Brutal truths about Polytechnic graduates

A local graduate is guaranteed a job after obtaining his degree; it just may not be as a PME, but a PHV driver, security guard or deliveryman.
Fresh local graduates can get office jobs in droves like the statutory boards but as administrator or executives which are usually O or A level holder roles. I have an ex colleague who graduated with a diploma in the 1980s and was already a manager in a statutory board back then

Too few jobs, too many Sinkies and foreigners. More jobs and companies leaving Sg to other lower cost countries and it’s hush hush

In the early '80s, there were only two polytechnics, making it challenging to enroll due to the need for strong Ore-level grades and the limited number of classes available for limited various courses. However, upon graduation, securing a good job was almost guaranteed, or opportunities were readily waiting for you to apply.
Nowadays, with numerous polytechnics and a wide variety of courses and classes available, it is easy to enroll even with less-than-stellar results.
I remember being a teenager in the 1980s when there were only 2 universities and 2 polytechnics. During those times, a degree or even diploma guaranteed us a bright future. My parents who worked as PMEs, could afford to buy 2 landed homes with 1 generating passive rental income till today.

Fresh local graduates can get office jobs in droves like the statutory boards but as administrator or executives which are usually O or A level holder roles. I have an ex colleague who graduated with a diploma in the 1980s and was already a manager in a statutory board back then Too few jobs, too many Sinkies and foreigners. More jobs and companies leaving Sg to other lower cost countries and it’s hush hush
I keep hearing from my adult children about their friends getting laid off or having difficulty landing PME jobs in their late 20s or early 30s. Meanwhile, I notice more and more foreigners holding good jobs who are able to afford the hefty rental for units at my condo.

I remember being a teenager in the 1980s when there were only 2 universities and 2 polytechnics. During those times, a degree or even diploma guaranteed us a bright future. My parents who worked as PMEs, could afford to buy 2 landed homes with 1 generating passive rental income till today.
The cost of living very different in the 1980s and now right? 1 HDB flat cost not much more than a landed home in the 1980s.

I keep hearing from my adult children about their friends getting laid off or having difficulty landing PME jobs in their late 20s or early 30s. Meanwhile, I notice more and more foreigners holding good jobs who are able to afford the hefty rental for units at my condo.
Common. I see peers in friends gathering telling us about retrenchment and the replacement are foreigners usually CECAs, Tiong Kok lang and office politicking mudlanders.

The cost of living very different in the 1980s and now right? 1 HDB flat cost not much more than a landed home in the 1980s.
I remember travelling to UK, US and Japan on family vacations in the 1980s, horrified by how expensive everything was. Now, it is the other way round, when my family buys clothing, footwear and electronics in other developed countries because everything is just too costly in SG.

Common. I see peers in friends gathering telling us about retrenchment and the replacement are foreigners usually CECAs, Tiong Kok lang and office politicking mudlanders.
My nephew was laid off a few months ago after being told his job was made redundant. His ex-colleagues informed him that a CECA has taken over his position. The SG govt just looks the other way.

I remember travelling to UK, US and Japan on family vacations in the 1980s, horrified by how expensive everything was. Now, it is the other way round, when my family buys clothing, footwear and electronics in other developed countries because everything is just too costly in SG.
Yes. Last time Japan was so expensive compared to now. Everything have gone up so much and the salaries? Not that much in comparison. I went to HK lately and realise the cost of food there is not much difference from Sg food

My family's last trip to HK was in 2023, and it was hardly surprising that SG and HK are the 2 most expensive cities in Asia. Both cities are overpopulated.

HK is over populated by all the Tiong Kok langs while Sg is over populated by all kinds of CECAs, mudlanders, PRCs, Viet

Poly diploma most highest investment return then universities pangsai degrees ..... can oso get blue collar work easily like ITEs .... lesser competitions against imports that are above and below diploma jobs :thumbsup:

Uptron has the best return on investment and best graduate outcome with strong employment of 100% in Sg, far better than any local universities grad job percentage. Uptron is gold standard