• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cabby gets 20 years' jail for dousing girlfriend with petrol and setting her on fire

StarshipTroopers

Cabby gets 20 years' jail for dousing girlfriend with petrol and setting her on fire

20120527.152516_tnp_sengkang.jpg

Ian Poh
The Straits Times
Monday, Jan 27, 2014

A 45-year-old cabby, who killed his former girlfriend by dousing her with petrol and setting her alight after she refused to get back together, was on Monday sentenced to 20 years in prison.

Get the full story from The Straits Times.

Man charged for setting ex-girlfriend on fire in Sengkang

AsiaOne
Sunday, May 27, 2012

SINGAPORE - A 43-year-old woman suffered first degree burns to more than 80 per cent of her body when her former lover allegedly set her on fire on Friday morning.

Lim Ghim Peow, 44, is being charged with the death of Ms Mary Yoong Mei Ling, 43, at her uncle's home in Sengkang.
According to The Straits Times, the police and Singapore Civil Defence Force received a call for help at about 8.30am Friday.

When they arrived at the scene at Block 206B, Compassvale Lane, the blaze had been put out but three people had been injured : Ms Yoong, her cousin Phua Duan Kai, 32, and Lim.

Neighbours reported seeing the man earlier outside the family's flat on the 14th floor splashing kerosene on the door.

One neighbour, Mr Guo, 47, told The New Paper that he was woken up by loud shouting, and saw flames coming out from the neighbouring unit.

A man was standing ouside shouting: "My wife is inside!"

hokkien

Re: Cabby gets 20 years' jail for dousing girlfriend with petrol and setting her on f

Just a women why get into trouble?:biggrin:

lianbeng

Re: Cabby gets 20 years' jail for dousing girlfriend with petrol and setting her on f

Just a women why get into trouble?:biggrin:

lianbeng replies hokkien: bro, why u so chek-ak? :biggrin: see lah, now u will spend 20 years behind iron bars liao lah! lucky never kana hanged ah!

LeMans2011

Walaneh... 40+ liao still no self control... destroy his own life for a laokwaybu

hokkien

lianbeng replies hokkien: bro, why u so chek-ak? :biggrin: see lah, now u will spend 20 years behind iron bars liao lah! lucky never kana hanged ah!

Bro if I masuk I sure pull you in:biggrin:

lianbeng

Bro maybe she is his first gf:biggrin:

lianbeng replies hokkien: after squeezing him dry of his sperm n money liao lao charbor wana run away how can? :biggrin: sei ler! die lah!

lianbeng

lianbeng replies to thread: 自古红颜多祸水! :biggrin:

GoldenPeriod

how come not considered murder?

blindswordsman

how come not considered murder?

The laws are not applied fairly. When a crime is committed with intention to kill, such as setting fire to the flat, and someone is indeed killed as a result of the fire, then it is murder. Why was the guy not sentenced to death? He should be hanged to deter others from committing the same crime. It is not even a life imprisonment but only 20 years and one third remission of his sentence. Now, does it mean that setting fire to kill someone in sinkie land is no longer a capital offence?