Campaign to Boycott YOG. No Money to Help Sporns, But $390M for #1 Ego!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SG set up Facebook to boycott YOG!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:19 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>36598.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Singaporean set up Facebook to boycott Youth Olympic Games

PostDateIcon.png
July 25th, 2010 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Your Correspondent

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/07/25/singaporean-set-up-facebook-to-boycott-youth-olympic-games/

A Singaporean by the name of Kelvin Leong has set up a Facebook to boycott the Youth Olympic Games hosted by the PAP regime. It has attracted more than 100 members so far.
According to Kelvin, it was founded to protest against the PAP’s splurging of public monies on the YOG:
“We are Singaporeans who are disgusted with the YOG. The government initially allocated a budget of $120 million but it somehow shot to $387 million. At the same time, the government is not bothered at all to spend a single cent to fight the raging flood problems that has caused untold hardships on the people.”
The PAP has spared no expenses in ensuring the success of the YOG including launching a public campaign to publicize the event in the HDB heartlands and designating YOG lanes to facilitate the travel of YOG delegates.
In contrast, it is unable or unwilling to do anything to prevent the spate of recent flooding which have inconvenienced ordinary Singaporeans.
PAP strongman Lee Kuan Yew even proclaimed that the floods were an “act of God” and no amount of engineering can prevent them. However, the YOG Committee is quick to draft up a contingency plan to ensure that the event is not disrupted by a flash flood, much to the chagrin of Singaporeans.
Despite the media frenzy, the response from Singaporeans on the ground has been lukewarm so far, prompting a panicky Minister of Community, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan to urge Singaporeans to “rally” around it.
Many Singaporeans view the event as another vain attempt by the PAP to burnish its international image and want nothing to do with it, but are unable to express their sentiment explicitly out of fear of being “fixed’ by the repressive regime.
You can join the “Boycott YOG” Facebook group here.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=139232232763711&ref=mf

The government initially allocated a budget of $120 million but it somehow shot to $387 million. At the same time, the government is not bothered at all to spend a single cent to fight the raging flood problems that has caused untold hardships on the people.

I think Kelvin Leong has a valid argument :eek:

I just saw a tasteless ad where a blind girls told her mother she wanted to go "see" the YOG.

PAP should be ashamed of dragging children & handicapped into this :mad:

Singaporean set up Facebook to boycott Youth Olympic Games

July 25th, 2010 | Author: Your Correspondent

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/07/25/singaporean-set-up-facebook-to-boycott-youth-olympic-games/

A Singaporean by the name of Kelvin Leong has set up a Facebook to boycott the Youth Olympic Games hosted by the PAP regime. It has attracted more than 100 members so far.
According to Kelvin, it was founded to protest against the PAP’s splurging of public monies on the YOG:
“We are Singaporeans who are disgusted with the YOG. The government initially allocated a budget of $120 million but it somehow shot to $387 million. At the same time, the government is not bothered at all to spend a single cent to fight the raging flood problems that has caused untold hardships on the people.”
The PAP has spared no expenses in ensuring the success of the YOG including launching a public campaign to publicize the event in the HDB heartlands and designating YOG lanes to facilitate the travel of YOG delegates.
In contrast, it is unable or unwilling to do anything to prevent the spate of recent flooding which have inconvenienced ordinary Singaporeans.
PAP strongman Lee Kuan Yew even proclaimed that the floods were an “act of God” and no amount of engineering can prevent them. However, the YOG Committee is quick to draft up a contingency plan to ensure that the event is not disrupted by a flash flood, much to the chagrin of Singaporeans.
Despite the media frenzy, the response from Singaporeans on the ground has been lukewarm so far, prompting a panicky Minister of Community, Youth and Sports Dr Vivian Balakrishnan to urge Singaporeans to “rally” around it.
Many Singaporeans view the event as another vain attempt by the PAP to burnish its international image and want nothing to do with it, but are unable to express their sentiment explicitly out of fear of being “fixed’ by the repressive regime.
You can join the “Boycott YOG” Facebook group here.

It has attracted more than 100 members so far.

That's not even 1% and definitely not from the 66%.

Need to join to tell PAP it is not ok to waste $387 million when Sinkies are struggling.

Bala really need to come out with a comprehensive report why he overshot the budget!

the floods will come back next month to haunt Pap and their misplaced priorities. oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah, hey!

Actually I don't really want to boycott YOG.
It's PAP that I prefer to boycott. :)

No need to boycott YOG lah since nobody is interested in it.

Just let the school kids go. Take it as an excursion for them and a day off from school work. If your kids' school ask you to pay for the tickets, just tell them you got no $$$. If your kids are being forced to be volunteers, just take MC loh.......

Bala really need to come out with a comprehensive report why he overshot the budget!

The only reason why the Govt bid for this was that they were fed the original budget. Probably some young admin service scholar guy who thought he was the best thing since white bread was invented, sold them these figures. Along came the delays, sports hub fiasco and various other stuff which these elite mandarins should have planned for. The Govt could hardly have pulled out when it realised the enormity of the budget, right? What would it do to our standing as No 1 in so many things? Well now the ministers, who get the big bucks, should and must, come out to face the music. Or will they as usual, throw in the lambs...
Face the music?
"What's that?", they said as they gave one another puzzled looks.
Then someone gave a horrible sounding laugh and the meeting was called to a close.

No need to boycott YOG lah since nobody is interested in it.

Just let the school kids go. Take it as an excursion for them and a day off from school work. If your kids' school ask you to pay for the tickets, just tell them you got no $$$. If your kids are being forced to be volunteers, just take MC loh.......
The kids should go and be volunteers.
Good anti spoilt brat training.

Is that why they are needing to have fund raising activity?
2 weekend ago I was at Toa Payoh library when there is having YOG road show in front of the library.
As i was walking pass the volunteers at the road show approching me and asking to buying the tickets.
I is telling them got no time to going to watch because I have to going to work.
Then they are asking me to donate some money. :confused:
I am asking them donation is for what ? They are saying have some poor people and handicap people and the donation is for them so they can go to watching the YOG. :(

I'd tell them if the government would like poor and handicapped people to go and watch, they should have the decency to offer them free tickets and even free transportation to and fro, without soliciting for public donation. They can afford to spend almost S$400m on the event but need public donation to help the poor and handicapped? The donor is donating money to the government to buy their own tickets for the poor and handicapped who're not interested but used to dress up their own events and promote their own careers. If it's a full-house event, I'm sure that the poor and handicapped would be the last on the government's mind. Try ask the government whether any effort is made to help the poor and handicapped attend F1 or even watch World Cup on TV after the subscription hikes.

Now more tax payer monies will be wasted hunting down this kelvin leong and silencing him.

Update; eh... just had a look at the Facebok group. No kelvin Leong leh... silence already?

They are saying have some poor people and handicap people and the donation is for them so they can go to watching the YOG. :(

PAP is always claiming they give 'subsidies' & helping the poor. Who can forget the excuse given for the hike in gst. Time these 'poor people' live within their means :rolleyes:

MIWs is damn shameless, use the handicapped as hostages to threaten the peasants to attend the YOG. Ironically, it's known that PAP always marginalize the handicapped and refuse to put the handicapped schools under MOE.

Is that why they are needing to have fund raising activity?
2 weekend ago I was at Toa Payoh library when there is having YOG road show in front of the library.
As i was walking pass the volunteers at the road show approching me and asking to buying the tickets.
I is telling them got no time to going to watch because I have to going to work.
You should have asked them to go and ask the multi millionaires for donations.
If they still don't know who, tell them it's those who act all condescending and arrogant and like to state the obvious and make motherhood statements.