• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best food around Singapore

Bika

Don't think got a thread on this right? anyway this is my top 10 list :-

Not in any order of merit hor...

1) Char Kway Teow - Margaret Dr Food Centre (downstairs one..hum many many)
2) Chicken Rice - Margaret Dr food centre (Upstairs)
3) Fried Chicken - Popeye's @ Changi Airport
4) Western Food - Henderson Food Centre (Sells superb sausages too)
5) Bak Chor Mee - Aljunied Road (near Lor 23)
6) Wanton Mee - Ubi main Rd
7) Fried Carrot Cake - Geylang Lor 27
8) Duck Rice - Whampoa Market
9) Rojak - Whampoa Market
10) Fish Head Steamboat - Balestier Road (Next to Caltex)

hope bros can contribute here too ah!! :biggrin:

hope bros can contribute here too ah!! :smile:
Hehehe, woo lang. :
Char kway tiao - Hong Lim Food Centre. Never tried the one at Margaret Drive, can you advise where it is?
Chicken rice - there are too many to mention, but the best could be Tian Tian at Maxwell Hawker Centre. I notice that there are so many chicken rice stall these days that have been recommended by tv programmes or magazines.
Rojak - at Clementi near the NTUC

david

Clementi Hawker Centre has 3 extremely popular stalls:

Hokkien Mee - at least 30 minutes wait, longer during dinner peak hours
Chicken Rice - at least 20 minutes wait during peak hours
Carrot cake - at least 15 minutes wait

Just go to the hawker centre and see where the lineups are, you know they are goood

jastsen

any bro or sis have any ideas where can still buy Hokkien Mee wrap up in lotus leaf rather than plastic boxes or carboard box.
it said that leaf still give the best food taste...thks

kuntakinte

Bro, can tell me the name of the store that sells Carrot cake ?

I have tried many carrot cake stores and I go for black ones, below are some of the good ones:

1. Bedok Hawker Centre, the store that is facing the car park.
2. Mei Chin Hawker Centre but the store moves to Telok Blangah (Phoenix Garden, Blk 11 Telok Blangah Crescent #01-571)
3. 69 Geylang Bahru Hawker Centre (The store that sells only carrot cake and fried kway tiao, there are 4 or 5 stores selling carrot cake !!) erratic opening days.....

Clementi Hawker Centre has 3 extremely popular stalls:

Hokkien Mee - at least 30 minutes wait, longer during dinner peak hours
Chicken Rice - at least 20 minutes wait during peak hours
Carrot cake - at least 15 minutes wait

Just go to the hawker centre and see where the lineups are, you know they are goood

eeoror88

any bro or sis have any ideas where can still buy Hokkien Mee wrap up in lotus leaf rather than plastic boxes or carboard box.
it said that leaf still give the best food taste...thks

You can go to the back lane of Desker Road. The lotus leaves there quite fresh.

Bika

hope bros can contribute here too ah!! :smile:
Hehehe, woo lang. :
Char kway tiao - Hong Lim Food Centre. Never tried the one at Margaret Drive, can you advise where it is?
Chicken rice - there are too many to mention, but the best could be Tian Tian at Maxwell Hawker Centre. I notice that there are so many chicken rice stall these days that have been recommended by tv programmes or magazines.
Rojak - at Clementi near the NTUC

Margaret Drive Food Centre. the one that is near the Queenstown remand and opp the poly clinic. downstairs one. Chicken Rice is upstairs. Won't miss one..go try go try!! :biggrin:

TeeKee

actually everywhere can find delicious food lah, not any specific places...

maybe someone can list out which stalls to avoid lousy food which may cause lau sai and food poisoning....lol..

toolanliao

Margaret Drive Food Centre. the one that is near the Queenstown remand and opp the poly clinic. downstairs one. Chicken Rice is upstairs. Won't miss one..go try go try!! :biggrin:

I like the fish soup bee hoon store downstair actually. the chap cooking I can recognize as an ex-hotel chef.

tried the char kway teow but don't really like. the guy cooking it dress like office worker (long sleeve shirt folded up) and then the fruit stall beside him, the lady wear high heels to serve customers in hawker centre. :biggrin:

the other fish bee hoon soup i like is the one at the ground floor of hong lim market. the one in front beside the bah kut teh store. the cantonese ah soh very kwai lan, start late at 5pm but no choice the food is my taste. :(

if you like pig liver mee suan, there is also one very famous one at bedok north hawker centre. all the stalls nearby have very food as well. especially the zi char stall.

maybe someone can list out which stalls to avoid lousy food which may cause lau sai and food poisoning....lol..

churches holy water will make you lau sai leh :biggrin:

eeoror88

I jusy baked a cake this morning. Come and try it !!:biggrin::biggrin:

AlexSmith

Singapore is surrounded by food stalls and food courts and every name you mention will be added in the great big list..so try everywhere and you will find great taste.