• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

At long last. A prominent malay scientist.

KuanTi01

M'sian scientist wins Dr Josef Steiner prize for cancer research

image: https://apicms.thestar.com.my/uploads/images/2019/10/17/333957.jpg
333957.jpg

PETALING JAYA: Malaysian scientist, Prof Dr Serena Nik-Zainal, has been awarded the Dr Josef Steiner Cancer Research Prize 2019 for her work on cancer genome interpretation.
The research, carried out in collaboration with Dr Paul Calleja and Dr Ignacio Medina, led to successful application that enabled the acceleration of holistic cancer genome interpretation towards clinical practice.

The Dr Josef Steiner Cancer Research Prize 2019, originally also known as the “Nobel Prize for Cancer Research”, goes to Dr Serena, who is the principal investigator in the research.
Dr Serena, who is currently based in the United Kingdom, is part of University of Cambridge's Medical Genetics Department and Medical Research Council Cancer Unit.

According to the university, her research work allows for mutations in cancer tumours to be analysed using new bio-informatic methods, which in turn enabled new approaches to targeted therapies.
The prize will be awarded on Friday (Oct 18) at the university in a ceremony, during which Dr Serena will present her work under the title “Accelerating holistic cancer genome interpretation towards the clinic”.
According to Dr Serena, the rate-limiting step in cancer genomics today was not the ability to perform sequencing, but the expertise in performing downstream analysis and making a clinically useful interpretation.
This remained the hurdle between genomic technology and the clinical context.
"Our research efforts began with showing that the totality of mutagenesis from large cohorts of whole genome sequenced tumours could reveal mutational signatures, imprints left by mutagenic DNA damage and repair processes that have occurred through cancer development.
"Subsequently, our team focused on experimentally validating these analytical concepts in cellular model systems," she said in a statement on the university's website.
"We examined mechanisms of mutagenesis related to DNA repair defects and of environmental mutagens.
"The powerful combination of computational analytics and experimental insights helped to drive the development of clinical computational tools to interpret whole cancer genomes more effectively," she added.
Dr Serena said the Josef Steiner Award would help the university enhance translation of its expertise and develop novel, clinically meaningful algorithmic tools.
"We seek to consolidate our current knowledge into infrastructure that is appropriate for the future. We are building a more automated foundation that can be referred back to at any point, and that will scale with more data coming.
"It needs to be more user-friendly for the next generation of clinicians and scientists to explore and be suitable for advanced data analytics," she said.
Dr Serena's achievement hsa caught some attention back home. Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail congratulated Serena for her achievement on her Facebook page.
"Serena is the daughter of the renown medical icon, the late Datuk Dr Nik Zainal Abidin Nik Abdul Rahman, who was at the forefront of Malaysia's first cardiology department," she said

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nat...prize-for-cancer-research#e1jbJuWuQRz6qqR6.99

I like! Chiobu!

you mean pinoys are the most successful m&ds?

Pinoys are more welcomed as foreign talent than moslems. They don't operate parallel societies, fester religious militancy, terrorism, promote stupidity by sending their kids to madrassahs. Sinkie moslems are different from nearly every moslem group in the world because the PAP actively regulates them to save them from their own religious stupidity.

A Singaporean

Pinoys are more welcomed as foreign talent than moslems. They don't operate parallel societies, fester religious militancy, terrorism, promote stupidity by sending their kids to madrassahs. Sinkie moslems are different from nearly every moslem group in the world because the PAP actively regulates them to save them from their own religious stupidity.
Fuck Pinoys. They are the worst.

mudhatter

Welcomed by whom exactly?

As maids nurses and whores?

Muslim world combined is a bigger economic power than either ASEAN, Ah Neh/Indians, Russians, Japanese, Africans or Latin Americans.

Only Tiongs (a single country with 1.4 billion people, did not suffer war, invasion, chaos in last 40 years) and yanks are bigger based on exchange rate, today.

Based on PPP, only Tiongs are bigger. Yanks are also smaller as an economic power based on PPP.

You won't find a single big power on the planet that does not maintain close diplomatic, economic, security, cultural or people to people ties with one or more countries in the Muslim world.

Pinoys don't even figure within piddly ASEAN.

Much like stinkies today.

An utterly insignificant and failed country today in a rather insignificant region of ASEAN.

PAP itself is on borrowed time.

It has to suck up to Ang Moh Dotard for security. :roflmao:

Even though, the same Dotard hates chinks and slit eyed pig trotter munching monkeys like you. :laugh:

mudhatter

Maybe from this angle more like malay

UK-based Malaysian scientist Prof Dr Serena Nik-Zainal (right) with her colleagues from the University of Cambridge, where she is now based. ― Picture via Twitter/SerenaNikZainal

This proves me right. Did that jiuhu kia @zhihau disappear into thin air now?

What were all his rants about in this thread?

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/why-cant-our-education-system-produce-such-talents.272444/page-4

More than 50% here in this picture consists of FT.

There is not a single instance in the world where a net immigrant recipient country does not have more FT among their researchers' list than the share of immigrants.

FYI only 14% of ppl in UK is FT.

Only 15% of popn in yankistan is FT

At least 50% of stinkie popn was born abroad.

This proves me right. Did that jiuhu kia @zhihau disappear into thin air now?

What were all his rants about in this thread?

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/why-cant-our-education-system-produce-such-talents.272444/page-4

More than 50% here in this picture consists of FT.

There is not a single instance in the world where a net immigrant recipient country does not have more FT among their researchers' list than the share of immigrants.

FYI only 14% of ppl in UK is FT.

Only 15% of popn in yankistan is FT

At least 50% of stinkie popn was born abroad.

You’re barking up the wrong tree, twit, Failip was the one who claimed he wanted 50% of our PhDs to be Sinkies.
Disappeared? Did I disappoint you?

Muslim world combined is a bigger economic power than either ASEAN, Ah Neh/Indians, Russians, Japanese, Africans or Latin Americans.

Moslems only have huge numbers and oil, hardly any economic power. In ASEAN, the country with disproportionate economic power is Singapore. Any economic power of jiuhu or indo are mostly owned by chinks, who have to fend off apartheid and islamic threats from the likes of swine from PAS and Aceh.

You won't find a single big power on the planet that does not maintain close diplomatic, economic, security, cultural or people to people ties with one or more countries in the Muslim world.

The moslem world mostly agreed with chinkland that the ugyhur swine should be kept in rehab until they renounce the ways of the arab colonialists and revert back to Buddhism.

mudhatter

You’re barking up the wrong tree, twit, Failip was the one who claimed he wanted 50% of our PhDs to be Sinkies.
Disappeared? Did I disappoint you?

70% of stinkie r&d personnel is stinky according to kee chiu.

either way your typical jiuhu whining and moaning coz you jiuhu chinks are utterly incompetent talentless ''sohai'' can't be excused

you are just a typical sore loser envious jiuhu chink

70% of stinkie r&d personnel is stinky according to kee chiu.

70% of the PhDs in A*Star are Sinkies? Whatever KeeChiu is having, I like to have some.
Don’t forget, BSc holders are good test tuber washers, this I quote from Failip. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

mudhatter

Moslems only have huge numbers and oil, hardly any economic power. In ASEAN, the country with disproportionate economic power is Singapore. Any economic power of jiuhu or indo are mostly owned by chinks, who have to fend off apartheid and islamic threats from the likes of swine from PAS and Aceh.

It's spelled "Muslims", you nitwit.

In ASEAN, stinkypore is a pissant. Just like in the world.

ASEAN itself is pretty irrelevant in the world.

Oil is good. It's vital for the entire world.

If Straits of Hormuz, Straits of Gibraltar, Bosporus, Straits of Malacca, Sunda Straits, Lombok straits, Suez canal are all blocked.

You know that the world economy will collapse. With immediate effect reverberating around the world.

Even if stinkypore is wiped out, nobody in the world will bat an eyelid.

It's literally a little red dot. Ah Loong's loyal peasants don't matter to the world, to the region or for history. They won't even be a footnote in history. :thumbsup:

Stinkies got purchasing power?

Or is it the Lee dynasty with Ah Loong and Whore Jinx in charge who got purchasing power? Thanks to the peasants' CPF?

By the way, both Malaysia, Hong Kong MPF EPF paid more dividends than peesai CPF.

Aussie Super (superannuation) also provides better return.

Stop living in delusions.

The moslem world mostly agreed with chinkland that the ugyhur swine should be kept in rehab until they renounce the ways of the arab colonialists and revert back to Buddhism.

Indonesia, the world's largest Muslim majority country, just sent delegations to investigate. As did other OIC members.

Indonesia never signed that letter approving Tiongs' mistreatment of Uighurs.

That letter was signed by leaders from a bunch of failed states and leaders that were unelected dictators, intent on securing their throne from the wrath of the masses.

:thumbsup:

But I must say, it is heartening to know, even after May 13 and May 1998 incidents, Indonesia and Malaysia continue to enjoy cordial diplomatic ties with Tiongkok.

Another Malindo Darsasa 3AB needs to be conducted, this time in Bintan and Riau area.

mudhatter

70% of the PhDs in A*Star are Sinkies? Whatever KeeChiu is having, I like to have some.
Don’t forget, BSc holders are good test tuber washers, this I quote from Failip. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

not a*star, but the country

not PhD but researchers

what's the obsession with PhD?

Why not DSc? or habilitation like in continental europe? or postdoctoral research?

Singapore will continue to build a strong local talent base in areas such as science and technology, where currently 70 per cent of research scientists and engineers are citizens or permanent residents.

154th media says the same

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...n-sing-outlines-singapores-strategy-on-talent