• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Brunei introduces tough Islamic laws

BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN, Brunei: The Sultan of Brunei on Tuesday announced the phased introduction of tough Islamic punishments including death by stoning for crimes such as adultery, in the monarchy's latest step towards conservatism.

Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah -- one of the world's wealthiest men -- said in a speech that a new Sharia Penal Code which has been in the works for years had been gazetted on Tuesday and would "come into force six months hereafter and in phases".

Based on the details of particular cases, punishments can include stoning to death for adulterers, severing of limbs for theft and flogging for violations ranging from abortion to consumption of alcohol, according to a copy of the code.

"By the grace of Allah, with the coming into effect of this legislation, our duty to Allah is therefore being fulfilled," said the sultan, now 67 years old.

An all-powerful figure whose family has ruled the languid, oil-rich country of 400,000 for six centuries, the sultan first called in 1996 for the introduction of Sharia criminal punishments.

Brunei already practices a conservative brand of Islam relative to its Muslim neighbours in Southeast Asia, Malaysia and Indonesia.

The sale and public consumption of alcohol are banned and authorities closely restrict the activities of other religions.

It was not immediately clear how aggressively the new criminal code, which applies only to Muslims, would be implemented.

Brunei already has a dual-track system combining civil courts based on British law -- the sultanate was a British protectorate until 1984 -- and Sharia courts that are currently limited to personal and family issues such as marriage disputes.

Two years ago, a top official in the Attorney-General's office said Brunei would apply an extremely high burden of proof for sharia criminal infractions under the code, and that judges would have wide discretion in applying the Islamic punishments.

The comments were aimed at easing fears expressed by some Bruneians of a lurch toward draconian punishments.

Nearly 70 per cent of Brunei's people are Muslim ethnic Malays, while about 15 per cent are non-Muslim ethnic Chinese, followed by indigenous peoples and other groups.

Funded by oil and gas wealth mainly in offshore fields in the South China Sea, Brunei has one of Asia's highest standards of living.

The government provides citizens with free medical care and education through the university level.

The sultan has leaned increasingly towards Islamic orthodoxy in recent years, including the introduction of mandatory religious education for all Muslim children and ordering all businesses in the country closed for two hours during Friday prayers.

- AFP/fa

our closest ally show us their true side. We should disengage with them slowly and let malaysia to take care of them.

This is their true colour. If you work closely with them, you will know that as long as you are not in the same religion or race. You are indispensable and will never be their equal. For them, religion is above logic.

Just wait and see. There will be a time when other religion will have to pay special tax to practice their religion freely. That is a form of "protection" money.

our closest ally show us their true side. We should disengage with them slowly and let malaysia to take care of them.

The muslims don't need to commit adultery. They can simply marry a girl they want to fuck and divorce her after the deed is done.

That was exactly what he did several times.

article-1287136-0A10D9E2000005DC-221_468x313.jpg

The muslims don't need to commit adultery. They can simply marry a girl they want to fuck and divorce her after the deed is done.

tititata

I was there for several years. Bruneians generally don't like or trust the Malaysians. On the other hand, Singaporeans are well-regarded.

Force 136

163978_511211632274881_1299133939_n.jpg

Khalwat offence in Brunei - Close proximity between sexes on boat....... except for the married couple in black, the others could be stoned..........

Singapore needs Brunei now more than Brunei needs Singapore.

why? we need their oil? they need us to invade KL if malaysian army bring their force to sabah and invade them, malaysian army split to two, attack on both side will be defeated. Of course we have F-35B by then.
so i ask you, who need who? we can buy oil from russia , USA or south america and gulf states.
If they dare to attack brunei, our force + USA will cut into their force and eat up johor as buffer zone, we have all the water and land we really want.

that is a most noveau way to get around the rules of koran and still call chicken. I am both disgusted by them and admire their resourcefulness.

Lizzert

" Halal Fast food cockles " -discard the shell after you eat the hum ..just say "throw away" 3 x

winners

why? we need their oil? they need us to invade KL if malaysian army bring their force to sabah and invade them, malaysian army split to two, attack on both side will be defeated. Of course we have F-35B by then.
so i ask you, who need who? we can buy oil from russia , USA or south america and gulf states.
If they dare to attack brunei, our force + USA will cut into their force and eat up johor as buffer zone, we have all the water and land we really want.

Talk macam drinking water. If it's so easy, China would have ruled East Asia by now.

That was exactly what he did several times.

article-1287136-0A10D9E2000005DC-221_468x313.jpg

This teeko sultan is the ultimate hypocrite.
He and his playboys brothers are famous for their sex orgies and partying lifestyle.
If really want to stone then the royal family members many will kena first.

This is standard lah! The older one gets, the more religious he becomes. Brunei sultan is a good example.

Agoraphobic

We might have our own views on this, but it's his country, he calls the shots. At least the law only applies to Muslims.

BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN, Brunei: The Sultan of Brunei on Tuesday announced the phased introduction of tough Islamic punishments......- AFP/fa

bryanlim1972

that is a most noveau way to get around the rules of koran and still call chicken. I am both disgusted by them and admire their resourcefulness.

anyone of any religion can find ways to skirt around the rules. it does not only apply to islam. christianity gives out blanket forgiveness every sunday. mon to sat can call chicken and other people's wives, sunday all wiped clean. monday repeat. taoist, no need to say lah. burn all the hell money for fuck? to call chicken in hell?

religion is all contextual.