• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bro drifter you receiving any chocolates tomorrow?

Ash007

This article is interesting about the Japanese Valentine's tradition of woman giving chocolates. Just wondering if Bro Drifter has any comments on this. Since he is the only one in Japan I know of.

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/valentines-day-why-women-should-give-the-chocolates-20130212-2eb0b.html

Valentine's Day: Why women should give the chocolates
Date
February 13, 2013
Category
Opinion
Read later
Alan Stokes

inShare
Pin Itsubmit to redditEmail articlePrintReprints & permissions

"It's a rare chance for the females of Japan to express their feelings." Photo: Reuters
Rieko is my dream. She's the sort of woman who sees in me what others can't. She writes me poetry and sends me sweet gifts. She reassures me that, for all my faults, I've still got whatever it was that I used to have and that wasn't much anyway so I need to accept whatever excitement comes my way.

And that's Rieko.

Like all shy Japanese women, Rieko will be giving chocolates to many men tomorrow, on Valentine's Day. It's a rare chance for the females of Japan to express their innermost feelings.

You see, only women send Valentine's gifts in Japan.

Advertisement
But since the Western celebration took hold in the late 1950s, Japanese teenage girls and later young women have developed a clever system of giving different quality chocolates according to the type of man involved.

For a lover-boy like me, Rieko would direct honmei - ''potential winner'' - chocolates, not unlike those an Australian man would give a female he liked romantically. Kyodo News reports the average outlay on these ''true love'' chocolates in Japan will be ¥3497 ($36) this year. Should the lucky man approve, he'll return in kind with gifts worth up to three times as much on White Day on March 14.

But office ladies such as Rieko will also give non-romantic chocolates tomorrow. For boring, unhelpful workmates and superiors, she will give giri-choco, otherwise known as obligation chocolates. The average Tokyo office lady will buy 10.4 boxes of them this year, according to the Printemps department store in Ginza. Many will purchase ''Black Thunder'' brand giri-choco through vending machines at Tokyo subway stations.

For the really annoying obnoxious, hairless, brown-suited, deranged chick magnet wannabe, though, Japanese women will buy cho-giri choco, also known as ultra-obligation chocolates.

Luckily, the no-hopers who receive giri and cho-giri chocolates aren't expected to reciprocate. To do so would be very awkward indeed.

Researchers say Japan's peculiar woman-only gift-giving on Valentine's Day reflects two national traits.

One is a mother-son psychological bonding between Japanese women and their husbands. In the 1970s, psychoanalyst Takeo Doi famously identified this sense of ''amae'' - the state of expecting a close other's indulgence when one behaves inappropriately. Get drunk, sing bad karaoke and chuck up on the lounge - an Australian wife's nightmare, but theoretically excused by Japanese women.

Amae isn't immediately clear in Valentine's Day in Japan because when women give men ''potential winner'' chocolates they seem to be taking the ''you go girl'' initiative. In reality, the theory goes, they are feeding the male need for unconditional maternal-style love, the so-called ''my mouth is lonely'' dependency. Women accept it because the molly-coddling gives them some power over their man. And research suggest this symbiotic relationship works to keep couples together.

The darker side of Valentine's in Japan is clearer when it comes to obligation chocolates. The theory is they reflect a female's lower place in the Japanese social/workplace pecking order. In 1993, Canadian anthropologist Millie Creighton noted that if the chocolate ritual had been introduced directly as a Western-style mutual exchange of gifts, ''it would never have caught on because the men would never have gotten involved, and if the men had not, the women would have been too embarrassed to do so''.

Creighton concludes any individualism in chocolate giving by Japanese women ''has largely been replaced by the, albeit playful, entry of giri (obligation) into the practice, and by the symbolic affirmation of 'sweet' dependency relationships''.

Personally, I just want Rieko to send me some chocolates.

Truth is, I can be sure she will, as long as I pay $6 plus postage to the owners of the Japanese website that invented Rieko as a Valentine's Day insurance policy for blokes who fear the embarrassment of not receiving any chocolates.

The chocs turn up at your office with a note saying ''from a woman named Rieko''.

Such is life …

[email protected]

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/valen...-chocolates-20130212-2eb0b.html#ixzz2KjBCN18e

blur sotong

This article is interesting about the Japanese Valentine's tradition of woman giving chocolates. Just wondering if Bro Drifter has any comments on this. Since he is the only one in Japan I know of.

Bro Ash007,

Valentine Day is too commercialised. Partaking it is playing into the hands of businesses. Just like buying bak kwa during CNY. :rolleyes: :eek:

What is the point of having a good time just for tomorrow when the couple fight every other day? Valentine day is a once a year day for making up? :confused: :*:

BTW, there is a Singapore styled bak kwa shop in Prince Centre, 8 Quay Street, Haymarket. Supposedly selling Singapore style bak kwa (I have not tried) unlike those Viet style bak kwa sold at Cabramatta centre (this I tried). That shop is called Wei Zheng Xiang not Mei Zheng Xiang. One of those copycat in Sydney. :eek: :biggrin:

ShangTsung

Must be one lousy team. I have yet to find worthy opponents in this forum but so far all i see are losers.

Ash007

They got qie pian or not. The one where they cut the meat one not use mince one? That one nice, got meaty bites in them.
Bro Ash007,

Valentine Day is too commercialised. Partaking it is playing into the hands of businesses. Just like buying bak kwa during CNY. :rolleyes: :eek:

What is the point of having a good time just for tomorrow when the couple fight every other day? Valentine day is a once a year day for making up? :confused: :*:

BTW, there is a Singapore styled bak kwa shop in Prince Centre, 8 Quay Street, Haymarket. Supposedly selling Singapore style bak kwa (I have not tried) unlike those Viet style bak kwa sold at Cabramatta centre (this I tried). That shop is called Wei Zheng Xiang not Mei Zheng Xiang. One of those copycat in Sydney. :eek: :biggrin:

I recount a particular Vday when a male colleague received chocolates delivered to the office, sent by his wife. The last I heard, the moron bought her a Rolex in return. That's the Sinkie way?

For the really annoying obnoxious, hairless, brown-suited, deranged chick magnet wannabe, though, Japanese women will buy cho-giri choco, also known as ultra-obligation chocolates.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giri_choco

800px-Giri-choco.jpg

Giri choco (義理チョコ?, literally, "obligation chocolate") is chocolate given by women to men on Valentine's day in Japan. It is a relatively cheap type of chocolate women give to male co-workers, casual acquaintances, and others to whom they have no romantic attachment.[1][2]

drifteri

Dear bros,
Thank for the recent spark in attention team drifter is enjoying.
We are a big team spanning from Singapore to Japan.

Our master quits steal eat :rolleyes:

Ash007

I recount a particular Vday when a male colleague received chocolates delivered to the office, sent by his wife. The last I heard, the moron bought her a Rolex in return. That's the Sinkie way?

Why Rolex? Not LV?

Dear bros,
Thank for the recent spark in attention team drifter is enjoying.
We are a big team spanning from Singapore to Japan.

Our master quits steal eat :rolleyes:

Yah lah, but he can still get from wife what? Or they stop giving when married?

wrcboi

Bro Ash007,

theres a store selling bak kwa every Friday, at the chinatown night markets toooo

What is wrong for a husband who is capable to buy Rolexes for his wife? This is not "Sinkie way", all over the world husbands buy expensive gifts for their wives nothing wrong with it. At least your married colleague did not buy that Rolex for his girlfriend.

Lavishing gifts on the significant other is no issue...to me it's the same as spending on myself so I never stinge.
What is silly is men throwing money and gifts at ktv, hfj girls, wls etc. I will never splurge on these women...the amount I spend on them is equivalent to what I think they are worth for a fuck.

Tuayapeh

Good post joe .