can u solve this Pri 1 maths question?

knnccb

mai paisay if cannot :D

Can you solve this Primary 1 Math question?
photo_librarySee 30 More Photoschevron_rightchevron_left
FacebookTwitterWhatsAppGmail Share

Cherlynn Ngmail
Posted on 08 December 2020 | 135,597 views | 124 comments
Submitted by Stomper Cheng

This story was submitted via Facebook. Click here to join our Facebook page.

If you are reading this and able to surf the Internet freely, you are probably older than the Primary 1 age of six to seven.
But don't be surprised if you find yourself stumped by this math question in a Primary 1 assessment book.
book3_0.jpg

Stomper Cheng came across the challenging question in her daughter's assessment book, 'Last-Minute Maths Exam Drills'.
She said: "I'd purchased the assessment book for my daughter who is in Primary 1. She will be in Primary 2 next year so I was trying to let her complete the book during this school holiday.
"I posted this question on my Instagram as well as sent it to friends and siblings via WhatsApp. More than 50% of them couldn't get it right.
"We adults can't even answer the question. How to teach the children?
"We need to understand from the given answer first before we can guide our children."
Here is the answer and how to arrive at it:
book4_0.jpg

Did you get it right and do you think this is too difficult for Primary 1 standards?

No wonder so many kids commit suicide or get admitted into IMH.

What is this? MENSA IQ test or gifted program selection test?

SMLJ is this? I have never passed Maths since I started P4. Secondary school worse. All single digit red mark from sec 1 to sec 4.

Something happened along the way, some people inside the MOE began to change the curriculum over the years... teaching less of the important things and replacing them with useless stuff.

It happened for all subjects: maths, sciences, languages.

U ar good at reading mind... Well done :thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup:

answer is 1 ... ur answer is correct ...

4 + 5 - 7 = 2, 2 * 3 = 6 ...

7 + 6 - 10 = 3, 3 * 3 =9 ...

? + 11 - 8 = ? + 3, (? + 3) * 3 = 12, ? = 1 ...

This kind of math will kill of many Malay students because generally Malay are very poor at math. I know many Malay satay sellers cannot even count calculate the total bills of satay by mental. For example $1.2 per stick and if we eat 10 sticks, the price would be 12 dollars and if we add 3 dollars of ketupat the total bill would be 15 dollars.
I notice many Malay men cannot even calculate this and they have to use calculator.

Ah I thought it was 4 separate patterns.

RHS +3 top and bottom every iteration (5->8->11,6->9->12)

LHS +3 then -2 (7+3=10-2=8)

So I thought 5 since 4+3=7-2=5

This kind of math will kill of many Malay students because generally Malay are very poor at math. I know many Malay satay sellers cannot even count calculate the total bills of satay by mental. For example $1.2 per stick and if we eat 10 sticks, the price would be 12 dollars and if we add 3 dollars of ketupat the total bill would be 15 dollars.
I notice many Malay men cannot even calculate this and they have to use calculator.

Malays are artists by tradition, STEM subjects are more challenging for them.

I don't mind receiving extra begedils from them due to their poor math. :biggrin:

mai paisay if cannot :biggrin:

Can you solve this Primary 1 Math question?
photo_librarySee 30 More Photoschevron_rightchevron_left
FacebookTwitterWhatsAppGmail Share

Cherlynn Ngmail
Posted on 08 December 2020 | 135,597 views | 124 comments
Submitted by Stomper Cheng

This story was submitted via Facebook. Click here to join our Facebook page.

If you are reading this and able to surf the Internet freely, you are probably older than the Primary 1 age of six to seven.
But don't be surprised if you find yourself stumped by this math question in a Primary 1 assessment book.
book3_0.jpg

Stomper Cheng came across the challenging question in her daughter's assessment book, 'Last-Minute Maths Exam Drills'.
She said: "I'd purchased the assessment book for my daughter who is in Primary 1. She will be in Primary 2 next year so I was trying to let her complete the book during this school holiday.
"I posted this question on my Instagram as well as sent it to friends and siblings via WhatsApp. More than 50% of them couldn't get it right.
"We adults can't even answer the question. How to teach the children?
"We need to understand from the given answer first before we can guide our children."
Here is the answer and how to arrive at it:
book4_0.jpg

Did you get it right and do you think this is too difficult for Primary 1 standards?
KNN my uncle say lansai lah the given ans is also wrong gai KNN it say 17 - 9 = 8 but the center box top right is showing 6 KNN also this is probably not pri 1 assessment just that they accidentally print wrongly into that assessment book only want to kpkb KNN when my uncle went to sit for the air traffic controller test got many such questions KNN

K.N.N.

I Long Long winded again.

Thats why Me and Nephew Lespect your Unker so mooch.

K.N.N.

I Long Long winded again.

Thats why Me and Nephew Lespect your Unker so mooch.
20201217_021842.jpg

Gum sia gum sia KNN you see lor print ans also print wrongly just skip this smlj atco question is the better way to handle then to kpkb KNN

K.N.N.

Me Nephew asked -- If get answer Right, how does this Q helps in your future?
Becums what?
Scientist?
Surgeon?
Maths teacher?

WTF.!!

K.N.N.

Me Nephew asked -- If get answer Right, how does this Q helps in your future?
Becums what?
Scientist?
Surgeon?
Maths teacher?

WTF.!!
KNN my uncle think the parents will think next time can become scientist surgeon etc but my uncle think will become like him a wise man but earn little money kind KNN