• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bus driver in Sydney helps a family of ducks to cross the road. Singapore?

Ash007

Saw this heartwarming news today. M2 is a major road with speeds of 100km/hr, the bus driver actually stopped his bus to help a family of ducks to cross the road safely. In Singapore? run them over?

http://www.smh.com.au/environment/animals/why-did-the-ducks-cross-the-road-traffic-delays-caused-by-wandering-family-20120828-24xg3.html

Why did the ducks cross the road? Traffic delays caused by wandering family
Date
August 28, 2012 - 11:10AM
214 reading nowRead later
Glenda Kwek
Reporter
View more articles from Glenda Kwek
Follow Glenda on Twitter Email Glenda

inShare
Email articlePrint
Do you know more? Email us, message us on Twitter @smh or text 0424 SMS SMH (+61 424 767 764) with information and images.
A family of ducks brought out the best in Sydney drivers this morning.

People were looking around, thinking there was a crash, but when ... they saw what [the bus driver] was doing, everyone was like, 'Awww'

Up to seven ducks and ducklings ruffled a few feathers this morning when they ran in and out of citybound lanes on the M2 Motorway between Delhi Road and the Lane Cove Tunnel in North Ryde during peak hour, causing "significant delays" just after 8.10am today, the NSW Transport Management Centre (TMC) said.

But motorists took the time to slowly drive around the ducks, while a Hillsbus driver tried to shepherd the birds off the motorway, witnesses said.

Advertisement
"It appears that everyone was trying to help the ducks," a NSW Police spokesman said, adding that police officers were called in to help the birds.

University student Maddie, one of the passengers on the Hillsbus 610, said her driver got off the bus just before the Lane Cove Tunnel about 8am.

"I thought there'd been a crash, but he just got off the bus and starting usher them across the road to try and get them out of the way. It was actually pretty funny,'' she said.

"Traffic has stopped a bit behind us, but he was very cautious. He didn't run out in front of any cars.''

But the family of brown-striped ducks waddled back on to the road and the driver had to re-usher them off again before he returned to the bus.

"People [on the bus] were looking around, thinking there was a crash, but when ... they saw what he was doing, everyone was like, 'Awww'," Maddie said.

When police officers arrived, they found one duck dead and that the five ducklings had entered the Tunnel and escaped into a water channel, the spokesman said.

Traffic was returning to normal just after 9am, along citybound buses were delayed by up to 30 minutes, the TMC said.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/environment/a...ring-family-20120828-24xg3.html#ixzz24njpUPaL

don't be so quick to draw conclusion on singaporans lah. yes, the driver was gracious. but don't have to stab singaporeans driver okay. i saw one parkinsonian lady crossing the pedestrian zebra and all the drivers were patient and waited until the parkingsonian lady crossed. singaporeans are patient and kind hearted too. nobody horn. not even the infamous taxi driveres. all waited patiently for the parkinsonian lady cross completely. i witnessed this and i was so happy for singaporeans .so proud of them.

so don't anyhow stab singaporeans just becasue one angmoh did a good favour. there are thousands of good favours done in singaporea everyday. go to the old folks homes and see the singaporan volunteers helping them. go and see yourselves.

Sinkies will also stop the bus. The PRC bus driver will try to catch the ducks to BBQ while silly sinkies will whip out their latest Samsung smartphones, take pictures and post it on Stomp :o

further insults on prc drivers. i have seen very polite and very gracious ones. and i have also seen very polite and gracious singaporeans. singaporeans not that bad lah. only a few bad apples.

Maybe I should have mentioned the other thread on bad behaving bus drivers in Singapore.

further insults on prc drivers. i have seen very polite and very gracious ones. and i have also seen very polite and gracious singaporeans. singaporeans not that bad lah. only a few bad apples.

Maybe I should have mentioned the other thread on bad behaving bus drivers in Singapore.

aiyah you have good and bad lah. why onlyhighlight the bad and then generalise and paint everyone black. not right right

KNNBLCB stands for Knowledge Need Not Be Learnt by Comprehending Books

Please do not associate me with the racist KNNBCCB and Hooligan KNNBPCB

KNNBLCB! I like your signature v much. Points for you. :D

Thank you. Favour returned :D

Wah you so powerful! I think I know who you are! Thank you. :D

Back to TS thread, whenever I'm driving, I always try my best to avoid running over the pigeons and mynahs which are picking up food on the roads, especially the slower pigeons. :o

Sinkies will also stop the bus. The PRC bus driver will try to catch the ducks to BBQ while silly sinkies will whip out their latest Samsung smartphones, take pictures and post it on Stomp :o

If this happens in Philippines, the ducks won't even have the chance to leave their shell.

They'll be boiled and sold at roadside.

Saw this heartwarming news today. M2 is a major road with speeds of 100km/hr, the bus driver actually stopped his bus to help a family of ducks to cross the road safely. In Singapore? run them over?

in singapore , we make them lor ark ...

aiyah you have good and bad lah. why onlyhighlight the bad and then generalise and paint everyone black. not right right

Kopi uncle you pap cocksucking Paul Lampard!
You are a dog!
Some prc bus driver run over you soon....hope you dun die so soon but become paraplegic so can take part in next Paralympic games.

Used to be an impatient driver when I was in SG. All the bad habits of Sinkee drivers can be found on me.

Now, I think I can get a certificate from traffic police if they see me drive in SG. Took me 2-3 years to quit the Sinkee driving habits but also a much happier driver. But come to think about it, there is no way I can drive the Sinkee driving style in LOS. The situation doesn't permit. An example, there are many no traffic light junctions in LOS, and the traffic from 4 directions will still move. Don't think it's possible in SG.

Like at a round-about?

Used to be an impatient driver when I was in SG. All the bad habits of Sinkee drivers can be found on me.

Now, I think I can get a certificate from traffic police if they see me drive in SG. Took me 2-3 years to quit the Sinkee driving habits but also a much happier driver. But come to think about it, there is no way I can drive the Sinkee driving style in LOS. The situation doesn't permit. An example, there are many no traffic light junctions in LOS, and the traffic from 4 directions will still move. Don't think it's possible in SG.

For this reason, the Chinese embassy in Australia has came out with a Behaviour Booklet to advise Chinese not to catch wild ducks to roast.

Meanwhile,

It is common at this time of the year (Spring) to have ducks crossing the roads near the lakes (eg a dual carriageway near Perth QEII hospital, Lake Monger, etc) I have stopped my car a few times to let them cross. Sometimes, I wonder what is going on when a car in front stop for no reason ... then I either saw a pond/lake/duck crossing sign.

But kangaroos are a different story. They are native to OZ. That is why we have roos bars on our 4WD to cull them on the road. We even have a name for that, RoadKill. But we do remember them roos, so they are put on the left side of the national coat of arm . :cool:

Stop comparing apples with oranges. Australia is a first world country after all. :rolleyes:

If this happens in Philippines, the ducks won't even have the chance to leave their shell.

They'll be boiled and sold at roadside.

1. aiyoh!
2. dont' need any pinoys to do it hoh.
3. if ah ram is around.
4. feathered ducks, eat ducks!

if the ah tiongs have their way...

6a00d83451bb1e69e201156e4c52da970c-500wi.jpg

pekingduck1.jpg