ASUS Laptop - Worth Buying ?.......Where Good Place To Buy At Good Price ?

I thought Acer is the one with overheating problem and Asus has this 'Ice Cool Technology' that is suppose to lower the temperature? I nearly bought an Asus the other day.

I'm using an Asus notebook to post. The "Ice Cool" gimmick is limited to the palm rest. But it's not really that cool. I bought the Asus based on the endorsement of Vamjok. The battery life is impressive. I don't have to bring my adapter to the office. The battery can last 6 continuous hours without any problem.

This is really good. Current Samsung only last me maximum 2 hours. Previous VAIO can last me 4 hours and it's 1 year older than my samsung. :(

strangest thing is online websites all say Asus most reliable with Toshiba 2nd..............Acer quite jialat..........

anyway, i won't play game..........using at home...........word processing only mostly...........nothing fanciful

strangest thing is online websites all say Asus most reliable with Toshiba 2nd..............Acer quite jialat..........

I have already told you. In Taiwan it's straight fight between Asus and Acer because both are local brands. Asus beats Acer hands down in terms of sales. Asus' casing is also more solid than Acer. But I must admit Acer's design is sleek.

anyway, i won't play game..........using at home...........word processing only mostly...........nothing fanciful

Then just get a i7 (more future proof so can use longer) which cost just slightly over $1k now. If can last you for 2 years good enough for the price liao. Lots of models out there so don't have to wait for PC show. Just don't buy those 'non tradtional' PC brands like Samsung or even Sony

i'm looking for a laptop for very simple purposes so no need for fancy stuff and was recommended ASUS and the price is not expensive.......
how is the reputation of ASUS laptops ??
i'm more concerned with reliability and durability.............
and where is a good place to buy ?
the dreaded Sim Lim Square again ? or Funan Centre or AudioHouse ???
or wait for I.T. Show and fight the crowd ?

1. First, you got to specify what you need it for: eg web browsing, watch movie, gaming etc....
2. What is your min and max budget
3. Is portability important for you? (do you bring it out often, or u only use it at home)
4. Good place to buy? If you are not comfortable dealing shops in Funan or SLS, then stick to Courts, Harvey Norman or Challenger. Best avoid Audiohouse and Gain City.
5. Shoud you wait for IT show? Answer: Can you wait, if can, then wait for Comex (Sep).
6. If you are window user, avoid mac at all cost. No need to argue with apple fanboy here, just take a look at the number of ppl wanting to sell their macbook pro in HWZ and VRForum, and you get the idea. Mac products got lots of hidden cost....

Tip: if u are adventurous enough, go buy in JB, some brands/models are so much cheaper that it is worth the hassle to cross the causeway...;)

I am looking for a new laptop for gaming, watching movie and internet purpose.

Looking at the Toshiba and MSI and Alienware laptops ....

Any recommendation ?

If you are really into gaming, then it is Alienware or Sager. Toshiba and MSI - just a waste of money!

IT show in early June. buy laptop there not bad. $100-$200 cheaper than usual plus some freebies.

1. First, you got to specify what you need it for: eg web browsing, watch movie, gaming etc....
2. What is your min and max budget
3. Is portability important for you? (do you bring it out often, or u only use it at home)
4. Good place to buy? If you are not comfortable dealing shops in Funan or SLS, then stick to Courts, Harvey Norman or Challenger. Best avoid Audiohouse and Gain City.
5. Shoud you wait for IT show? Answer: Can you wait, if can, then wait for Comex (Sep).
6. If you are window user, avoid mac at all cost. No need to argue with apple fanboy here, just take a look at the number of ppl wanting to sell their macbook pro in HWZ and VRForum, and you get the idea. Mac products got lots of hidden cost....

Tip: if u are adventurous enough, go buy in JB, some brands/models are so much cheaper that it is worth the hassle to cross the causeway...;)

Yes in JB about 10% cheaper on average for laptop. Maybe because no GST. The best thing is u still get warranty in SG because is worldwide warranty.

For certain brands and models, it is more than that.. ;)

In Apr, I brought one of my cousins to JB's PIKOM IT Fair to buy his Asus N55SL (i7 model). It cost MYR 3599 (approx S$1480). Sinkapore was selling for S$1898 at the IT Show in Mar ....that is a saving of over $400!!!!...At the fair, I also saw the new Dell ultrabook XPS 13 selling for only MYR2999, which is abt S$1234. Singapore is selling for $1499.

One of my nephew wanted to buy anAsus 12" notebook....in Singapore all the places he checked is selling for $649. Last weekend, I brought him to JB and he bought the same model with same specs for MYR1220 (after some hard bargaining), which is about $502....Save close to 150 bucks!!!!

As for customs, we had no problem even though we travel by causeway bus.....;)

Tips: Dont go to City Sq or KSL Mall....the real deals are further in at Danga City Mall and Skudai Parade IT Mall......;)

PC Show is two weeks away from 7 to 10 June.

Comex is the biggest and best for deals, second is SITEX in Nov. The rest I will just go to enjoy the aircon and sian the xiao meimei promoters....LOL

For certain brands and models, it is more than that.. ;)
Tips: in JB, dont go to City Sq or KSL Mall....go further in to Danga City Mall or Skudai Parade IT Mall......;)

Any issue with warranty? Can it be serviced in SG?