• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Buy Same Product, My Friend Pay $2K At 1 Shop, I Pay $2K + GST At Another Shop !?

how ah ? anyway that i can get my 7% GST back or not ?

any regulation about why 1 shop charge GST while other shop doesn't when the price was advertised as $2K ?

Lemon Law got use boh ?

any regulation about why 1 shop charge GST while other shop doesn't when the price was advertised as $2K ?

Lemon Law got use boh ?
dun think u can get it back lor

Lemon Law got use boh ?

what to do ? this happens to everyone once in a while lah

can get my 7% GST back or not ? any regulation about why 1 shop charge GST while other shop doesn't when the price was advertised as $2K ?
GST is a consumption tax (VAT) so no go (unless you tourist claim refund on leaving our shores). 2 possible reasons why 1 shop hit you GST, whilst other not:

1) If cheaper shop is registered for GST (turnover threshold or voluntary), lower selling price nett of GST. Legislation requires gross, GST and nett price to be clearly spelt out on receipt or bill.

2) If same shop is NOT registered for GST, keep within same $2k base price.

So mechanics of price setting. Shop 2) will have to bear the brunt of their costs or purchases with GST ie +7%, which they cannot recover from taxman as input tax.

so i can only negotiate with shop see if they can waive 7% lah right ?