• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Boycott Botak Jones!

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Botak Jones want to retain FTs...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">9:10 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 11) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>8110.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Feb 27, 2009
SALARIES OF S-PASS HOLDERS
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Allow more flexibility

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->NAVIGATING these troubled times is hard enough for a small business. But trying to be an equal opportunity employer is harder, especially if a business hires Singaporeans, and work-permit and S-Pass holders.
We want to use innovative ways to avoid retrenching staff. So, we, the directors of the company, take a salary cut first.
But as conditions worsen, we appeal to our staff to follow suit, and accept a pay cut. This is where confusion strikes. We seek help from the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) by asking for permission to apply these cuts to S-Pass holders as well. MOM stipulates an S-Pass holder's minimum wage. MOM responds by reading us the current rules, which we already know, understand and follow.
The answer is no, we cannot cut S-Pass holders' pay below the minimum. The result: We end up with a bizarre situation where supervisors earn less than the S-Pass holders they supervise.
I can understand that MOM may want us to repatriate our S-Pass holders and fill the positions with Singaporeans. But Singaporeans do not want these jobs, which was why we resorted to S-Pass employees in the first place.
My appeal to MOM is not to punish Singaporean employees with a rule that does not work in such unusual times.
Bernie Utchenik

<!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start --><!---vbbTime (Thread ID: 17263) - Start : Fri, 27 Feb 2009 03:13:32:281---><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE id=story_comments cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR id=comments_body><TD colSpan=2><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Dun get boo bo by these FWs.Ifo of bosses & supervisors,they are wonderful,hardworking but after the bosses & supervisors are gone,true colors come out almost immediately.
Dun blieve? Just observe at any workplace esp,the Banglas at HDB estates.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: vrnoidiots at Fri Feb 27 21:18:46 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>"i didn't know food business is affected so badly that must cut pay."

Many business owners are doing that regardless if business is good or bad, because gahmen allows it. Anyway good excuse to cut pay.

If cannot cut S-pass holders' pay, can ask them to put in extra hours, how about 24 hours or 7 days without rest days? These people will work, they are hardworking, deligent and will take long, long hours. That is another way of cutting pay. Great time to hire foreigners.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Misnomer at Fri Feb 27 18:23:33 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>This is the botak Jones owner. (searched from linkedin)

i didn't know food business is affected so badly that must cut pay.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: lobo_respawned at Fri Feb 27 12:35:14 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>the writer is trying to ruin singapore reputation by saying MOM may want them to retrench s pass holders. MOM never say that , you are the one who should make the decision, if you want to why not. you well be stupid if you retrench a good worker.

only sotong keep sotong workers.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: michealpek at Fri Feb 27 12:01:16 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>unlike foreign workers who leaves his family and friends to work abroad review your terms and conditions for the local force as they have a life to live here as well.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: gemini58 at Fri Feb 27 10:47:40 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

allanlee

The quality of their food have gone way way down the drain....... must be the FTS they employ......... I used to love their food when they were still new and staffed by part-time local students...... made me realise our singkie youths have got culinary skills....... now all their branches serves food that taste like sh*t !!!

shelltox

Botak jones is an american but the white variety which singpaoreans welcome but not the yellow or dark skin type.

Apunehneh

Botak Jones food is Expensive, Unhealthy and wasteful (huge portion for typical Asian = wastage).

I am not surprise if it closed down by this year.

derekc

I have long ago boycott Botak Jones due to their cocky attitudes.

It great to see ppl started to this tread.
:wink:

Conan the Barbarian

Fuck them lah. KNN, even hawkers also dominated by non-locals.
They should open a restaurent to make an investment in Singapore.
They should NOT open a hawker stall to take from Singapore.
Foreigners must be made to invest, not take.

xebay11

Tell him to fxck back to US and pay minimum wages to the staff there, if you cannot make it by paying the minimum wage, your business deserves not to succeed. No ifs or buts.

If we don't set minimum wage for foreigners to come here, any tom dick or harry will swarm this tiny island by sea, air and road. MOM will be very very busy and more foreigners will be seen protesting for rights of employment. This is very dangerous for Singaporean living in this country. I hope whoever wrote that letter come to his senses.