Can Dr Koh be his own man?

This week, Mr Teo Ser Luck added two more hats to the many he already has: political hand-holder and chauffeur.

He has introduced the PAP candidate for Punggol East Koh Poh Koon to grassroots volunteers, accompanied the doctor on walk-abouts and to a football match, and driven him to meetings.

Also playing a visible role is Acting Minister for Social and Family Development Chan Chun Sing, who entered politics unchallenged in 2011 when his Tanjong Pagar GRC team had a walkover.

This by-election, sources say, is to “blood” the former army chief and key member of the PAP's fourth-generation leadership into the combative nature of hustings.

Such help and advice from office-holders is necessary at this early stage, given Dr Koh's unfamiliarity with politics and the residents of Punggol East.

But one hopes that sooner rather than later, Dr Koh steps out on his own and guards against giving the impression he is being coddled.

If history is a guide, PAP bigwigs are also wont to lend their support when campaigns in single-seats kick into higher gear.

At last year's Hougang by-election, though PAP candidate Desmond Choo said he was his own man, PAP leaders poured into the opposition stronghold, and weighed in several times with their views on the battle.

In the 2006 GE, then-Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, in a bid to help Sitoh Yin Pin in his fight against incumbent Chiam See Tong, dangled an $80 million upgrading package to Potong Pasir voters.

But this was spurned by residents, who rewarded Mr Chiam with a bigger winning margin than the previous polls.

At the next election, Mr Sitoh asked big names from the PAP to stay away from the contest, and won the seat after two unsuccessful bids.

Mr Sitoh's example is instructive.

Yesterday, Dr Koh welcomed the help from the PAP machinery but insisted that he would set the tone of the campaign and front it.

“We all need guidance, I make no pretense that I’m a veteran in this,” he said.

“And although the PAP headquarters want to provide... support, I think they also understand that at the end of the day the people are electing me, not electing them.”

His biggest disadvantage is that he is a totally new face politically, compared to the other possible candidates.

He will need to build rapport with residents, let them hear his thoughts on issues, listen to their concerns and show empathy.

The opposition is however expected to campaign largely on big-picture issues, and point out just where the ruling party has failed the electorate in recent years.

It will be interesting to see how Dr Koh responds on these policy matters, especially on healthcare, given his medical background.

If the "Son of Punggol" shows he can do a decent job responding to residents' local needs, and hold his own on national topics against opposition candidates without overt help from PAP office-holders, it will go some way to convincing - and impressing - swing voters.

That key middle ground of about 40 per cent of the electorate will be keen to size up just how the political greenhorn, who became a PAP member weeks ago, measures up against the opposition and whether he can emerge from this baptism of fire proud that he fought on his terms.

Once you are in with the PAP, you can never be your own man or woman. Total obedience is required and the reward is $$$. Even after retirement, PAP will find them $$$ opportunities. Think Chandra Das.

The corrupt and decadent PAP of the 90s and the 00s is not the idealistic and high minded PAP of the 60s and 70s. Similarly if you join PAP now you never know what it's going to be like in 20 years time. The only thing that is guaranteed in 20 years is that LKY will be dead.

If the "Son of Punggol" shows he can do a decent job responding to residents' local needs, and hold his own on national topics against opposition candidates without overt help from PAP office-holders, it will go some way to convincing - and impressing - swing voters.

son of punggol my arse!!! limpeh also born in punggol but i stayed in the area (hougang still part of punggol smc till 1988). he grew up in toa payoh and study at macritchic primary school. as of now, i am staying within 3km of my old punggol house if it still stand today wheras this arsehole living in zombie lee tanjong pagar grc!!! lanjiaolang beh paiseh.

Dr Koh....for all the BS which you can spout...

Dr Koh, are you ready to quit and dedicate yourself to being a FULLTIME MP for the people????

I am sure the WP candidate for PE by-elections would be prepared to do so....

so with all your high falulating notions of being an MP and service blah blah blah......

can you put your commitment to the test???

or are you clinging on too hard to all your money, degrees and accolades and can't be a man for the people of Punggol East????

Dr Koh....for all the BS which you can spout...

Dr Koh, are you ready to quit and dedicate yourself to being a MP for the people????

I am sure the WP candidate for PE by-elections would be prepared to do so....

so with all your high falulating notions of being an MP and service blah blah blah......

can you put your commitment to the test???

or are you clinging on too hard to all your money, degrees and accolades and can't be a man for the people of Punggol East????

no need to scream so loud lah.sekali kena farted then u know. why should a good surgeon quit just because he is an MP? did dr lily neo quit when she became an mp. in fact she serves her residents well and serves her patients even better. pls don't talk nonsense.

why should a good surgeon quit just because he is an MP? did dr lily neo quit when she became an mp. in fact she serves her residents well and serves her patients even better. pls don't talk nonsense.

The bar has raisen. There are already two full time papaya MP. It is now expected of papaya MP to be full time since the money is so good - extremely high paid social worker if you want to put it nicely.

Look at the sentence in bold. What do you think?

From CNA website:

Koh Poh Koon to "definitely consider" running for by-election
By Alvina Soh | Posted: 09 January 2013 1734 hrs

SINGAPORE: Colorectal surgeon Dr Koh Poh Koon has acknowledged that he is a potential candidate of the People's Action Party (PAP) for Punggol East, which is set to hold a by-election on January 26 if there is a contest.

He told Channel NewsAsia that he "would definitely consider" running as the PAP's candidate.

But he has not been given the "green light from the top".

Dr Koh, 40, who has been shadowing the ward's caretaker Member of Parliament Teo Ser Luck, was present at two grassroots events with Mr Teo on Tuesday.

Speaking to Channel NewsAsia, Mr Teo confirmed he will not stand as a candidate for the by-election.

He threw his support behind Dr Koh, describing him as a well-respected man who will take care of residents' interests.

Mr Teo said: "He's a friend, he's a volunteer and continues to volunteer. He has always put people's interests at heart and he always cares for the people. You can tell he's very genuine and sincere."

Look at the sentence in bold. What do you think?

I don't think anything.

Running is serious business, and in any party it would involve "green light from the top"

Specifically, I am also thinking about people like Poh Lee Guan who got expelled from the Worker's Party for collecting nomination papers without "green light from the top". There is absolutely nothing to be read from that statement.

I don't think anything.

Running is serious business, and in any party it would involve "green light from the top"

Specifically, I am also thinking about people like Poh Lee Guan who got expelled from the Worker's Party for collecting nomination papers without "green light from the top". There is absolutely nothing to be read from that statement.

The way he used this particular expression tells a lot.

you are too intellectually preoccupied with suspicion and speculation. i've mentioned before. your perception of a person can be wrong. your wrong perception will lead to the wrong conclusion and hence, the wrong action. be very careful jw5. be more mindful and discerning and don't rely too much on your intellect - which can be very deceptive. just my 2 cents for an elite here.

I'll be mindful and discerning, and you be less stressed.
Take it easy man, being a sycophantic porlumpar wannabe is a long and winding road.
Don't do too much too fast and burn out too quickly. :D

I'll be mindful and discerning, and you be less stressed.
Take it easy man, being a sycophantic porlumpar wannabe is a long and winding road.
Don't do too much too fast and burn out too quickly. :D

jw5, that's the biggest problem with you. full of arrogance and ego, self-righteousness and suspicion. you are wrong and you will never admit it. i've pointed out this to you several times and you've stubbornly refused to bulge. your stubborness will be your downfall despite your intellectual prowess. your poetic license is your last refuge - your inflated ego will cause you to fall painfully.

Why must it be that at every by-election or election, this same question is asked of the PAP candidate whether he is his own man?

If the PAP big honchos left him to conduct his campaign on his own and if he lost, the leaders would be found negligent in their duties. On the other hand, if the big guy got too hands on and he lost, like in Hougang BE, the leaders could again be blamed for not allowing the candidate to prove that he was his own man.

Do kanko don't do also cannot? Better don't contest.

jw5, that's the biggest problem with you. full of arrogance and ego, self-righteousness and suspicion. you are wrong and you will never admit it. i've pointed out this to you several times and you've stubbornly refused to bulge. your stubborness will be your downfall despite your intellectual prowess. your poetic license is your last refuge - your inflated ego will cause you to fall painfully.

Hey man, relax, don't be stressed.
Take it easy, you'll climb up the pyramid eventually.
Slow and steady does it and wins the race.
When stressed, listen to more Beyond songs. ;)