• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

breaking : covid hides and infects your brains

kaninabuchaojibye

COVID-19 May Hide in Brains and Cause Relapses

www.webmd.com

Jan. 25, 2021 -- The coronavirus may remain in people’s brains after infection and trigger relapses in patients who thought they had recovered, according to a new study published in the journal Viruses.

In the study, mice that were infected with the virus through their nasal passages developed severe illnesses due to brain infections, even after the virus left their lungs. In humans, this could explain why patients who appear to be over COVID-19 sometimes relapse and die.

“The brain is one of the regions where virus likes to hide,” Mukesh Kumar, the lead study author and a researcher at Georgia State University, said in a statement.

“That’s why we’re seeing severe disease and all these multiple symptoms like heart disease, stroke and all these long-haulers with loss of smell, loss of taste,” he said. “All of this has to do with the brain rather than with the lungs.”

The research team found that the virus was located in the brains of mice at a level that was 1,000 times higher than in any other part of the body. Viral loads in the lungs began to drop after three days but remained high in the brain on the fifth and sixth days after infection, which is when the disease became more severe.

“Once it infects the brain, it can affect anything because the brain is controlling your lungs, the heart, everything,” he said. “The brain is a very sensitive organ. It’s the central processor for everything.”

COVID-19 survivors whose infections reached their brain could also become susceptible to other serious medical conditions in the future, such as Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, cognitive decline and autoimmune diseases, he added.

“It’s scary,” he said. “A lot of people think they got COVID and they recovered and now they’re out of the woods. Now I feel like that’s never going to be true. You may never be out of the woods.”

WebMD Health News Brief

Sources

Viruses, “Neuroinvasion and Encephalitis Following Intranasal Inoculation of SARS-CoV-2 in K18-hACE2 Mice.”
Georgia State University, “Study Finds COVID-19 Attack On Brain, Not Lungs, Triggers Severe Disease In Mice.”

© 2021 WebMD, LLC. All rights reserved.

kaninabuchaojibye

Covid linked to risk of mental illness and brain disorder, study suggests | Coronavirus
www.theguardian.com

One in eight people who have had Covid-19 are diagnosed with their first psychiatric or neurological illness within six months of testing positive for the virus, a new analysis suggests, adding heft to an emerging body of evidence that stresses the toll of the virus on mental health and brain disorders cannot be ignored.

The analysis – which is still to be peer-reviewed – also found that those figures rose to one in three when patients with a previous history of psychiatric or neurological illnesses were included.

It found that one in nine patients were also diagnosed with things such as depression or stroke despite not having gone to hospital when they had Covid-19, which was surprising, said the lead author, Dr Max Taquet of the department of psychiatry at the University of Oxford.

The researchers used electronic health records to evaluate 236,379 hospitalised and non-hospitalised US patients with a confirmed diagnosis of Covid-19 who survived the disease, comparing them with a group diagnosed with influenza, and a cohort diagnosed with respiratory tract infections between 20 January and 13 December 2020.

The analysis, which accounted for known risk factors such as age, sex, race, underlying physical and mental conditions and socio-economic deprivation, found that the incidence of neurological or psychiatric conditions post-Covid within six months was 33.6%. Nearly 13% received their first such diagnosis.

The data adds to prior research by Taquet and others that showed nearly one in five people who have had Covid-19 are diagnosed with a psychiatric disorder within three months of testing positive for the virus.

In the latest analysis, the researchers found that most diagnoses were more common after Covid-19, than after influenza or other respiratory infections – including stroke, acute bleeding inside the skull or brain, dementia, and psychotic disorders.

Overall, Covid-19 was associated with increased risk of these diagnoses, but the incidence was greater in patients who required hospital treatment, and markedly so in those who developed brain disease.

The question was how long these conditions might persist after diagnosis, said Taquet. “I don’t think we have an answer to that question yet.”

He added: “For diagnoses like a stroke or an intracranial bleed, the risk does tend to decrease quite dramatically within six months … but for a few neurological and psychiatric diagnoses we don’t have the answer about when it’s going to stop.”
The likelihood that a proportion of patients who were given psychiatric or neurological diagnosis after Covid-19 had underlying illness that just hadn’t been diagnosed previously, could not be entirely ruled out – but the analysis indicated that this was not the case, he suggested.

Patients with influenza and other respiratory infections saw their doctor more often than patients with Covid-19, he said, adding that diagnoses such as an intracranial bleed or stroke could not be hidden for long and were usually diagnosed in emergency rooms.

Although the study does not prove that Covid-19 is directly behind these psychiatric and neurological conditions, research that suggests the virus can have an impact on the brain and the central nervous system is emerging.

Moderna begins work on booster to protect against South African variant

The analysis should also be also interpreted with caution, given it is possible that the first entry of a diagnosis into the electronic database might not represent the first occurrence of the condition. Such records are also typically lacking in other relevant information such as housing density, family size, employment and immigration status.

Dr Tim Nicholson, a psychiatrist and clinical lecturer at King’s College hospital who was not involved in the analysis, said the findings would help steer researchers in the direction of which neurological and psychiatric complications required further careful study.

“I think particularly this raises a few disorders up the list of interests, particularly dementia and psychosis … and pushes a few a bit further down the list of potential importance, including Guillain-Barré syndrome.”

kaninabuchaojibye

COVID-19 and the brain: What do we know so far?

www.medicalnewstoday.com

What do we currently know about the effects of SARS-CoV-2 on the brain? In this feature, we round up the emerging evidence.

Share on PinterestSutthaburawonk/Getty Images

How does SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, affect the human brain? Recent studies have given us clues, shedding light on why COVID-19 can be so severe for some people and why the symptoms can last a long time.

There is a long history of similar viruses affecting the brain, researchers have pointed out, so many expect the new coronavirus to have this effect.

For example, Dr. Gabriel A. de Erausquin, a professor of neurology at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, notes that “Since the flu pandemic of 1917 and 1918, many of the flu-like diseases have been associated with brain disorders.”

“Those respiratory viruses included H1N1 and SARS-CoV. The SARS-CoV-2 virus, which causes COVID-19, is also known to impact the brain and nervous system,” adds the researcher. The question is — how, and to what extent?

Effect on the brain explains loss of smell

Dr. de Erausquin recently published a paper along with colleagues, including senior author Dr. Sudha Seshadri, a professor of neurology at the same institution and director of the university’s Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Diseases.

“The basic idea of our study is that some of the respiratory viruses have affinity for nervous system cells,” Prof. Seshadri explains. She adds, “Olfactory cells are very susceptible to viral invasion and are particularly targeted by SARS-CoV-2, and that’s why one of the prominent symptoms of COVID-19 is loss of smell.”

Olfactory cells are concentrated in the nose. Through them, the virus reaches the olfactory bulb in the brain, which is located near the hippocampus, a brain area involved in short-term memory.

“The trail of the virus, when it invades the brain, leads almost straight to the hippocampus,” explains Dr. de Erausquin. “That is believed to be one of the sources of the cognitive impairment observed in COVID-19 patients. We suspect it may also be part of the reason why there will be an accelerated cognitive decline over time in susceptible individuals.”

The link with neurological disorders

In their paper, the scientists refer to existing evidence that makes them particularly wary of SARS-CoV-2’s impact on the brain. For example, researchers have found that:

“Intranasal administration of SARS‐CoV‐2 in mice results in rapid invasion of the brain.”“SARS‐CoV‐1 viral particles can be detected post mortem in the cerebrum […] in humans.”In post mortem brain tissue, angiotensin-converting enzyme 2 (ACE2) receptors are expressed in the vasculature of the brain’s frontal cortex. Through these receptors, SARS-CoV-2 enters healthy cells.In vitro studies have shown that viral spike proteins can damage the blood‐brain barrier.A headache, reduced taste, and loss of smell occur before the onset of respiratory symptoms in most COVID-19 patients.Delirium, a neuropsychiatric symptom of reduced cognition and memory, “can be the only presenting symptom of SARS‐CoV‐2 infection, even in younger patients. The incidence of delirium in severely ill COVID‐19 patients [in intensive care units (ICUs)] is reported to be as high as 84%,” note the authors.Finally, “Abnormal brain imaging has emerged as a major feature of COVID‐19 from all parts of the world,” the team writes.

By 2022, the authors plan to have learned more about how COVID-19 affects the brain. A consortium of researchers from over 30 countries — funded by the Alzheimer’s Association — will conduct concerted research into the neurological effects of the novel coronavirus.

Study participants will be recruited from a pool of millions of people with COVID-19, in addition to some already enrolled in international studies. The researchers will take key measures of brain health — using MRI scans and assessments of brain volume, cognition, and behavior — initially and at 6, 9, and 18 months of the study.

The aim is to understand how having COVID-19 increases the risk, severity, and progression of neurodegenerative conditions, such as Alzheimer’s, or psychiatric conditions, such as depression.

A call for lighter ICU sedation

Other research adds to the concerns expressed by Dr. de Erausquin, Dr. Seshadri, and their colleagues — specifically regarding the risk of delirium and coma.

A new study appearing in The Lancet Respiratory Medicine found a much higher rate of these outcomes among COVID-19 patients than what is usual among patients with acute respiratory failure.

The authors of this study looked at 2,088 COVID-19 patients admitted to 69 adult ICUs across 14 countries. They found that about 82% of the patients were in a coma for an average of 10 days, and 55% had delirium for an average of 3 days. On average, acute brain dysfunction, manifested as a coma or delirium, lasted for 12 days.

“This is double what is seen in non-COVID ICU patients,” explains co-first study author Brenda Pun, an advanced care nurse at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center’s Division of Allergy, Pulmonary, and Critical Care Medicine, in Nashville, TN. Pun is also the director of data quality at the Vanderbilt Critical Illness, Brain Dysfunction, and Survivorship Center.

The study was observational, so it could not draw conclusions about the causes of these rates of acute brain dysfunction. However, the authors speculate that strong sedatives and reduced family visitations may both play a role.

The research showed that patients who had received benzodiazepine sedative infusions — which act as a depressant for the nervous system — were 59% more likely to develop delirium. The study also found that patients who had received in-person or virtual family visitations were 30% less likely to develop delirium.

The authors caution that because of the pressures of the pandemic, many healthcare professionals have reverted to older practices, while newer protocols have clear provisions in place for avoiding acute brain dysfunction.

“It is clear in our findings that many ICUs reverted to sedation practices that are not in line with best practice guidelines,” says Pun, “and we’re left to speculate on the causes. Many of the hospitals in our sample reported shortages of ICU providers informed about best practices.”

“There were concerns about sedative shortages, and early reports of COVID-19 suggested that the lung dysfunction seen required unique management techniques including deep sedation. In the process, key preventive measures against acute brain dysfunction went somewhat by the boards.”

“These prolonged periods of acute brain dysfunction are largely avoidable. Our study sounds an alarm: As we enter the second and third waves of COVID-19, ICU teams need, above all, to return to lighter levels of sedation for these patients, frequent awakening and breathing trials, mobilization, and safe in-person or virtual visitation.”

– senior study author Dr. Pratik Pandharipande, a professor of anesthesiology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Infecting neurons ‘with devastating consequences’

Other researchers have focused on how the new coronavirus infects neurons and damages brain tissue.

For example, a team led by Akiko Iwasaki, the Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology and Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology at the Yale School of Medicine, in New Haven, CT, used lab-grown, miniature 3D organ reproductions to analyze how SARS-CoV-2 invades the brain.

The study, which appears in the Journal of Experimental Medicine, showed that the new coronavirus was able to infect neurons in these lab-grown organoids and replicate itself by boosting the metabolism of infected cells. Simultaneously, healthy, uninfected neurons in the vicinity died as their oxygen supply was cut off.

The researchers also determined that blocking the ACE2 receptors prevented the virus from infecting the human brain organoids.

The scientists also analyzed the effects of SARS-CoV-2 on the brains of mice genetically modified to produce human ACE2 receptors. Here, the virus altered the brain’s vasculature, or blood vessels. This could, in turn, cut off the brain’s oxygen supply.

Furthermore, the mice with an infection that had spread to the brain had much more severe illness than those with an infection limited to the lungs.

Lastly, Prof. Iwasaki and her team examined the postmortem brains of three patients who died from COVID-19. They found SARS-CoV-2 in the cortical neurons of one of the three. The infected areas were associated with ischemic infarcts, wherein a limited blood supply caused tissue damage and cell death. All three patients had microinfarcts in their brains.

“Our study clearly demonstrates that neurons can become a target of SARS-CoV-2 infection, with devastating consequences of localized ischemia in the brain and cell death. […] Our results suggest that neurologic symptoms associated with COVID-19 may be related to these consequences and may help guide rational approaches to the treatment of COVID-19 patients with neuronal disorders.”

– co-corresponding author Dr. Kaya Bilguvar, director of the Yale Center for Genome Analysis

‘Once it infects the brain, it can affect anything’

Another study supports the idea that COVID-19’s attack on the brain is what makes the disease very severe.

A team of researchers, including senior study author Mukesh Kumar, a virologist specializing in emerging infectious diseases and assistant professor at Georgia State University, in Atlanta, infected the nasal passages of mice with the new coronavirus. This caused severe illness in the rodents, even after the infection had cleared from their lungs.

The scientists then analyzed levels of the virus in several organs, comparing the intervention group of mice with a control group, which had received a dose of saline solution instead of the virus.

The results — published in the journal Viruses — revealed that viral levels in the lungs peaked around day 3 after the infection, but levels in the brain persisted on days 5 and 6, coinciding with the symptoms being most severe and debilitating.

The scientists also found that the brain contained 1,000 times higher levels of the virus than other parts of the body.

This may explain, the senior researcher says, why some people seem to recover after a few days and have improved lung function, only to then relapse and have more severe symptoms, some of which can prove lethal.

“Our thinking that [COVID-19 is] more of a respiratory disease is not necessarily true,” Kumar says. “Once it infects the brain, it can affect anything because the brain is controlling your lungs, the heart, everything. The brain is a very sensitive organ. It’s the central processor for everything.”

“The brain is one of the regions where viruses like to hide,” he continues, “because unlike the lungs, the brain is not as equipped, from an immunological perspective, to clear viruses.”

“That’s why we’re seeing severe disease and all these multiple symptoms like heart disease, stroke, and all these long-haulers with loss of smell, loss of taste,” explains the senior researcher. “All of this has to do with the brain, rather than with the lungs.”

Kumar cautions that the brain damage may mean that many people with COVID-19 continue to be at high risk of neurodegenerative diseases, such as Parkinson’s, multiple sclerosis, or general cognitive decline, after recovering.

“It’s scary. […] A lot of people think they got COVID, and they recovered, and now they’re out of the woods. Now I feel like that’s never going to be true. You may never be out of the woods.”

kaninabuchaojibye

so think again it you want to be a hero and want to happily go get covid and obtain natural immunity hor...
better kwai kwai go take your vaccine
vaccine may not be 100%, but at least some protection is better than none
haaaa

KNN all my uncle can say is

IF ( TRUE )
do
fuck $big mouthed conspiracy theory in sbf
ELSE
fuck $medical leesearch
Done

KNN no elseif KNN

Nothing but scare mongering. Influenza infects the brain too but we don't lockdown because of flu so why do so for Covid?

sciencedaily.com

Flu may impact brain health

1-2 minutes

Female mice infected with two different strains of the flu exhibit changes to the structure and function of the hippocampus that persist for one month after infection, according to new research published in JNeurosci.
Although influenza is considered to be a respiratory disease, it has been associated with neurological symptoms in some cases. However, the long-term effects of flu on the brain have not been studied.
Martin Korte and colleagues investigated three different flu strains (H1N1, H3N2, H7N7) in mice. Two of these strains, H3N2 and H7N7, caused memory impairments that were associated with structural changes to neurons in the hippocampus. The infections also activated the brain's immune cells in this region for an extended period and altered the expression of genes implicated in disorders including depression, autism and schizophrenia. These findings suggest that some strains of the flu may pose a threat to healthy brain function.

Story Source:

Materials provided by Society for Neuroscience. Note: Content may be edited for style and length.

What Is Brain Flu? Influenza Virus Exposed!

10-12 minutes

Today I'm going to answer the question: what is brain flu? I'm also going to give you a detailed overview of the influenza virus. I'll talk about the flu shot. Should you get it, should you not? And I'll also touch on viral meningitis.
On the reality show Ready to Love, one of the handsome, charismatic, eligible bachelors was recently diagnosed with brain flu, according to his mother. On another reality show, Married to Medicine, one of the young, energetic physicians shared that he was diagnosed with viral meningitis.
Ever since these episodes have aired, I have been getting questions from patients, family members, and nosy friends who love to binge watch reality TV, asking me, what exactly is the brain flu? And asking, can a perfectly healthy person really get viral meningitis?
What Is Influenza On The Brain?
If you've been watching the show Ready to Love as I have, then you have no doubt been pulled into the charming, humorous, genuine personality of one of the bachelors, Alexx. If you watch the show, you will see that Alexx looks like the picture of health. His mother recently announced, however, that Alexx was diagnosed with brain flu after being infected with the influenza B virus.
Brain flu is a very rare neurological complication of the influenza virus. It can lead to an altered mental status and other neurological symptoms.
What Is Influenza?
Influenza is a highly contagious virus, and it's most commonly spread during the winter months. So, in the United States, that's between November and April. It can be spread by respiratory droplets. So if someone who is infected with influenza coughs or sneezes and their droplets get on you, then you can be infected if you breathe them in, or if their infected droplets get on a hard surface or any other surface, then you can also get influenza that way.
What Are The Symptoms Of Influenza?
The symptoms include fever, headaches, chills, myalgias or muscle aches. In short, people who are infected with the influenza virus often describe it as feeling like they've been run over by a Mack truck. You just have severe body aches and it can be quite debilitating.
Influenza Virus Complications and Risks
Who is at risk for complications of the influenza virus? Well, children who are very young, less than six months, are at high risk. Also, patients who are older than the age of 65. Pregnant women are at high risk for complications from the influenza virus, as well as people with chronic medical conditions such as diabetes, kidney failure, and asthma.
Immunocompromised patients or patients on chemotherapy, for example, are also at higher risk for complications of the influenza virus. That being said, healthy patients can also develop complications from the influenza virus.
What Are The Complications Of The Flu Virus?
Pneumonia, or infection of the airways, is a complication. Also, myositis, or inflammation and pain of the muscles, can be a complication. Rhabdomyolysis is another complication of the flu, and this is when muscle cells are actually broken down, and you can actually develop kidney failure from rhabdomyolysis.
Other complications of influenza include heart problems such as pericarditis, which is an inflammation of the sac that is surrounding the heart. You can even find that heart attacks can be associated with the influenza virus.
Also, you can get central nervous system complications from the influenza virus, or brain flu. Some of the central nervous complications include Encephalopathy when you get an altered mental status or confusion, or encephalitis, where there's actually an infection or an inflammation of the brain.
Aseptic meningitis is another potential complication of the central nervous system associated with influenza, and this meningitis occurs when there is an infection or an inflammation of the lining of the brain and the spinal cord.
Even though the influenza virus can certainly cause meningitis, you can also get viral meningitis from viruses other than influenza, such as the enterovirus.
should you get a flu shot

What Is Viral Meningitis?
On the show Married to Medicine, the ER physician, Dr. Aydin, actually shared that he was diagnosed with viral meningitis. Now with viral meningitis, you can get that by just being around someone who passes you a virus, whether they sneeze on you or cough on you, or if they're just in close proximity. If you develop viral meningitis, the symptoms usually consist of fever, a severe headache, as well as a stiff neck.
Viral Meningitis Diagnosis
Now with viral meningitis, in order for it to be diagnosed, you need to have a lumbar puncture or spinal tap, and that's to make sure that there's no actual bacteria involved. If indeed your meningitis is caused by a virus, then the treatment is simply symptomatic. You treat the symptoms, you make sure there's no fever, and the patient stays hydrated. Antibiotics do not actually help with viral meningitis. Antibiotics only help if there's a bacteria involved.
Fortunately with Dr. Aydin, as we see in the episodes of Married to Medicine, he actually recovers from his viral meningitis, and we see that he's even able to host the party along with his wife, Mariah, Doctors on the Dock. So, that's beautiful and certainly, we pray for him and wish him the best.
How Can Influenza Be Prevented?
Well, the most effective way to prevent the influenza virus is through the influenza vaccination, or through the flu shot.
Types Influenza Viruses
There's influenza type A, type B, and type C. There's also bird flu and swine flu. So in addition to being vaccinated in order to prevent the flu, you also need to practice safe infection control measures such as washing your hands and covering your mouth when you sneeze.
The flu vaccination can actually decrease your chances of getting influenza by 60 to 70%, and even by up to 80% according to some studies.
By decreasing your chances of getting the influenza virus, you have now decreased your risk of getting these complications of the flu, and even death from the flu.
It's interesting, we now live in a world where because we have had so many vaccinations and we've decreased the influenza virus, we sometimes forget that the flu actually does kill people, and it does cause major complications.

ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Notes: Subclinical Brain Injury Caused by H5N1 Influenza Virus Infection
Zitzow LA, Rowe T, Morken T, Shieh WJ, Zaki S, Katz JM

17-22 minutes

Abstract
Although H5N1 influenza A viruses can cause systemic infection, their neurotropism and long-term effects on the central nervous system (CNS) are not fully understood. We assessed H5N1viral invasion of the CNS and its long-term effects in a ferret model. An H5N1 virus caused nonsuppurative encephalitis, which lasted for 3 months without neurologic signs. Further, another H5N1 virus caused nonsuppurative vasculitis with brain hemorrhage. Three-dimensional analysis of viral distribution in the brain identified the olfactory system as a major route for brain invasion. The efficient growth of virus in the upper respiratory tract may thus facilitate viral brain invasion.
TEXT
Human influenza viruses usually infect the upper respiratory system, causing sneezing, runny nose, and coughing, as well as fever, malaise, and arthralgia (22). In addition, neurologic complications have also been reported when a new subtype of influenza virus is introduced into the human population, as exemplified by the Spanish (1918) and Asian (1957) pandemics (24, 6, 10, 18, 22).
In 1997, H5N1 influenza virus, which originated in poultry, caused an outbreak in humans. Since then, more than 500 people have been infected with H5N1 viruses worldwide, with a mortality rate of approximately 60% (21). Human H5N1 virus infection generally manifests as severe pneumonia, which progresses to acute respiratory distress syndrome; however, some H5N1 virus victims have experienced neurologic involvement (1). H5N1 viral RNA and antigens have been detected in the brains of patients, and the virus itself has been isolated from cerebrospinal fluid (5, 7) These data suggest that some H5N1 viruses could cause encephalitis in humans, as occurred in the early phases of the Spanish and Asian pandemics.
Ferrets represent a useful mammalian model of influenza infection because they are highly susceptible to infection with influenza viruses and develop some of the symptoms of influenza that are seen in humans (8, 12, 14, 16, 19). The neuroinvasiveness of an H5N1 influenza virus following intranasal exposure has also been reported in a ferret model (23). Therefore, to study the long-term neurologic effects of H5N1 virus infection, we infected ferrets with H5N1 viruses that cause mild symptoms in these animals and observed the effects on the central nervous system (CNS) for 9 months. We also sought to elucidate the route by which these H5N1 viruses invaded the CNS.
Six-month-old ferrets were inoculated intranasally with 106 PFU of A/Hong Kong/483/1997 (H5N1; HK483) or A/Hong Kong/486/1997 (H5N1; HK486) virus. These viruses were propagated in Madin-Darby canine kidney (MDCK) cells in minimal essential medium supplemented with 0.3% bovine serum albumin. On days 3, 6, and 12 and months 1, 3, 6, and 9 postinfection (p.i.), we sampled tissue specimens for virus isolation and pathological examination. The ferrets were lethargic and exhibited signs and symptoms of respiratory infection during the first 10 days p.i. but lacked appreciable neurologic signs, which is in contrast to results reported previously (23). Tissue samples from nasal turbinates, lungs, trachea, brain, liver, spleen, kidneys, heart, pancreas, and spinal cord were harvested and homogenized to a 10% suspension with phosphate-buffered saline. The virus titer in each tissue was determined by using plaque assays. The viruses replicated mainly in the nasal turbinates, with virus titers reaching 105 to 106 PFU/gram of tissue by 3 to 6 days p.i. (Table 1). Brain tissues collected from HK483- or HK486-infected ferrets were preserved in 10% neutral buffered formalin and processed for paraffin embedding. The paraffin-embedded tissues were cut into 5-mm-thick slices and stained with hematoxylin and eosin (H&E). Additional sections were cut for immunohistological staining with rabbit polyclonal antibodies against an H5 influenza virus. Histologic examination revealed neuronal invasion or damage, including inflammation of the choroid plexus (Table 2). Ferrets infected with the HK486 virus showed evidence of nonsuppurative inflammation (Fig. 1a) and viral antigen expression (Fig. 1b) that persisted for 12 days; viral antigens were not detected at 1 month p.i. The nonsuppurative encephalitis lasted for 3 months (Fig. 1c), with residual glial scarring apparent at 6 and 9 months p.i. in the areas where viral antigens were detected in the earlier phase (Fig. 1d). Further, ferrets infected with HK486 showed macroscopic injury of the olfactory system at day 12 p.i. (Fig. 1e and f). These findings suggest that while highly pathogenic H5N1 viruses affect mainly the host's airways (1), they may also produce neurologic complications. In contrast to the HK486 virus, which invaded the brain parenchyma of ferrets and produced severe parenchymal damage, the second H5N1 strain, HK483, caused severe nonsuppurative vasculitis without apparent parenchymal damage to the brains of ferrets at 6 days p.i. Although viral antigen could not be detected within the vasculature, vascular injury was evident, as characterized by endothelial swelling (Fig. 2a, arrowheads), scattered apoptotic cells (Fig. 2b, arrowheads), and intramural infiltration of macrophages (Fig. 2a, arrows) and polymorphonuclear leukocytes (Fig. 2b, arrow). Vascular lesions were found at the thalamus, at the junction between the gray and white matter, and at the brainstem. Brain specimens examined at 1 and 6 months p.i. displayed hemorrhagic lesions indicative of chronic and repeated perivascular hemorrhage (Fig. 2c) in the thalamus, cerebellum, and subarachnoid space of the fore brain (Fig. 2d). These observations are consistent with reports of influenza virus-induced hemorrhagic brain complications during annual epidemics (11). Brain vasculitis secondary to viral infection is relatively common (17) and is likely the cause of vascular wall fragility, leading to brain hemorrhage. It seems reasonable, therefore, to conclude that H5N1 virus infection in humans may cause brain hemorrhage similar to that seen upon infection with other neurotropic viruses.

empowher.com

Influenza Can Cause Brain Damage
Catherine Taylor

4-5 minutes

Viruses including influenza A, herpes simplex, herpesvirus 6, and rabies can invade the brain through the nose, according to a report in the September 10, 2011, issue of Science News. Laura Sanders explained that specialized cells help connect nerves in the nasal cavity to the olfactory bulb of the brain. These cells may provide an entry pathway for viruses.
Influenza complications involving the brain can be serious or even fatal. Dr. Alexandra Martin and Dr. Erin Parrish Reade of the University of Tennessee College of Medicine-Chattanooga provided a case report of a 7-year-old girl who died of acute necrotizing encephalopathy associated with H1N1 influenza.
The family refused autopsy, so Martin and Reade noted that it was unknown whether the influenza virus was present in the brain in this patient, or whether the damage was caused by secondary factors. The family reported that the child had not ingested anything toxic, and the only medicine given to her at home was ibuprofen.
“It appears that CNS [central nervous system] sequelae of influenza occur with disproportionate frequency in patients of Asian descent, despite the fact that influenza itself is a very common winter febrile illness in all developed countries,” Martin and Reade wrote.
Their patient was of Chinese descent. As background information, they reported that 18 percent of acute necrotizing encephalopathy cases in Japan are associated with influenza A infection. This illness is not always fatal, but survivors have significant neurological symptoms.
“Although influenza is a relatively benign illness in the majority of healthy children, physicians who care for children in the United States should be aware of ANE [acute necrotizing encephalopathy] and should maintain a high degree of clinical suspicion in any child presenting with acute mental status changes in the setting of influenza infection,” Martin and Reade concluded.
While most patients with neurological complications of the flu are children, adults can also be affected. Dr. Jennifer E. Fugate and colleagues at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, provided a case report of a 40-year-old man with H1N1 influenza who developed acute hemorrhagic leukoencephalitis.
This patient survived but remained comatose. “Clinicians should be aware of these potential complications so that appropriate imaging and treatment can be considered,” Fugate concluded.
References:
1. Laura Sanders, “Herpesvirus gets to brain via nose”, Science News, print version September 10, 2011; Vol. 180, No. 6, p. 16. Online version, “Common Virus May Ride Up Nose to Brain”. Web. September 13, 2011.
http://www.sciencenews.org/view/generic/id/333083/title/Common_virus_may_ride_up_nose_to_brain
2. Martin A et al, “Acute necrotizing encephalopathy progressing to brain death in a pediatric patient with novel influenza A (H1N1) infection”, Clinical Infectious Diseases 2010; 50: e50.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20218891
3. Fugate JE et al, “Acute hemorrhagic leukoencephalitis and hypoxic brain injury associated with H1N1 influenza”, Archives of Neurology 2010; 67(6): 756.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20558397
Linda Fugate is a scientist and writer in Austin, Texas. She has a Ph.D. in Physics and an M.S. in Macromolecular Science and Engineering. Her background includes academic and industrial research in materials science. She currently writes song lyrics and health articles.
Reviewed September 22, 2011
by Michele Blacksberg RN
Edited by Jody Smith

Vaccines can cause brain damage too...

cdc.gov

Narcolepsy Following 2009 Pandemrix Influenza Vaccination in Europe | Vaccine Safety

5-6 minutes

An increased risk of narcolepsy was found following vaccination with Pandemrix, a monovalent 2009 H1N1 influenza vaccine that was used in several European countries during the H1N1 influenza pandemic. This risk was initially found in Finland, and then other European countries also detected an association.
Background
Narcolepsy is a central nervous system disorder characterized by excessive daytime sleepiness (EDS) and abnormal manifestations of rapid eye movement (REM) sleep. This disorder is caused by the brain’s inability to regulate sleep-wake cycles normally, but it can be treated with medication and behavior modification. About narcolepsy and other sleep disorders.
Pandemrix is manufactured by GlaxoSmithKline in Europe and was specifically produced for pandemic 2009 H1N1 influenza. It was not used before 2009, and has not been used since the influenza pandemic season (2009-2010). It contains an oil-in-water emulsion adjuvant called ASO3. Adjuvants are substances added to a vaccine to increase the body’s immune response to that vaccine. More about adjuvants.
Pandemrix was not licensed for use in the United States.

So each time one gets the flu, one becomes dumber. And if kena covid, one gets alzheimer's.

Well, let's look on the bright side, ignorance is bliss especially with the world going to shit. I don't mind being dumb and senile, as long as my dick works. Fuck care and yet fuck everything.

Why won't people believe that Covid-19 is a biological weapon manufactured in a Wuhan lab, and the Chinese military was heavily involved in its development? :cool:

Ehrj1b6UwAEObsA.jpg

Ep7V8PVW8AA8gNJ.jpg

pvtpublic

wah if Covid can trigger psychosis, it might explain the large number of Q-loonies roaming the internet.

mudhatter

“The brain is one of the regions where virus likes to hide,” Mukesh Kumar, the lead study author and a researcher at Georgia State University, said in a statement.

not sure what to make of it

author is ceca

ranting abt chink virus

a stealth deadly murderous bioweapon
and the greatest slanty invention in last few centuries perhaps

but coming from CECA virus, those reports are hardly credible

we need superior races that can affirm chink virus is as deadly as the CECA would have you believe