can u solve this Pri 1 maths question?

It's easy what........ you look for a pattern the first two boxes shows a pattern that all can use. The numbers you add horizontally total sum are same some more.

It teaches us to look for a pattern a cycle because everything in existence works by cycles or pattern don't focus on the strays the silly few low IQ then kpkb that life is not fair...... see the big picture and go with the flow lah dey !

Life will be much more easier for you and all. lol

my brother inlaw works in IMH in singapore he told me sadly majority of the patients there are children! yes children!
these children over stress because their parent push them too hard so that they can be the top in class!

in Australia there no test or exam i think until sec 3 if i not mistaken so there no stress for the kids!my daughter everyday after she came back from school put her school bag on the sofa and she start playing with her toys everyday! in school (Australia) student were taught to solve problem outside the box! and there time when they have to go out of the school to explore and learn new things! and in school the teacher will greet every each student by their names 'good morning Ashey it is nice to see u here today'
she having a happy childhood!!!

singapore education teaches u to be a bookworm but not street smart

ok u all very kiang, pass with flying colours A****, now u are promoted to Pri 2 :biggrin:

bro when i was in sg from kindergarden to primary 4 all failed and had to go to Mono class and had to study 8 years in primary school
went to VITB i only last 1st year because second year kena expell from school!
life was very hard without good cert and i slowly learn to be street smart and i able to retire at 41 year old hehehee :)

mai paisay if cannot :biggrin:

Can you solve this Primary 1 Math question?
photo_librarySee 30 More Photoschevron_rightchevron_left
FacebookTwitterWhatsAppGmail Share

Cherlynn Ngmail
Posted on 08 December 2020 | 135,597 views | 124 comments
Submitted by Stomper Cheng

This story was submitted via Facebook. Click here to join our Facebook page.

If you are reading this and able to surf the Internet freely, you are probably older than the Primary 1 age of six to seven.
But don't be surprised if you find yourself stumped by this math question in a Primary 1 assessment book.
book3_0.jpg

Stomper Cheng came across the challenging question in her daughter's assessment book, 'Last-Minute Maths Exam Drills'.
She said: "I'd purchased the assessment book for my daughter who is in Primary 1. She will be in Primary 2 next year so I was trying to let her complete the book during this school holiday.
"I posted this question on my Instagram as well as sent it to friends and siblings via WhatsApp. More than 50% of them couldn't get it right.
"We adults can't even answer the question. How to teach the children?
"We need to understand from the given answer first before we can guide our children."
Here is the answer and how to arrive at it:
book4_0.jpg

Did you get it right and do you think this is too difficult for Primary 1 standards?
bro i dont know how to solved this even i am 47 year old!!!!

This kind of math will kill of many Malay students because generally Malay are very poor at math. I know many Malay satay sellers cannot even count calculate the total bills of satay by mental. For example $1.2 per stick and if we eat 10 sticks, the price would be 12 dollars and if we add 3 dollars of ketupat the total bill would be 15 dollars.
I notice many Malay men cannot even calculate this and they have to use calculator.

i also not good in math and i let my dear wife handle all the money and paying.
but if anything to do decision and advice and how to solve problem (not math) she will ask me

May I know what kind of problems can be solved without math ? Fighting ? Brute force ? Sex ?

there so many problem can be solved without math like fixing new furnitures, do gardening and when go to friends house my wife (chinese) communition skill she not so good she those type will keep quiet all the time and only speak when someone ask a question and after she answer she will keep quiet. while for me i like a DJ very friendly and talkative i am more a people person :)

so there a balance me and my dear wife we know our strong and weak point :)

This kind of math will kill of many Malay students because generally Malay are very poor at math. I know many Malay satay sellers cannot even count calculate the total bills of satay by mental. For example $1.2 per stick and if we eat 10 sticks, the price would be 12 dollars and if we add 3 dollars of ketupat the total bill would be 15 dollars.
I notice many Malay men cannot even calculate this and they have to use calculator.

1608166860952.png

Madrasah student gets seven A1s

IT WAS a move that paid off handsomely for Madam Zainab Abdul Rashid.

She 'promoted' herself alongside her daughter, Dinah Aziz, 17, as the latter went through her secondary school years.

Not as a student but as a tutor.

Madam Zainab, 44, gave tuition classes to students in the same year as Dinah, progressing from one level to the next as her daughter was promoted from Secondary 1 to Secondary 3.

When her daughter got to Secondary 4, she stopped tutoring others and concentrated on teaching her daughter alone.

Said Madam Zainab: 'I thought by giving tuition that way, it'll be easier for Dinah to approach me as and when she needs help with her homework.'

Dinah, a student at the Madrasah Al-Maarif Al-Islamiah Madrasah in Geylang, achieved nine distinctions for the O-level examinations she sat for in October last year.

It was a record-breaking performance, for Dinah is the first student in the history of the madrasah to score 7 A1s. The previous best was 5 A1s.

7 A1s

Dinah got A1s in English, Malay, Additional and Elementary Mathematics, Pure Biology, Islamic Religious Knowledge, and Combined Physics and Chemistry.

She had A2s for Pure Geography and Arabic.

She also took six other subjects pertaining to Religion and got four distinctions - for Tauhid, Quran, Hadith and Sirah - and two 'Very Good' grades for Fiqh and Tafsir.

She attributed her achievement to her family, school and teachers.

When asked her thoughts on how she had fared, she said: 'I am very happy with it because it's a pretty good result. I am thankful to everyone who helped me. My parents, family, school and teachers all played a big part in my success.'

Dinah hopes to enter Raffles Junior College to continue her 'family tradition' - both her grandfather and her father are old Rafflesians.

Aim: Doctor

Of her longer-term dreams, she said: 'I hope to be a doctor. Or engage in Islamic banking, or even be a lawyer.'

Madam Zainab chipped in: 'CSI made science look so sexy, she is thinking of doing forensic science.

'That's why she aims to go to a Science stream in a JC, and not to a poly because then she would have to choose a career path immediately.'

Dinah is the eldest of six children and, said her mother, was 'a big help'.

Said Madam Zainab, who recently stopped giving tuition to help in her husband's engineering consultancy firm: 'When we had a maid, the maid was in charge only of the chores. Dinah would help out with the diaper changing and bathing of her youngest brother, who is still a baby.'

Her O-level results are not totally unexpected - Dinah also topped the madrasah during her PSLE in 2004 with a t-score of 255. (In comparison, the top PSLE pupil that year scored 285.)

Dinah's principal, Ms Sukarti Asmoin, described her as attentive, polite and hardworking, adding: 'The teachers don't have to ask her to study.'

She also mentioned that Dinah had taken part in MediaCorp game show The Arena, in which two school teams face-off in a debate.

Said Ms Sukarti: 'She was not distracted (by The Arena), but remained focused on her studies.'

To encourage her peers, Dinah quoted Barack Obama's slogan: 'Yes, we can!'

She explained: 'You have to try your best and believe you can do it. Sometimes people might tell you that you can't do it because your school does not have enough facilities.

'But I think that if you really want to and try hard enough, you can do it.'

Audrey Tan Ruiping, newsroom intern

So good in Maths then shouldnt afraid of competition from CECA and FTs lah. Brag here and tere. Yet kpkb here 24/7 FTs stealing their job. Good in Mandarin. Good in Maths. So fight it out with the FTs lah. :rolleyes:

Malays are artists by tradition, STEM subjects are more challenging for them.

I don't mind receiving extra begedils from them due to their poor math. :biggrin:

Well, not all Malays are poor in Maths. Machik may missed out charging u for extra begedil. But we dont make such a fuss unlike ur kind. We try not to take wat doesnt belong to us. Tats wat Islam taught us. We dont cheat. Good in maths and yet cheat? Is tat how u taught ur children? Anyway coming fm a cheena like u...i would be worried if cheena dont cheat. :biggrin: