• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ass Loon QUOTES JAPANESE ARTICLE TO SAY YOUNG DON’T WANT TO PAY FOR A PENSION SYSTE

[h=1]PM LEE QUOTES JAPANESE ARTICLE TO SAY THE YOUNG DON’T WANT TO PAY FOR A PENSION SYSTEM[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
29 Dec 2014 - 6:49pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

When the Singapore prime minister said that he has the "thickest skin in town", he meant it. He took a Japanese article that chastised the elderly and used it instead to scare Singaporeans about their pension funds.

Mr Lee started by asking on his Facebook page: "What problems will we run into as our population ages?

"One likely one: friction between the young and the old," he said.

"Japan's young are unhappy they have to pay for pensions and medical care for the old, at the expense of their own financial security," he continued.

"Meanwhile, the old bristle that the young are uncaring and ungrateful."

One cannot help but wonder why Mr Lee would choose such a divisive article to taunt fear into Singaporeans.

In the article that he quoted, the young had said of the old: “Have they no shame?”

The article also talks of the elderly harassing those younger than them and called the elderly "graceless".

"Yet the article tells of the elderly hogging seats on trains and cutting in line at supermarkets," Mr Lee added on his posting.

"It is a cautionary tale for Singapore," Mr Lee then said.

What would get into the mind of a prime minister to share an article so divisive and to use it to share lessons with its citizens is beyond comprehension.

Indeed, while Mr Lee shares this article, his lack of sympathy for the elderly could not be more blunt.

As a commenter on his post said, "Some old (people) get rude,demanding and unreasonable due to aging diseases such as dementia,mental illness etc. they go undiagnosed or simply brushed aside as old age.

"I feel sorry for old folks who has to go (through) this disease as they are not even aware of their actions. Who knows some of us might even get it when we get older. Tolerance, understanding and patience have to be used when dealing with old folks."

One wonders why Mr Lee could not contemplate the article from a more compassionate angle instead of use it to scare Singaporeans about their pension needs.

Moreover, another commenter then said, "A progressive country like Singapore need to be vigilant (and) plan for its future. The senior citizens are part of nation building (and) need to be rewarded. They earn it and it's not charity.

"What goes around comes around," the commenter said.

Perhaps for a government which has been so hard up about filial piety, perhaps Mr Lee should take a leaf out from his own book.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The article also described an old man: "He’s 80 years old and holds not one job but two, one of the growing ranks of elderly who must work to live because their pensions are inadequate."

But Mr Lee failed to highlight that.

He also failed to highlight how "pension payments are decreasing" because the system design is outdated and has yet to be reformed for the current needs.

Mr Lee also failed to explain how the young's concerns about "pension entitlements" of the old is due to an youth unemployment problem.

However, Mr Lee would only say, "Japan's young are unhappy they have to pay for pensions and medical care for the old."

But this is an over-simplistic way of interpreting the situation in Japan and it is very careless and irresponsible of Mr Lee to paint the picture such a divisive picture.

If anything, the article would only further reinforce the fact that Singapore's Central Provident Fund (CPF) system would need to be reformed to prevent the similar issue that afflicts Japan.

"And the interest rate of cpf should be increased further,.for example," one commenter added.

And also, how about wages to be increased for the elderly, so that they do not have to hold two jobs, like the article had shown. And there are many elderly and low-income Singaporeans who have to take on several jobs because they cannot earn enough to survive on.

Indeed, another commenter said, "Policies went wrong in (Singapore which have led to costs increasing and) salaries not restored (and which have) been stagnant for 15-20 years."

"Why not start with paying higher salaries for the jobs they do and they don't need handouts?" another commenter asked.

But Mr Lee ignores all of these.

"We must take care of each other and not let this happen here," he said, oblivious to the fact that the social problems he seemed to be so concerned about are already happening in Singapore.

Moreover, for a head of state in Singapore to highlight Japan's problems and compare it with Singapore, this is not only insensitive but unwise as well.

Indeed, one is hard-pressed to understand why Mr Lee even shared or quoted from this article.

As another commenter asked, "Honestly he highlighted this but what is the point? I still don't get it."

But only Mr Lee will know.

And only his government will know why they continue to be in denial over the problems that are already happening in Singapore.

Indeed, a commenter also asked, "Could we be asking more questions than this to generate better strategies ? Is making a comparison to another culture, really helpful given the different cultural, historical and anxiety avoidance of that culture ?"

Re: Ass Loon QUOTES JAPANESE ARTICLE TO SAY YOUNG DON’T WANT TO PAY FOR A PENSION SYS

In Japan, you won't find old folks picking cardboard boxes or working at fast food restaurants.

Japan was culturally influenced by the Tang dynasty of China... it still retains a large part of Confucianism and a sense of duty to its seniors. Nothing like the pre-election Pioneer bullshit the PAP concocted at the last minute.

P.S: Fuck you Lee Hsien Loong.

Re: Ass Loon QUOTES JAPANESE ARTICLE TO SAY YOUNG DON’T WANT TO PAY FOR A PENSION SYS

6 comments

<select><option value="">6 comments</option><option selected="1" value="Social Ranking">Social Ranking</option><option value="Chronological">Chronological</option><option value="Reverse Chronological">Reverse Chronological</option></select>
<form class="composer clearfix mainCommentForm hidden_elem noTopBorder" id="u_0_3" action="/ajax/connect/feedback.php" method="post" target="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" rel="async"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><input name="url" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="uniqid" type="hidden" value="u_0_1" autocomplete="off"><input name="target" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="colorscheme" type="hidden" value="light" autocomplete="off"><input name="controller_id" type="hidden" value="feedback_1P3ViXlJGNdOygMbG" autocomplete="off"><input name="locale" type="hidden" value="en_US" autocomplete="off"><input name="command" type="hidden" value="comment" autocomplete="off"><input name="normalize_grammar" type="hidden" value="0" autocomplete="off"><input name="iframe_referer" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"> <textarea name="text" title="Add a comment..." class="DOMControl_placeholder uiTextareaNoResize uiTextareaAutogrow" aria-required="true" required="1" placeholder="Add a comment...">Add a comment...</textarea>
<input name="post_to_profile" class="postToProfileCheckbox" id="post_to_profile_54a185d1a283f8471553986" type="checkbox"><label class="desc" for="post_to_profile_54a185d1a283f8471553986">Also post on Facebook</label>

<label class="fbCommentButton hidden_elem uiButton uiButtonConfirm" for="u_0_4"><input id="u_0_4" type="submit" value="Comment"></label><label class="fbCommentAfterLoginButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm" for="u_0_5"><input id="u_0_5" type="submit" value="Comment"></label>

</form>
  • <form class="closeButtonAfterLogin" id="u_0_16" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiCloseButton" for="u_0_8"><input title="Report" id="u_0_8" aria-label="Report" type="submit" value="Submit Query"></label></form>Haziq Evan Rose · Top Commenter<i class="star img sp_comments sx_comments_star">Its called selective reporting. Either way, PAP is doing just that - getting the young to bail out the elderly.

Just look at what they came up with. 3-Gen housing, Extra housing grants to live near parents. It isn't subtle at all, is it?

Lets go one step further. CPF not enough for retirement.Interest rates too low? Tied too closely to the house? What did they come up with? Increase retirement age. Increase CPF minimum sum. We are not talking a hundred bucks here, its a spike increase amounting tens of thousands of dollars each time. These are the elderly fast approaching retirement. So make a quick guess who PM Lee expects to be forking out the money?

Oh and BTW, this has nothing to do with CPF. Japan is a whole other can of worms you cannot even begin to explain. Your smoking skills completely sucks compared to Emperor Lee. Try harder boy. Get back to us when Japan, which has one of the strictest immigration policies in the world, opens their legs as wide open as PAP does and dilutes the Japanese population with 50% foreigners. Which also brings us to another point - after all the tears and promises to reduce reliance on foreigners, what did you do? I quote "We need more foreigners".
    Reply · Like<form class="fbUpDownVoteAfterLogin" id="u_0_17" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiLinkButton fbUpDownVoteAfterLoginOption"><input class="uiLinkButtonInput" type="submit" value="Like"></label></form> · 5 · Edited · <a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fpm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%25E2%2580%2599t-want-pay-pension-system%3Ffb_comment_id%3Dfbc_715000391932164_715018041930399_715018041930399&h=0AQFb1Vqs&s=1" target="_blank" rel="nofollow"><abbr title="Monday, December 29, 2014 at 3:41am" class="timestamp" data-utime="1419853281">5 hours ago</abbr>

</i>
    <i class="star img sp_comments sx_comments_star"><i class="img sp_comments sx_comments_like">
    <form class="composer clearfix composerReply hidden_elem" id="u_0_9" action="/ajax/connect/feedback.php" method="post" target="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" rel="async"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><input name="url" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="uniqid" type="hidden" value="u_0_6" autocomplete="off"><input name="target" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="colorscheme" type="hidden" value="light" autocomplete="off"><input name="controller_id" type="hidden" value="feedback_1P3ViXlJGNdOygMbG" autocomplete="off"><input name="locale" type="hidden" value="en_US" autocomplete="off"><input name="command" type="hidden" value="reply" autocomplete="off"><input name="normalize_grammar" type="hidden" value="0" autocomplete="off"><input name="iframe_referer" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off">
    odA9sNLrE86.jpg
    <textarea name="text" title="Add a Reply..." class="DOMControl_placeholder uiTextareaNoResize uiTextareaAutogrow input" aria-required="true" required="1" placeholder="Add a Reply...">Add a Reply...</textarea>
    <input name="comment_id" type="hidden" value="fbc_715000391932164_715018041930399_715018041930399" autocomplete="off">

<label class="fbReplyButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm hidden_elem" for="u_0_a"><input id="u_0_a" type="submit" value="Reply"></label><label class="fbReplyAfterLoginButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm" for="u_0_b"><input id="u_0_b" type="submit" value="Reply"></label>

</form>

</i></i>

<i class="star img sp_comments sx_comments_star"><i class="img sp_comments sx_comments_like">
  • <form class="closeButtonAfterLogin" id="u_0_18" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiCloseButton" for="u_0_e"><input title="Report" id="u_0_e" aria-label="Report" type="submit" value="Submit Query"></label></form>PC Tan · Top Commenter<i class="star img sp_comments sx_comments_star">The young do not want to pay for the old is a red herring argument. How can this be possible when we have a parent maintenance law. If the old cannot pay, the children will still have to bear the burden.
    The truth is that the elites or the rice do not want the responsibility to take care of the underprivileged, regardless of age. They want their cake and eat it.
    the elimination of estate duty, tax on dividends and capital gains which favours the rich but implementing GST even for basic necessities and medicine is proof.
    Reply · Like<form class="fbUpDownVoteAfterLogin" id="u_0_19" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiLinkButton fbUpDownVoteAfterLoginOption"><input class="uiLinkButtonInput" type="submit" value="Like"></label></form> · 4 · <a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fpm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%25E2%2580%2599t-want-pay-pension-system%3Ffb_comment_id%3Dfbc_715000391932164_715022765263260_715022765263260&h=eAQHyB-ni&s=1" target="_blank" rel="nofollow"><abbr title="Monday, December 29, 2014 at 3:59am" class="timestamp" data-utime="1419854348">4 hours ago</abbr>

</i>
    <form class="composer clearfix composerReply hidden_elem" id="u_0_f" action="/ajax/connect/feedback.php" method="post" target="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" rel="async"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><input name="url" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="uniqid" type="hidden" value="u_0_c" autocomplete="off"><input name="target" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="colorscheme" type="hidden" value="light" autocomplete="off"><input name="controller_id" type="hidden" value="feedback_1P3ViXlJGNdOygMbG" autocomplete="off"><input name="locale" type="hidden" value="en_US" autocomplete="off"><input name="command" type="hidden" value="reply" autocomplete="off"><input name="normalize_grammar" type="hidden" value="0" autocomplete="off"><input name="iframe_referer" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off">
    odA9sNLrE86.jpg
    <textarea name="text" title="Add a Reply..." class="DOMControl_placeholder uiTextareaNoResize uiTextareaAutogrow input" aria-required="true" required="1" placeholder="Add a Reply...">Add a Reply...</textarea>
    <input name="comment_id" type="hidden" value="fbc_715000391932164_715022765263260_715022765263260" autocomplete="off">

<label class="fbReplyButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm hidden_elem" for="u_0_g"><input id="u_0_g" type="submit" value="Reply"></label><label class="fbReplyAfterLoginButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm" for="u_0_h"><input id="u_0_h" type="submit" value="Reply"></label>

</form>

</i></i>

• <form class="closeButtonAfterLogin" id="u_0_1a" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiCloseButton" for="u_0_k"><input title="Report" id="u_0_k" aria-label="Report" type="submit" value="Submit Query"></label></form>Katniss Jamie Lee · Top Commenter · Paris, France<i class="star img sp_comments sx_comments_star">Hhm ...

Well I think ... the Singapore's young are unhappy that they have to pay for Sky High/Exorbitant Salaries of the ministers at the expense of their own financial security.

This is far worst than Japan's young who are unhappy that they have to pay for pensions and medical care for the old, at the expense of their own financial security
    Reply · Like<form class="fbUpDownVoteAfterLogin" id="u_0_1b" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiLinkButton fbUpDownVoteAfterLoginOption"><input class="uiLinkButtonInput" type="submit" value="Like"></label></form> · 1 · <a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fpm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%25E2%2580%2599t-want-pay-pension-system%3Ffb_comment_id%3Dfbc_715000391932164_715066558592214_715066558592214&h=iAQF8ALqx&s=1" target="_blank" rel="nofollow"><abbr title="Monday, December 29, 2014 at 6:03am" class="timestamp" data-utime="1419861780">2 hours ago</abbr>

</i>
    <form class="composer clearfix composerReply hidden_elem" id="u_0_l" action="/ajax/connect/feedback.php" method="post" target="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" rel="async"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><input name="url" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="uniqid" type="hidden" value="u_0_i" autocomplete="off"><input name="target" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off"><input name="colorscheme" type="hidden" value="light" autocomplete="off"><input name="controller_id" type="hidden" value="feedback_1P3ViXlJGNdOygMbG" autocomplete="off"><input name="locale" type="hidden" value="en_US" autocomplete="off"><input name="command" type="hidden" value="reply" autocomplete="off"><input name="normalize_grammar" type="hidden" value="0" autocomplete="off"><input name="iframe_referer" type="hidden" value="http://therealsingapore.com/content/pm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%E2%80%99t-want-pay-pension-system" autocomplete="off">
    odA9sNLrE86.jpg
    <input name="comment_id" type="hidden" value="fbc_715000391932164_715066558592214_715066558592214" autocomplete="off">

<label class="fbReplyButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm hidden_elem" for="u_0_m"><input id="u_0_m" type="submit" value="Reply"></label><label class="fbReplyAfterLoginButton uiButton uiButtonConfirm" for="u_0_n"><input id="u_0_n" type="submit" value="Reply"></label>

</form>

</i></i>

[*] <form class="closeButtonAfterLogin" id="u_0_1c" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiCloseButton" for="u_0_q"><input title="Report" id="u_0_q" aria-label="Report" type="submit" value="Submit Query"></label></form>Hodora Moe Zhen Yuan · Clerk at Singapore Armed Forcesaiya he just trying to say CPF is good!!
    but hor when the elderly dies will the children get their CPF???

cousin who is a japanese finds it a liability to give old ppl pensions at their expenses
    so CPF is good coz yr next generation is less burden i guess???

aiya wadever the case just take care of ur parents when their old can le lor, the old and single let the government handle
    Reply · Like<form class="fbUpDownVoteAfterLogin" id="u_0_1d" action="#" method="post"><input name="lsd" type="hidden" value="AVprxjQO" autocomplete="off"><label class="uiLinkButton fbUpDownVoteAfterLoginOption"><input class="uiLinkButtonInput" type="submit" value="Like"></label></form> · <a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fpm-lee-quotes-japanese-article-say-young-don%25E2%2580%2599t-want-pay-pension-system%3Ffb_comment_id%3Dfbc_715000391932164_715048878593982_715048878593982&h=7AQGBWNYp&s=1" target="_blank" rel="nofollow"><abbr title="Monday, December 29, 2014 at 5:15am" class="timestamp" data-utime="1419858901">3 hours ago</abbr>

</i></i></i></i>

why doesnt he quote the fact that japan does not have any million dollar ministers despite having 120 million population and juggling a failing economy?and politicians and ceos are force to obey the code of the samurai.any failure or grave error is expected to perform seppuku,

At least the Japanese young people have secured jobs, unlike the Singaporean young counterparts with foreign trash taking over the jobs and yet have to take care of aged parents. It should be the other way - Singapore is the cautionary tale for Japan not to go down the same path.

In US, 6 percent of provides a life-long pension indexed to inflation. Sinkees pay 20 percent to CPF to get peanuts back. Why? Because PAP government steal your money.

Example: $10k annual contribution to CPF gives you $450k after 30 years. Same amount invested in SPY for that duration gives you $1.3 million. See how much the PAP robs you.

So, it is total bs that the PAP cannot afford a pension. The PAP doesn't want to implement a pension because many of its cronies will lose their rice bowls, eg. management in GIC and Temasek. GIC and Temasek have one of the highest expense for asset management. Wonder why when they are underperforming the benchmark.

In US, 6 percent of provides a life-long pension indexed to inflation.

but only 53% of income earners pay into the system, and it's not personalized. it's a common pool or cesspit of a ponzi scheme, where more need to pay into it for the fund to stay afloat. moreover, the paltry amount that it returns per ss beneficiary is taxable as income again, and the net collectible from 63 to 67 years of age is typically less than $969 a month. a huge chunk of the net goes to medication at old age as medicines in the u.s. have high premiums due the stranglehold by big pharm.

vtran2684

Lees loves the Japs.

but only 53% of income earners pay into the system, and it's not personalized. it's a common pool or cesspit of a ponzi scheme, where more need to pay into it for the fund to stay afloat. moreover, the paltry amount that it returns per ss beneficiary is taxable as income again, and the net collectible from 63 to 67 years of age is typically less than $969 a month. a huge chunk of the net goes to medication at old age as medicines in the u.s. have high premiums due the stranglehold by big pharm.

$969 per month for life, indexed to inflation. Most sinkees don't even have anything close to that amount.

Don't cloud the pension issue with medical care. In that respect, the US is still better off. But that is for a different thread.

The SS should never be the sole source of retirement income ...it replaces only 25 percent of one's income. CPF is the sole source of most sinkees' retirement ...saving 20 percent of income and you don't even have enough for retirement.
If Americans save 20 percent of income for retirement, they will all be retiring comfortable. You should ask your government to adopt this aspect of the CPF ...mandatory 20 percent contribution to SS. :biggrin:

at least everyone gets at least $959 a month.pension schemes are never there to ensure ur lifestyle.they are only there to provide a safety net for the poorest and most vulnerable.the cpf does not even do that,more than 50 percent cannot meet their minimum sum meaning they would get a paltry payout when they retire and currently 21 percent of retirees have to continue working to ensure their survival and that number is expected to grow to 30 percent.despite a high tax rate of 37 percent,cpf still fails to adequately provide for the singaporeans why?most other countries australia for example only contribute 5 to 8 percent of their income to pension funds.the only reason is because cpf is a tax on the poor which will never be enough,how can the poor pay for the country's retirement fund when they do not even make enough to support themselves from day to day living expenses.and US's and Australia's pension schemes are a tax on the rich which PAP will never accept because that fucked up arsehole of a sissyboy would agree to being paid millions but not contributing 5 percent of his income to the state pension fund.5 percent of 3 million is equal to almost $150,000.no matter how much u raise the goddam cpf ceiling,how much do u think a security guard or dish washer can contribute to cpf?cpf is capped at $5000 which means any income above 5000,like gay loong's million dollar salary is not taxed at all.

at least everyone gets at least $959 a month.

the range is between peanuts and $969. let's say peanuts is $696. $696 to $969 after income tax, sales tax, medical expenses, medication, and rent, these are the americans you get....

image.jpg

the range is between peanuts and $969. let's say peanuts is $696. $696 to $969 after income tax, sales tax, medical expenses, medication, and rent, these are the americans you get....

View attachment 18801

Why are you obfuscating ...tax, medical expense, rent etc, sinkees have them too?

Just compare CPF to SS. To enjoy SS, you pay 6 percent. CPF requires 20 percent. SS is indexed to inflation and you get for life. CPF is limited to what you have saved and the meagre 2.5 percent returns.

at least everyone gets at least $959 a month.pension schemes are never there to ensure ur lifestyle.they are only there to provide a safety net for the poorest and most vulnerable.the cpf does not even do that,more than 50 percent cannot meet their minimum sum meaning they would get a paltry payout when they retire and currently 21 percent of retirees have to continue working to ensure their survival and that number is expected to grow to 30 percent.despite a high tax rate of 37 percent,cpf still fails to adequately provide for the singaporeans why?most other countries australia for example only contribute 5 to 8 percent of their income to pension funds.the only reason is because cpf is a tax on the poor which will never be enough,how can the poor pay for the country's retirement fund when they do not even make enough to support themselves from day to day living expenses.and US's and Australia's pension schemes are a tax on the rich which PAP will never accept because that fucked up arsehole of a sissyboy would agree to being paid millions but not contributing 5 percent of his income to the state pension fund.5 percent of 3 million is equal to almost $150,000.no matter how much u raise the goddam cpf ceiling,how much do u think a security guard or dish washer can contribute to cpf?cpf is capped at $5000 which means any income above 5000,like gay loong's million dollar salary is not taxed at all.

CPF takes 20 percent from you ....American social security takes just 6 percent (actually that includes medicare contribution).

it's 7.65% (6.2% for oasdi & 1.45% for hi) each for employee and employer after 1990, not counting an additional 1% oasdi/ee for the state of california.

6.2 percent vs 20 percent. Which is more?

how many times must i tell you it's not 6.2%, but 7.65% + 1% = 8.65% if you work and live in california? in california, hi becomes ee, and that gets rolled into oasdi, which is only a fraction of the total fica and seca tax. the total ss tax including both federal and state components is much more than the fed oasdi of 6.2%.

with cpf, your contributions, albeit higher than fica and seca, belong to you in your individualized cpf account. with fica and seca, i'm paying for the fat turds who spend the whole day at walmart. the ss is not an individualized, equitable and fair system. a huge part of my contributions goes to the pockets of those who pay peanuts into the system. the higher income earners bear the brunt for the lower income earners and freeloaders.

....with fica and seca, i'm paying for the fat turds who spend the whole day at walmart. the ss is not an individualized, equitable and fair system. a huge part of my contributions goes to the pockets of those who pay peanuts into the system. the higher income earners bear the brunt for the lower income earners and freeloaders.

If you are living in the US & find it so difficult, why don't you just come back & live in Spore:confused:

numero uno

If you are living in the US & find it so difficult, why don't you just come back & live in Spore:confused:

in singapore the effective tax rate is about 40% same as UK. people forgot there is indirect taxation via ERP, COE, petrol tax, GST, property taxes, high property and car prices and sales taxes etc.. eg COE for a COE of 75K you effectively pay 7.5K add tax per year excluding other car taxes. no wonder a toyota corrolla here can easily buy a Porsche or merc 250 in UK or US

Most of us living in Spore know the realities of living in Spore. If eatshitndie thinks it is otherwise he can always return to Spore if he is indeed staying in the US.

Of course he might be staying somewhere in Toa Payoh:smile: