambal chilli, frozen prata. In some other places, they sell the Malay kueh dada, kueh lapis, keropok. The only 2 items hard to find for me are pandan leaves, and candlenut for curry.

Here's an article and photos about Lion City restaurant and the owners: https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/suresh-doss-lion-city-1.5036080

My wife can get pandan leaves at T&T in Calgary. She makes Pandan Chiffon cake too.

She makes a lot of these dishes cos she has 2 thermomix machines. And there are a lot of recipes for thermomix. They have country specific recipes and Malaysia Singapore is very big.

JohnDoe

Just listen to this foolish Non-MD chap who claims to be a medical doctor, famous for a few days online in SG for having to work as a metal pipe yielder of some sort in outback Alberta or Australia.

Even took five years to get licensed to serve the China PRC immigrants in Canada.......So proud? Haha.

*Shake my head*

Don't try to gloat to impress me, fool -- I am now a multimillionaire (AMZN shareholder) -- for real.

LOL!

JohnDoe is now my very good friend in Calgary. He doesnt come to SBF.

Back then I was wary of people on SBF. He PMed me but I did not reply. Later a mutual acquaintance (Singaporean lawyer who moved to Vancouver) introduced us and we met up.

For the record, I can verify that I have met @nayr69sg and everything that he said about himself and his experience is 100% true.

As for @Time2Evacuate, it does sound like you are a sore loser sinkie jealous of those that have dared to make the leap. Or you must be one of those loser sinkies that have the attitude of "just because I can't succeed in Canada/Australia/NZ means that I wish all others cannot succeed."....fucking loser mentality - hoping to succeed on the backs of others failures....so typical, must be from those years of SG schooling. better stay in sinkieland and enjoy your fucking "millions". Your "Multimillions" may impress sinkies but there's more to life than money you sad fuck! Stay away from Canada, don't need your kind immigrating here!

nayr69sg

Staff member
For the record, I can verify that I have met @nayr69sg and everything that he said about himself and his experience is 100% true.

As for @Time2Evacuate, it does sound like you are a sore loser sinkie jealous of those that have dared to make the leap. better stay in sinkieland and enjoy your fucking "millions". Your "Multimillions" may impress sinkies but there's more to life than money you sad fuck! Stay away from Canada, don't need your kind immigrating here!
Wah you come SBF check! Steady lah.

JohnDoe

Wah you come SBF check! Steady lah.
hahaha bored by covid, so decided to check and saw my nick quoted so read the thread.

Seriously, immigration is not for everyone. Certainly not for losers looking for a way out of their sorry ass lives. If you immigrate and keep thinking that SG is so great and keep comparing and complaining in your new country, then why immigrate. Stay in SG!! or if you already immigrated, please go back to your shit hole. you will not be missed!

Sorry, this hit a raw nerve. Recently helped a sinkie family with settling in and it turned out to be the biggest disappointment. Sinkies are beyond hope. Never change their kiasu ways even after immigration. Fucking losers and should stay in SG.

rushifa666

hahaha bored by covid, so decided to check and saw my nick quoted so read the thread.

Seriously, immigration is not for everyone. Certainly not for losers looking for a way out of their sorry ass lives. If you immigrate and keep thinking that SG is so great and keep comparing and complaining in your new country, then why immigrate. Stay in SG!! or if you already immigrated, please go back to your shit hole. you will not be missed!

Sorry, this hit a raw nerve. Recently helped a sinkie family with settling in and it turned out to be the biggest disappointment. Sinkies are beyond hope. Never change their kiasu ways even after immigration. Fucking losers and should stay in SG.
Oh ho. I will share a loser story. I saw a couple in their 50s in malaysia. Every where they go talk in singlish. I can shut my eyes cand i know who to rob. Can they fight? Can they resist? Can they give chase? Dont get me wrong these fools i would like to have as many as possible. You know with them around you will never be a target

rushifa666

Good lah... hope you're doing well too. I'm going stir-crazy from being cooped up here in Toronto. Can't even remember when was the last time I posted here.

Anyway, I see Charlie99 and quite a few others still in the forum - feels like when you go to the old Bukit Merah, old Tiong Bahru, old Geylang Serai kind of atmosphere. Familiar faces... just hope everyone is doing well. Personally, it's been an interesting past few years. A lot has happened. I've finally renounced Singapore citizenship. So strange to be holding on to the blue passport now... will be weird going back to Singapore with it.

Toronto has also changed a lot in last few years. More atas/hipster restaurants but they were decimated by the COVID-19 crisis. There has been a crazy, crazy increase in the number of China brands and restaurants in Markham/Scarborough/Richmond Hill area; it's unbelievable how many restaurants were raking in customers just before the crisis hit. Many more diverse immigrants in all major cities across the GTA. Toronto condo/townhouse/detached house prices are still insane - this COVID-19 crisis is not going to pull the prices down. The run-down areas in Toronto have been gentrified tremendously e.g. Parkdale, Danforth and Beaches, just everywhere is growing and booming. Paiseh ah, I'm just doing a brain vomit. The Lion City Restaurant in Mississauga which a Singaporean couple bought over has been hard hit by COVID-19 - really hope they survive.
Im sorry why would you want to return? Especially now when you will be quarantined? We dont dream of going back to china

Charlie99

Im sorry why would you want to return? Especially now when you will be quarantined? We dont dream of going back to china
Danforth is that run down.
I have lived near Playter Blvd. since I came to Toronto. I am 4 minutes walk to the quiet Chester Subway Station, where there are no connecting busses or streetcars.

rushifa666

Danforth is that run down.
I have lived near Playter Blvd. since I came to Toronto. I am 4 minutes walk to the quiet Chester Subway Station, where there are no connecting busses or streetcars.
On a serious note this shutdown here is not going ro end anytime soon. Their no brain approach of allowing indian flights in still is causing weekly quarantines

nayr69sg

Staff member
Oh ho. I will share a loser story. I saw a couple in their 50s in malaysia. Every where they go talk in singlish. I can shut my eyes cand i know who to rob. Can they fight? Can they resist? Can they give chase? Dont get me wrong these fools i would like to have as many as possible. You know with them around you will never be a target
Malaysia probably crawling with sinkies all over lah

kelvin

And it was dinner on you. Thank you.

The Real Reasons Canada Needs More Immigrants.

Studies in both the United States and Canada have shown that job creation increases and the economy improves as the number of immigrants swells. Immigrants are, as a group, better educated than Canadians, and since 1967, when the government introduced its point system, the selection process favours those with marketable skills.

Is there a market here for skilled labour? Actually, Canada is seeing signs of worker shortages in several professions -including engineers, doctors and nurses, to name a few. Added to this is the fact that the population in some provinces is shrinking, and employers are having difficulty filling their rosters with skilled help. Paul Darby, director of the Conference Board of Canada, estimates a shortfall of 3-million skilled workers by the year 2020.

Boosting immigration could be a very effective way of helping to ease the shortage, but there are other impediments.

Immigrants often have difficulty working in their fields after they arrive. On average, it takes 10 years for immigrants to get hired in jobs for which they have skills and, even then, they are not necessarily working at the skill level to which they have been trained. In March, Jeffrey Reitz of University of Toronto’s Centre for Industrial Relations, released a study showing that immigrants whose skills are underused cost the Canadian economy $2.4 billion yearly. He also estimated that they are underpaid to the tune of $12.6 billion every year. No type of job is exempt. “We used comparisons across the labour force,” says Reitz.

Some organizations are answering the growing demand by helping immigrants become licensed to work in Canada after they arrive. The Ontario Ministry of Education, for example, is spending $12 million over three years to help get more foreign-trained medical professionals – nurses, doctors and pharmacists – into their professions. The money is given to local professionals associations to recruit and retain personnel. Another $3.5 million is being spent by the province to train foreign professionals to ensure they meet Canadian standards.

Yet, at the same time, experts are worried that the flow of immigrants is about to dry up, thanks to legislation coming into effect in June 2011 that changes the rules for people hoping to enter the county. Reitz says the proposed guidelines constitute a much more stringent selection criteria. He theorizes that the government hopes to eliminate a backlog of applicants, which numbers about 660,000 people. The Association of Immigration Counsel of Canada has run dozens of scenarios to determine how many of the 660,000 would be eligible under the new guidelines. “We anticipate that only five to eight percent will be allowed in,” he says. The problem, adds Reitz, is when the backlog is gone but the need for skilled workers remains.

Growing demand for skilled labour is not limited to Canada. In India and China, for instance, the high-tech industry is developing. Workers from those countries who might have had to emigrate to ply their job skills in the past, now have a better chance of finding work at home. Even after skilled workers arrive, it can be a challenge to keep them here: the United States is also eager to attract the best and the brightest.

According to a survey by Canada’s Federation of Independent Business, one out of 20 jobs remains unfilled because of an inability to find suitably skilled labour. This represents about 250,000 to 300,000 vacant jobs in small- and medium-sized businesses alone. The lack is not just in professions that require higher education. The worst off are employers looking for skilled construction workers, who reported 7.7 percent of jobs went unfilled. They are followed closely by the business services and agriculture sectors. Hospitals and the personal service sector ranked tenth at 3.8 percent. The need is greatest in Manitoba, Ontario and Alberta.

Charlie99

Proof that Singaporeans now no longer think of migrating because Singapore is undoubetedly better for making money than places like Canada
I believe that Singapore is a tax friendly jurisdiction, especially low personal and corporate income tax rates, and no capital gains tax. Accordingly, wighout capital gains tax and without estate duty, Singapore facilitates accumulation of wealth and inter-generation transfer of wealth.
In Canada, the personal income tax rate is relatively very high, with steep curve, eligible at a low threshold. The top marginal rate is about 50 per cent (53.5 per cent for Ontario) exigible at about $220,000.
However, Canada is a little socialist, and provides down side protection, such as Employment Insurance benefits, Canada Pension Plan disability benefits, provincial social assistance, free Medicare (for now, not sure how long it will last).

nayr69sg

Staff member
I believe that Singapore is a tax friendly jurisdiction, especially low personal and corporate income tax rates, and no capital gains tax. Accordingly, wighout capital gains tax and without estate duty, Singapore facilitates accumulation of wealth and inter-generation transfer of wealth.
In Canada, the personal income tax rate is relatively very high, with steep curve, eligible at a low threshold. The top marginal rate is about 50 per cent exigible at about $220,000.

Indeed. Singaporeans are well advised not to migrate to other countries. Stay in Singapore for the best hopes and opportunities for a propserous and wealthy future.

indig10

Proof that Singaporeans now no longer think of migrating because Singapore is undoubetedly better for making money than places like Canada

Stats Canada data supports it. Average of 100-200 Singaporeans migrate annually in last 10 years.

Charlie99

Indeed. Singaporeans are well advised not to migrate to other countries. Stay in Singapore for the best hopes and opportunities for a propserous and wealthy future.
I agree.
If any individual does not mind the year round hot and humid weather, Singapore is the jurisdiction to make lots of money for generations.
I believe that Singapore government repealed the legislation pertaining to estate duty, not too long before a very distinguished individual passed away, so that there is no probate and no estate duty (that family does not have to disclose how much wealth is inherited by the next generation(s).