[TD="align: right"]
display_image.php
[/TD]

[TD="class: update"]
dotline_240.gif
[/TD]

[TD="class: update"][/TD]

</tbody>

SINGAPORE: Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang said Singapore needs to be prepared for a "somewhat longish period" of slow growth this year due to the expected slowdown of the global economy.

Mr Lim cautioned that Singapore "can't take things for granted" despite signs that the US economy is recovering. He said his ministry will continue to monitor the situation very carefully.

Mr Lim made these points on the sidelines of a community event on Monday morning, in response to questions on Singapore's 2011 economic growth of 4.8 per cent announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in his New Year message.

However, Mr Lim added that "if the euro crisis is mismanaged and there is a global financial crisis, then,
of course we will turn into a different tier and take different actions."

Mr Lim said: "We have made the forecast for 2012, we expect the economy to (grow one to three per cent in 2012.) This is on the basis that we don't have a global financial crisis... on the assumption that the US will grow at its potential rate.

"Right now, our expectation is that the global economy will slow down but there's no global financial crisis, which means that as PM Lee has said, we have to take this slow growth in our stride."[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

Learn another new word from MIW.:D

[h=1]long•ish[/h]

Pronunciation: (lông'ish, long'-), [key]
adj.
somewhat long.

Pay them millions of dollars of salary & they can only come out with one word each per term?

You didn't pay them. They take the million $ by themselves and you just suck thumb.

You can only say you pay them when you go for a real street protest and your govt dun dare to do anything funny. Then it means you pay them what they should get.

AS for what i know now, sinkies are ball-less cowards so you didn't pay them, they take whatever amount they like.

excellent...this coming out from a million-dollar minister is godsent wisdom, something that an O-level student would prolly have memorised in his heart but he can only write that during examinations and graded accordingly.

This President Scholar fm Harvard finally comes out to echo the PM.

Cannot control Euro, World Economy, Cannot see it coming 1 yr ago,
.......helpless and yet not shameful to announce this kind of news,
while raiding the Tax payer's $$.

So, 60% voters tot they are in good visionary hands. So is TT.

We expect solutions n preventive measures fm Ministers who dared
to pay themselves obscene.
This is MONEY WELL SQUANDERED>

It is very easy to say that if this happens, that happens, then that will happen. Any reasonably capable fresh graduate from Harvard or otherwise can do that. More importantly, we expect to hear from our leaders: what do you think will happen?

Which Cambridge alumnus is more useless? Him or Chan Chun Sing? I vote for the man who was responsible for the oversupply of HDB flats in the 90s and the mishandling of the SARS crisis. :)

It is very easy to say that if this happens, that happens, then that will happen. Any reasonably capable fresh graduate from Harvard or otherwise can do that. More importantly, we expect to hear from our leaders: what do you think will happen?

This is what these scums in white call win-win situation. When the economy is good, they take the credit. When the economy is down, it's because of the global crisis.

Sinkies are too dense to discern when credit is due and when it's not. :)

Empty vessels make the most noise. One uses the mouth, the other uses the brain to get things done. Which would you prefer?

MacDonald pay millions of dollars just for one letter of the alphabet "M".

This is what these scums in white call win-win situation. When the economy is good, they take the credit. When the economy is down, it's because of the global crisis.

Just like Christian. When you get something good, thank and praise the lord for he has given, who something screwed up He is testing you.