• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Camera unshy Liu thinks his predecessor doesn't know about supply & demand

PhuaTeKor

How did RL become transport minister if he can't even understand such simple logic? :confused:

More rides ahead for commuters

Government could take lead in adding capacity to public transport system

mp05jpg1307500415264-data.jpg

SINGAPORE - The Government could take the lead in adding greater capacity to the transport system, rather than leaving it solely to the operators.

Speaking at the start of tunnelling work for Downtown Line 2 (DTL2) at the Beauty World Station, Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew signalled that there could be a change in the Government's approach.

Said Mr Lui: "My feel is that ... we probably are adding capacity for trains and buses not ahead of demand, maybe not even in tandem with demand. If left to the operators alone, I think they will take a relatively cautious and gradual process."

With the Government's involvement, "we can inject capacity in a very timely fashion - particularly over the next three to four years - before we see the materialisation of Downtown Lines 2 and 3 and future projects", said Mr Lui.

Ramping up the capacity for buses, in particular, is high on his to-do list, as Mr Lui noted that rail projects have "very long" gestation periods, given the complexities involved.

Mr Lui, who took on the portfolio following the unveiling of the new Cabinet less than three weeks ago, pledged that the Government will work more closely with operators to address bottlenecks in the transportation network.

Mr Lui said there could be social costs if the capacity of the public transport system is boosted. A speedy measure to alleviate transportation woes could include empty buses mid-stream on certain routes, said Mr Lui.

Mr Lui, whose frequent journeys on buses and MRT trains had been caught on camera and uploaded on the Internet, recalled that two Fridays ago, he tried to take a bus during the evening peak hour from the PSA Building.

A very crowded double-decker went by. The next bus, a single-decker, was also very crowded, and he could not board.

"I decided ... to go to HarbourFront, took the North-East Line, went to Dhoby Ghaut, took the Circle Line and reached Dakota where I wanted to go to," he said.

Mr Lui also suggested that more extensive data mining from ez-link cards, so that commuters can know if a bus is full or whether seats are available.

"As a commuter, I would want to know when the bus is coming ... if I can get onto the bus, and whether I can find a seat. We will work with the operators and find ways to make this information available and then you can make a more informed decision," he said.

Mr Lui also disclosed that the public transport operators have yet to submit any proposals for an increase in fares.

The Public Transport Council has said earlier that adjustments, if any, will come into effect at a later date - to coincide with the opening of the last stage of the Circle Line this October.

I don't know what shit Lui Fuck Yew is talking? U mean when he took over this portfolio, he did not find out that the govt. is the majority shareholder of SMRT, via Temasek Holdings? On the board of SMRT are all his old buddies and fellow MPs, etc. What is he talking about "if left to the operators, they will use a cautious approach or direct govt. involvement, inject capacity and all that shit? This is typical PAP fork tongue and double speak. Limbei Cheebye, your own govt. owns fucking SMRT. How hard is it to call up Halimah Yacock and order her and the BOD to add capacity, add more trains, more buses, more frequency, or else, he will go there and kick all their backsides? Is that very hard to do, Mr. Ministar?

... Mr Lui ... recalled that two Fridays ago, he tried to take a bus during the evening peak hour from the PSA Building.

A very crowded double-decker went by. The next bus, a single-decker, was also very crowded, and he could not board.

"I decided ... to go to HarbourFront, took the North-East Line, went to Dhoby Ghaut, took the Circle Line and reached Dakota where I wanted to go to," he said ...
y he never said how he went 2 harbor front from psa? ...

sum1 fetched him there? ...

I don't know what shit Lui Fuck Yew is talking? U mean when he took over this portfolio, he did not find out that the govt. is the majority shareholder of SMRT, via Temasek Holdings? On the board of SMRT are all his old buddies and fellow MPs, etc. What is he talking about "if left to the operators, they will use a cautious approach or direct govt. involvement, inject capacity and all that shit? This is typical PAP fork tongue and double speak. Limbei Cheebye, your own govt. owns fucking SMRT. How hard is it to call up Halimah Yacock and order her and the BOD to add capacity, add more trains, more buses, more frequency, or else, he will go there and kick all their backsides? Is that very hard to do, Mr. Ministar?

Hey long time no see PAPsmearer, where have u been? Hope all is fine. I believe if you don't bullshit around, i should be able to see u here regularly....i hope. :D

He knows a lot about water transport that's why he is now on OJT for land transport.

does that mean the predecessor is sleeping on the job ?
Seem to me that is confirmation for HDB , LTA and MOM so far.

I'm sure his predecessor is squirming in his seat! Lui seems to be exposing all of Raymond Lim's shortcomings in his to-do list! Why didn't Raymond Lim think of these?

1. aiyoh!
2. no-porn is just another mouthpiece as new broom sweeps clean mah.
3. finger-pointing as usual, no change!
4. all those entities are state-controlled, sheep.
5. either no=porn is sleeping or has not done his homework or what.

Then he should nationalise the transport companies. Govt although a major share holders, now does not interfere with the day-to-day running of the company, that's why he found so much shortcomings leaving it to the "private" sector. so please nationalise the transport companies.

How did RL become transport minister if he can't even understand such simple logic? :confused:

More rides ahead for commuters

Government could take lead in adding capacity to public transport system

mp05jpg1307500415264-data.jpg

Is he pretending that he is Bruce Lee?

The problem is Temasek Holdings. Temasek Holdings already told SMRT this year how much dividend Temasek Holdings wants. So all the profit target already set for SMRT.

I'm sure his predecessor is squirming in his seat! Lui seems to be exposing all of Raymond Lim's shortcomings in his to-do list! Why didn't Raymond Lim think of these?

PAP very hardcore wan. You think all the members and ministers united meh? All backstab one another trying to curry favor with the Lees. Look at Khaw backstab MBT, now Tuck Yew doing the same. Why is this happening? Because LKY advocated a "Me First" mentality. You die, is your business, dun talk to me about loyalty, camaraderie. Everything is a meritocracy... He like Darwinian society so all the PAP dogs give him darwin style lor.

That's Is A Fighting Word !

bruce_lee.jpg

Is he pretending that he is Bruce Lee?

If anyone says that, I'll gladly challenge him to a fight (in a cage). I have done it to a poor sandbag and I'll do it to him too (very powerful kick).

So, Liu is good, huh ?

PAP very hardcore wan. You think all the members and ministers united meh? All backstab one another trying to curry favor with the Lees. Look at Khaw backstab MBT, now Tuck Yew doing the same. Why is this happening? Because LKY advocated a "Me First" mentality. You die, is your business, dun talk to me about loyalty, camaraderie. Everything is a meritocracy... He like Darwinian society so all the PAP dogs give him darwin style lor.

There's meritocracy in Singapore? :rolleyes:

basket, already the bus so crowded, still come and cause more conjestion. The ugliest minister in singapore history.

Then he should nationalise the transport companies. Govt although a major share holders, now does not interfere with the day-to-day running of the company, that's why he found so much shortcomings leaving it to the "private" sector. so please nationalise the transport companies.

The SMRT board is full of govt. people, starting with halimah Yacock. The board's job is to influence the direction of the company. So what you are saying is that the govt. had within its power thru its seats on the board and majority shareholder position to interfere in the day to day running of the company, but choose not to do so. In any independent public company, if the company is not doing well, the BOD steps in to make changes. This got happen or not? See how bad this incestous relationship is?

Halimah has just resigned from the SMRT board because she is now the ministar of state for community development.

Hurray for poor people!
So sad for public transport commuters!

:rolleyes: :D

raymond thot supply n demand is equal FARES RISE
typical pap ideology, all round