• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Balik Kampung

depeche

A typical Singapore citizen enters the working world in his late teens or early twenties. And, for males, if he chooses to further his studies after completing his National Service he would start earning his keep in his mid-20s.

He may decide to tie the knot in his late 20s or early 30s. He and spouse would probably have bought a roof over their heads – which would have been fully paid for way before retirement, have children and look forward to retirement when he reaches the age of 60 or thereabouts.

This was the Singapore story not too long ago. The situation is much different today. Those of you buying a flat today will be unable to pay off your housing loan even in 30 years. The cost of housing yourself and your family has become too expensive.

One reason for this is the influx of foreigners (which has also caused wages to be suppressed). The policy to allow them to purchase HDB apartments once they are made permanent residents, or PR, is flawed. And because the PAP has made it so easy for foreigners to become Prs, they have inadvertently pushed up the price of the flats.

In a knee jerk response to citizens’ wrath the HDB, through it’s minister, began announcing measures to increase the supply of flats, which in any case would take a few years to come on stream. A clear case of too little, too late.

The reality is that Singaporeans will have to keep paying for their flats throughout their entire working life with nothing much to look forward to on their retirement. That is, if they are lucky enough to afford a retirement.

Now compare the lot of citizens with that of the PRs.

In our walkabout and house-to-house visits we met with quite a number of Malaysians who have taken up permanent residency in Singapore. Most were living in four-room flats.

When asked why they remained PRs and not take up citizenship in Singapore, they revealed their master plan in a matter of fact manner.

“Why would we take up Singapore citizenship?” they said. “Singapore is too expensive a place for one to retire. Once we have made enough we would give up our PR status, sell our flats and balik kampung (go home).”

We couldn’t help but think that they were laughing at us.

If they had been here for 20 years or so, their flats would fetch them more than $300,000 if they sold them today and balik kampung. And they need not put aside the $125,000 minimum sum in their CPF accounts required of Singaporeans.

In other words, they would be laughing all the way to the bank.

At today’s rate they would have RM720,000 to take home. They may even have some cash in their CPF account to draw on too. In Malaysia, RM250,000 would get them a very comfortable freehold bungalow.

It would indeed be a blissful retirement. And because the kampung house is freehold their children and grandchildren can inherit the property. We can't do this in Singapore because we are only lessees and have to return our flats to the HDB after 99 years.

The balik kampung mentality is also prevalent among other recent migrants. In particular, the Indians who are PRs also don't want to take up citizenship despite offers from the authorities.

Majority of them use Singapore as a stepping-stone to emigrate to other countries like Australia, New Zealand, US, etc. Ultimately, they also think of retiring back home in India – and in style with a posh house and money to spare.

As a matter of fact there is nothing to stop those who have taken up citizenship to renounce it and also balik kampung. Either that or migrate to some other greener pastures.

Do you still think that you have a better life and owe the PAP a debt of gratitude? Singaporeans first, huh?

Char_Azn

I have 1 very simple question. How in the world are U even get a freaking home loan if the bank thinks U cannot afford to pay. If U can afford to pay that loan then your logic of "buying a flat today will be unable to pay off your housing loan even in 30 years" doesn't hold true. Either way the logic seems self-contradictory

Scenario 1: If the person bought a big house but no money for retirement, I think the logical think is to sell the house and move into a smaller one when he retires and use the profit from the sale of the house as retirement fund

Scenario 2: The person knows he cannot afford a big house so he has a smaller house and use the rest of his money in investments/savings/retirement plan. 30 yrs later house is paid for and he has money for retirement.

Scenario 3: The guy is call depeche and too stupid to realize the above 2 scenario exists

yuelao

I have 1 very simple question. How in the world are U even get a freaking home loan if the bank thinks U cannot afford to pay. If U can afford to pay that loan then your logic of "buying a flat today will be unable to pay off your housing loan even in 30 years" doesn't hold true. Either way the logic seems self-contradictory

Scenario 1: If the person bought a big house but no money for retirement, I think the logical think is to sell the house and move into a smaller one when he retires and use the profit from the sale of the house as retirement fund

Scenario 2: The person knows he cannot afford a big house so he has a smaller house and use the rest of his money in investments/savings/retirement plan. 30 yrs later house is paid for and he has money for retirement.

Scenario 3: The guy is call depeche and too stupid to realize the above 2 scenario exists

You really live up to your name Char lAtan.

You don't know HDB flats can be repossessed? Either by HDB or the banks?

When you retire and want to move to a smaller flat, you may have difficulties selling your flat if it is very old and in an inconvenient location. You think small flats are in abundance all over the island? These are hot properties as well due to more singles nowadays. HDB stopped building 3-bedroom and smaller flats some years ago and only recently started these again. Who knows if there will be sufficient supply in the future. By the time you retire, these flats may cost almost the same amount you sell your much older flat for.

For all scenarios: Char lAtan should get a brain transplant because his current one is obviously highly defective. :oIo:

Here is something most Singaporeans are not aware . Ever heard of the "PIPs" programme. This was a programme for foreigners especially Malaysians who graduated from the local UNIs and was stared in the late 1970s.

It allowed them to rent from HDB at rock bottom rental prices flats. While renting these flats, they purchased Condo and rented them out.

The govt was aware of it but felt that it was the only way to address the declining birth rate. The reasoning behind it was their investment in Singapore would tie them down to this country and eventually they would take up citizenship. The statistics did prove it right.

However it does paint a sad picture of Singaporeans who never had these opportunities. When some within the Govt felt that this was not right and raised it, the excuse given was that Singapore would already receiving discounts from HDB.

If they bothered to do a check, they will find that many Malaysians had acquired private properties at a faster rate than Singaporeans.

Capano2020

RM250k can't buy you shit in malaysia! A pathetic apartment is all you get at this price and in slum area! Typical terrace house similar to executive flats & 99 years lease going for nothing less than RM300k! Pay still remain at USD300 average per month! Welcome to neanderthal (Mats) land!

Char_Azn

You really live up to your name Char lAtan.

You don't know HDB flats can be repossessed? Either by HDB or the banks?

When you retire and want to move to a smaller flat, you may have difficulties selling your flat if it is very old and in an inconvenient location. You think small flats are in abundance all over the island? These are hot properties as well due to more singles nowadays. HDB stopped building 3-bedroom and smaller flats some years ago and only recently started these again. Who knows if there will be sufficient supply in the future. By the time you retire, these flats may cost almost the same amount you sell your much older flat for.

For all scenarios: Char lAtan should get a brain transplant because his current one is obviously highly defective. :oIo:

Hello FT lover. Didn't realize you're still around

1)Repossession is one thing but it doesn't change the fact that the bank will not give you a loan if you cannot prove that you can service the loan. And if you can prove that you can service the loan, then it means that U can afford to pay it off in 30 yrs

2)Your Flat's value generally will appreciate. It's something called inflation and market demand, which is why the apartments nowadays cost more then they do 10/20 yrs ago and assuming you get grants/government subsidy like most locals(I'm not sure U qualify with your FT Wife and all), most pple will make money from their flats. In fact what many home owner does these days is to buy a HDB flat, fulfill the 5 yr period sell it and move elsewhere

Char_Azn

Here is something most Singaporeans are not aware . Ever heard of the "PIPs" programme. This was a programme for foreigners especially Malaysians who graduated from the local UNIs and was stared in the late 1970s.

No and I can't seem to find anything on the PIPs program either. Do U have the full name of that program. I'm interested to find out more. As far as I remember our birth rate problem started only sometime in the late 90s - 2000 so I'm surprise the government actually had a plan in place so long ago to make up for this seeing as how much they have screwed up in that aspect in recent years

yuelao

Hello FT lover. Didn't realize you're still around

1)Repossession is one thing but it doesn't change the fact that the bank will not give you a loan if you cannot prove that you can service the loan. And if you can prove that you can service the loan, then it means that U can afford to pay it off in 30 yrs

2)Your Flat's value generally will appreciate. It's something called inflation and market demand, which is why the apartments nowadays cost more then they do 10/20 yrs ago and assuming you get grants/government subsidy like most locals(I'm not sure U qualify with your FT Wife and all), most pple will make money from their flats. In fact what many home owner does these days is to buy a HDB flat, fulfill the 5 yr period sell it and move elsewhere

God, you are dense alright. What do you use to prove to the bank? Most people use their payslips, company accounts, right? Do you mean your situation would always remain the same? You will never get retrenched? You will never go out of business?

Yes, there is inflation in flat prices but not all flats are created equal. Some will become a lot more desirable while others remain essentially stagnant. Don't forget that banks will not give loans for flats over a certain age.

Please fuck back to your stinking shit-hole country you crawled out from, you fucker. :oIo:

Char_Azn

God, you are dense alright. What do you use to prove to the bank? Most people use their payslips, company accounts, right? Do you mean your situation would always remain the same? You will never get retrenched? You will never go out of business?

Yes, there is inflation in flat prices but not all flats are created equal. Some will become a lot more desirable while others remain essentially stagnant. Don't forget that banks will not give loans for flats over a certain age.

Please fuck back to your stinking shit-hole country you crawled out from, you fucker. :oIo:

1)Yes it may not remain the same. Obviously smart pple would be borrowing at an amount which they are comfortable with and have factor in the fact that they may lose their job at 1 point or another in their lifetime. If those idiots do not even take this into account and over borrow, seriously they have only themselves to blame. Nothing to do with the bank, the economy, the country, HDB, etc. Put simply, their own downfall is their own greed

2)Yeah not all flats are created equal but pls point out to me any HDB flats bought directly from HDB that were bought 10-20 years ago and if they sell today they lose money. I can name any, maybe U can enlighten me

All the foreigners that i know has this game plan of Balik Kampung, be it they come from Malaysian, Pinoy, or india etc....those that aspire to go further are like what TS mentioned using here as stepping stone to US, Britain, NZ, Australia etc....mostly these are professionals from PRC

There's nothing stopping sinkies from playing the same game and retiring in countries where overheads are lower and exchange rates are favourable.

Rather than do nothing except but complain, sinkies should take full advantage of the strong dollar to feather their own retirement nests outside of the little red dot. After all, Singapore isn't a prison. Anyone can leave anytime they want.

Another option is to venture forth to forge a career in countries such as Switzerland and a host of other EU countries which offer generous superannuation schemes and return to Singapore in their old age to retire in comfort.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Not really, Capano2020. SG folks cannot buy below 250k but for those who still are citizens in Malaysia, they can do so. The 250k can still get a small terrace in some areas like Larkin where for the locals, its definitely doable.
A lot of property there are still freehold though, not every place is 99 years leasehold.

... SG folks cannot buy below 250k but for those who still are citizens in Malaysia, they can do so. The 250k can still get a small terrace in some areas like Larkin where for the locals, its definitely doable.
A lot of property there are still freehold though, not every place is 99 years leasehold.
250k ringgit can oso get a small double-storeyed terraced haus in kl/pj oredi ...

in smaller towns n kampungs, hauses r even chipper ...

Char_Azn

250k ringgit can oso get a small double-storeyed terraced haus in kl/pj oredi ...

in smaller towns n kampungs, hauses r even chipper ...

RM$1 million can get condo in Bangsar, KL. RM$1 million cant even get 5-rm HDB at Redhill

If you compare like this SG$2 million can't even get you a Condo in Shanghai city. Then China even worst because property in Shanghai is more expensive than sg some more is only 70 year lease.