• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Balakrishnan: Current infrastructure far from satisfactory. Look who's talking!

SINGAPORE: Environment and Water Resources Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said all ministries are now (only now!!?) focused on planning ahead.

It's a strategy the government has said it will stick to, with the launch of a White Paper projecting a 30 per cent growth in population by 2030.

Can Singapore support a 6.9 million population by 2030?

That's a key concern raised by Singaporeans since the White Paper on Population was released.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a community event on Saturday, Dr Balakrishnan said the reaction is understandable.

He added all the questions raised by Singaporeans are valid and the government has to reassure people that the plan is a long-term one and for the good of all Singaporeans.

Dr Balakrishnan stressed that the discussions over the next few weeks, months or even years, will be essential.

He said: "The problem is that in the short term, if you look at congestion, look at house prices, look at infrastructure, this is far from satisfactory. As long as we have problems dealing in the short term, people will have difficulty accepting long term plans.

"But the point is that although we're slowing down, in the medium term, in the next 10-15 years, there will still inevitably be some growth in the population.

"The key reason for that is that our population that's aged over 65 is going to travel over the next 17 years from about 300,000; we're going to end up with over 900,000 people who like me will be over 65 in 2030 and this enlarged population of seniors will need a top-up of both younger Singaporeans as well as selected foreign talent and labour, who will work with us, serve us, pay taxes, create opportunities for us."

Hence, Dr Balakrishnan said, the government has to commit to Singaporeans to improve their quality of life in the short term.

In the medium term, it has to assure Singaporeans that the country can accommodate a larger population if need be.

And in the long term, it has to ensure that Singapore will continue to be a vibrant country with opportunities.

So whether it's housing or transport, the key is to build ahead, said Dr Balakrishnan.

As for his ministry, he said Singaporeans can be reassured that there will be enough water resources in the future.

He pointed to technology such as reverse osmosis and the ability to enhance water recycling.

"So, water is not a limiting factor. But it does mean we have to plan ahead of demand and we have to be prepared to implement projects," said Dr Balakrishnan.

He added: "In a way, we're buying insurance for the future. So whatever happens, whatever the needs for the country, in the next 20, 30, 50 years, we will have enough infrastructure and then, it will really be a matter of seeing how the future unfolds.

"So, for instance, with greater, higher productivity, with greater automation, perhaps we may not need so much staff or such a large labour force in the future. This is a possibility. But the point is whatever happens, to be prepared."

That also means being flexible.

Dr Balakrishnan stressed that the government's plans are not "written in tablets of stone".

But its key guiding points will be to ensure Singapore remains a vibrant, exciting place of opportunities, and to enhance the quality of life of every citizen.

Talking from the ass. How would they know if they have not been using the public infrastructure on a daily basis. Really talk cock. He should try taking the train!

or it could mean the coffers are near empty now... so taxes and GST raise is warranted.... so sinkie think decided resources not enough to support 6.9million...then PAP needs mandate to built for one (6.9million)!

You think the lee family is preparing to run road?

Vivian B is a debater...He is only good at talking only...Completely Zero when it comes to Working!

We should never trust a half breed supposedly male with a female name who has gone over to the dark side in what it says...its nothing but bullshit..

Straitstimes website singapolitics says Sinkie density is only 50% of HK.

So what that means is 6.9 is too low, may be 13.8m should be fine...don't worry...

Looks like there are many parrots saying the same thing now. Wonder if there is a party line that all these guys are suppose to parrot.

They already have a press conference to make this announcement. These rest should be drawing up concrete plans and to show the public what they are going to do in their ministry to achieve this goal so that we can have a better standard of living. They have to earn our confidence that their plans are achievable. I am very concern with the money they will spend on this and worry it may drag Singapore into massive debt. More MRT lines, more HDB, more, more, more...what if we spend all these money but we are still the same ??? More people doesn't mean that we are going to be more productive. I hope I still can take my CPF money when I retire.

Admitting they have slipped up today and not showing they can fix today's problems really give serious doubts to their ability to achieve a much bigger future goal.

"Dr Balakrishnan stressed that the government's plans are not "written in tablets of stone". I hope this was not something brought up during a happy hour sessions ? Don't know what happen that nite lei, after the 10th rounds of tequila shots, someone decide we should have 6.9 million people so that we can justify a bigger pay cheque. The gov't duty is to conduct careful study of the country situation and events to develop sound policy to communicate with people.

This is not play play, it's our country. If the gov't have done extensive study and come to this conclusion. They should stick to their conclusion and prove to Singaporean this is the way to go. They should go about showing people how this can be done and how it will benefit all Singaporean. This is good leadership. This is what the 1st generation of leaders under LKY have done during their time. They don't talk cock and back-tracked. They say what they mean and they will do what they say. There was a lot of creditability in that Gov't in those days.

Probably by 2030, most of these guys are already gone and don't have to answer for it.

Straitstimes website singapolitics says Sinkie density is only 50% of HK.

So what that means is 6.9 is too low, may be 13.8m should be fine...don't worry...

We will have underground living very soon. Next time every hdb flat will be 50 floors high and 30 floors deep.

Please, 'bartop dancing' Vivian! You can't even properly maintain a water pipe in Keppel Road, and you want to build more infrastructure to accommodate the extra people? You're making my toes laugh.

If you don't have big feet, don't buy big shoes, thinking you'll grow into them. It'll be uncomfortable, and you may trip and fall.

Vivian B is a debater...He is only good at talking only...Completely Zero when it comes to Working!

A normal ah-neh is dangerous enough.

A chup-cheng ah-neh with a girlie name in parleement is 100x dangerous !

When people plan, it naturally means to plan for the future. Who plans for the past?

What kind of champion debater is this? Wasting time saying redundant stuff.

Let me give you guys some things to think about. Our MRT routes are single track per way.
SMRT likes to give incomplete bennchmark matrices. Below are the average weekday passenger ridership per kilometre of tracks.

13,045 passengers/weekday km (2001)
50,866 passenger/weekday km (2012)

That is a 389.9% increase in load on the entire track. Running a train on a track is banging, scratching and bending the tracks. You increase this by 389.9%. Not to mention the intensity is different for densely visited parts of Singapore. You tell me.

I agree blackmondy

this one is a urine and shit mixture, not solid and not liquid, just runny and disgusting.

I thot he president scholar and top doc, but how come become pappy and it all goes tits up?

A normal ah-neh is dangerous enough.

A chup-cheng ah-neh with a girlie name in parleement is 100x dangerous !