• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Asam Laksa And Teh Tarik Ranked Among Worst Rated M'sian Foods

SBFNews

Asam Laksa And Teh Tarik Ranked Among Worst Rated M'sian Foods & We Just Can't Believe It​

Say it to my face lah, I dare you. >:(
7dba02a3c4d9cd6df66efc9063dd2c81.png

By Kay Ng — 06 Jan 2023, 01:23 PM

Cover image via Prestige & Travel Food Atlas

TasteAtlas seem to have a personal vendetta against Malaysian food; we recently ranked a lowly 39th on their top 50 list of the best cuisines in the world.

Now, the European site has compiled a list of the top six worst rated Malaysian food among its users.

The blasphemous food list was compiled on 30 December 2022 (clearly they wanted to end the year with anger) and among them are some of Malaysians' most beloved dishes.

Apam Balik (6th) and Asam Laksa (5th) were tied at 3.8 stars. Meanwhile, durian came in 4th and was ranked at 3.7 stars (although this is confusing as durian is a fruit and not exclusively Malaysian).

Following that, Teh Tarik (3rd) and Mooncake (2nd) tied at 3.6 stars.

To add MSG to the wound, everyone's mamak-staple, Maggi Goreng (1st), topped the list as the worst rated Malaysian food on TasteAtlas at 3.4 stars.

The list appears as follows:
6. Apam Balik - 3.8 stars
5. Asam Laksa - 3.8 stars
4. Durian - 3.7 stars
3. Teh Tarik - 3.6 stars
2. Mooncake - 3.6 stars
1. Maggi Goreng - 3.4 stars

We don't know who is out here rating these foods, but safe to say, Malaysians weren't pleased to find this out

One Reddit user referenced a moment from MasterChef UK wherein a Kuantan-born cook was eliminated because her rendang chicken skin wasn't "crispy", highlighting how Western opinions on Malaysian food shouldn't be taken seriously.

One user hypothesised that European stomachs, which have been acclimated to milder foods, simply cannot appreciate how flavourful Malaysian food is.

(One's negative opinion on Malaysian food is immediately invalid if their diet consists of bland, unseasoned white chicken breast. )

Another user was shocked at Apam Balik's presence on the list, while commenting on how Italian food consistently ranks high at the top of TasteAtlas' lists.

One durian-lover jokingly hoped the fruit's presence on the list will help lower the price.

https://says.com/my/makan/worst-rated-malay...3S5SgAA9H8zeos0

Is this Malaysian food? :biggrin:

By the way these two restaurants are about 500m away from each other.

Loofydralb

No doubt the feedback mainly from Malaysian chinks who have a vendetta against Malaysia.
That's why I fully support the revocation of citizenship if you cannot speak the national language.