• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Beware: Lucky Plaza cheats

MarrickG

pc_600x450.jpg

A man has come forward to say that a shop tried to charge him $290 for 3 extension plugs.

The incident happened in mid-August at a shop in Lucky Plaza, Orchard Road.

Twenty-year-old Mr Chen was a crew member for an event and had to help buy three extension plugs. These plugs are common household items and can be easily bought at supermarkets, hardware stores and even discount stores for a few dollars, or up to about $20.

Chen told reporters, "I walked into an electronics shop (in Lucky Plaza) to ask if they had extension plugs, and they replied that they don't. The shop assistant then offered to help me search and asked me to wait in the shop".

A while later, the shop assistant came back with three extension plugs and started to write a receipt without telling Chen the price of the items.

The man also told Chen that he could take part in a lucky draw and asked for his identity card and NETS payment card.

"I passed him both the cards and asked how much the plugs cost," Chen said.

He got a huge shock when the shop assistant told him the plugs cost $290. Chen felt it was too expensive and decided not to buy them.

But the man did not relent.

He told Chen that he had taken the plugs from another shop at a deposit of $45 each. He insisted that Chen must pay for the combined deposit amount of $135. The man also refused to return Chen's IC and NETS card.

Chen had no choice but to call his boss for help.

"My boss said his budget for the plugs is $40. When he found out my IC was confiscated, he called the police to help," Chen said.

While Chen waited for help, the store assistant continued to try to bargain with him and insisted that he pay up as the shop was closing.

"He eventually returned my IC but refused to return my ATM card. I didn't know what to do and in the end agreed to pay him $190," Chen said.

When Chen's boss arrived with the police, Chen had already paid the $190 for three extension plugs.

Chen's boss insisted that the shop should refund Chen and threatened to lodge a complaint with the Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE).

In response, the shop assistant dared Chen and his boss to lodge the complaint. The shop also did not issue Chen a receipt until the policemen requested on Chen's behalf.

Afterwhich, the shop assistant issued Chen a photocopy of the receipt but added the words "The customer agreed to pay the above amount".

This is not the first time that shops in Lucky Plaza blatantly tried to fleece customers.

In 2008, a woman was charged $2,600 for a Playstation Portable (PSP) gaming console at an electronics shop in Lucky Plaza. The normal price of the popular console is about $300.

Lucky Plaza's notorious reputation has given Singapore a bad reputation on international travel websites such as tripadvisor.com. On the well-known travel guide website, Lucky Plaza is called the "House of Cheaters", with many tourists complaining of being fleeced at its electronics shops.

Mr Chen 20 yrs old?
is he naive or wat? lucky plaza not meant for locals to buy.:D
summore why he paid the $190? siao lah, w8 for the mata kia to reach lah. lol

Either 20 year old Chen is a freaking Tiong or someone actually so stupid to accept a plug at that price.

This young fella is now the laughing stock of Singapore.

high rent, no customers, police dun care, so they do anything to survive.

this is what nanny-state has churn out for past 20-30years...daft sinkies!

“Lucky Plaza; should be called UNLUCKY Plaza.”
Reviewed July 14, 2011
3people found this review helpful
Singapore was the last place I could think of where I could ever be cheated. But I was VERY wrong. I went to this shop out of curiosity, they had the logo of SONY as the name of their shop,so i thought they were really genuine. I have still have their card with me, the name is LUCKY Centre(which I think should be called UnLucky Centre for tourists & buyers that is) it's located on the 2nd flr. immediately on the right side of the escalator going up if you entered from the side next to TANGS. Actually here's the store no. #02-88,at least that's what it says on the card. I just never want what happened to me to happen to anybody else. It's just very unfortunate that I never came upon this testimonials before I went to that Unlucky, crooks & thieves infested place.
I came in to this shop just to buy the leather case for my SONY NEX-5, but I ended up paying for this blasted hawkeye lens that you attach on top of the lens which I already have. I must have been very gullible because I believed all they've told me. But the reason why I ended up buying it was because they took my credit card as it was still out because I just paid for the leather casing, & just swiped it and charged SGD150 again for I don't know why, because I wasn't even buying anything I was just looking at the things they were showing me. I don't know if there is such a thing as hypnotism or i don't know what, because these crooks eventually charged me again SGD170 for the lens that they finally convinced me into buying. I ended up getting charged SGD320 for the lens which I will later on find out to be fake & 400% overpriced.
When I came into my senses the next day I was trying to return to them what they've sold me,for I went to other shops & found out that the very same item I bought was only SGD70 with a free memory card. But they told me that they have a NO RETURN NO EXCHANGE policy. Which is just unbelievable.
So, I left the shop & went to the information counter of (Un)Lucky plaza and there I found a mother & daughter who had just been cheated SGD800 for a phone they just bought, the same as the experiences & stories written here previously.
I just can't believe how can people do something like this to unknowing and innocent tourists. well, what goes around comes around, as these crooks are chinese, I'm sure they also believe in karma. It will inevitably fall upon them for sure.

So please, if you can, just stay as FAR AWAY as possible from this dirty, wretched place.

Visited July 2011

from them. Never buy in lucky plaza”
Reviewed August 13, 2011
Got conned yesterday. They told me the price for an iphone 4G is 780 SGD. I payed them 780 cash then he opened the box and told me that he will unlock and do OS updating. He told me it was all in the 'package.' After he finished up updating he gave also gave me cheap screen protector and bumpers. After that he told me to pay 278 SGD more for the service, software, protector and bumpers saying that these are all in the 'package.' ' I thought the package is included in the 780 SGD i payed for.?' turns out i have to pay for them separately. I coughed up a total of 1080 for the iphone 4 which is totally overpriced. You can have it at 888 SGD from singtel. It was a bad experience, i just want to warn everybody. 'DON'T BUY FROM eONE MOBILE, and I THINK ALL SHOPS in LUCKY PLAZA are CHEATERS. I'm thinking of getting back at them, any ideas?

Visited August 2011

“Ripped off by Cyber Jip P/L”
Reviewed August 25, 2011
1person found this review helpful
We were ripped off by this shop on the second floor of the Lucky Plaza. My teenager son went to purchase a phone from this shop. The proprietor opened the box to show him the phone, not telling him that they would not be able to sell it again if the security sticker had been broken, so my son said he would think about it and come back later if he wanted it. The proprietor then said he had to purchase it as he had now opened up the box. My son didn't have enough money and said he would have to get more. The proprietor said he couldn't leave without leaving a deposit of $100 and leave his passport so that he knew he would come back. He also asked for another $200 to unlock the phone, which is illegal to sell a locked phone in Singapore. My son said he didn't have his passport but left the $100 and came back to the hotel to get me. We returned to the shop and the proprietor refused to refund the money. I told him that he had acted illegally and unethically towards a young person and I would be following this up with the authorities. we then went down to a shop called U-First Departmental Store where they sold us the same phone for 100 dollars cheaper and the staff were extremely helpful and nice.
We are currently filing reports to the Singapore Tourist Board.

Visited July 2011

lianbeng says, "lucky plaza n sim lim square all same same - target foreigners mostly. so locals are wiser to skip them n hang around neighbourhood shopping malls.":D

Pity the bugger... Should have gone to the Courts store at Orchard instead of buying the extension plugs at Lucky Plaza... At least the price of household products being sold at Courts are quite reasonable... Only one problem.... Their iritating Pinoy staff...

they are manning all service counter booths....watsons, hotline, telemarketing, front line sales... squaring off against the mainland PRCs..couple of chio pinoys at counters @Republic plaza....definitely > SGD$150/1/1 category