Are private hire taxis killing a people’s future?

Grab Driver: "I love my job after I got retrenched. I am my own boss and drive when I feel like it. Nobody tells me what to do."
Passenger: "Slow down, stop talking, pay attention to the road and take a left turn at the next traffic junction".

Every job needs to take order/instruction from someone/somebody in a way or another.

Office Worker : I got a job, buy a condo, drive a bentley, go holiday when i feel like it, i am so successful
Office Boss : Quiet down, stop talking, pay attention to what i am going to say next - you're retrench & leave now.

Every job needs to take order/instruction from someone/somebody in a way or another.
Office Worker : I got a job, buy a condo, drive a bentley, go holiday when i feel like it, i am so successful
Office Boss : Quiet down, stop talking, pay attention to what i am going to say next - you're retrench & leave now.
Employee: "I just bought a condo, drive a Bentley and I may take a vacation whenever I feel like it. I am the definition of success."
Boss: "Pay attention to me: your position has been made redundant. It is time to pack your belongings and leave."

Employee: "I just bought a condo, drive a Bentley and I may take a vacation whenever I feel like it. I am the definition of success."
Boss: "Pay attention to me: your position has been made redundant. It is time to pack your belongings and leave."
Siong condo and car loans next.

As I am in my mid-50s, I know of many former JC and NUS classmates who were laid off at a time when they still have home and car loans as well as children who are still schooling. It is tough indeed when they see so many foreign PMEs around them enjoying the good life here.

Yes. Foreigner PMEs are living the good life here. Wife can be home maker be it staying in Condo or HDB where else for most Sinkie condo and HDB flat owners both Husband and wife need to go and work

I am seeing more and more CECA tenants and even new owners of condo units along Dunearn Road where I have lived for 25 years.

Many Grab drivers earn $200 a day or $5000 a month. That's good pay.
It looks like you are referring to gross income i.e. total amount of money the PHV driver earns before any deductions (rental, petrol and miscellaneous expenses) are taken out. The driver's earnings should be his net income i.e. the amount he receives after all taxes and other deductions have been subtracted - his "take-home pay".

No wallorry, the pain will be over soon….

Let welcome RoboTaxi in 2026

Grab and WeRide to launch autonomous shuttle service in Singapore​

The Singaporean ride sharing company Grab has unveiled Ai.R, a robotaxi service set to operate in the Punggol residential area in partnership with autonomous driving firm WeRide.
Image: WeRide

By Ciaran Daly
24.09.2025 - 14:30
Under an agreement with Singapore’s Land Transport Authority (LTA), Grab will operate 11 WeRide vehicles on two designated routes in the Singaporean neighbourhood. This small autonomous shuttle fleet will be made up of two WeRide minibuses: the five-seater GXR and the eight-seater Robobus.

Both vehicles have undergone Singapore’s Milestone 1 (M1) assessment, which tests vehicles’ ability to operate on public roads in “autonomous mode” in line with Singapore’s traffic rules. They will be the first autonomous vehicles to attain this certification for use in Punggol, and it will also be the first time that the GXR has been deployed in Southeast Asia.

Sinki is confirmed lazy bum…dun want to work wan

1 in 3 S’pore workers reported facing work-related stress or burnout: Data from MOM online tool​

Tay Hong Yi
Updated Thu, 25 September 2025 at 2:15 PM SGT
3 min read

Mr Huang also flagged the importance of making sound career decisions, as having a fulfilling, sustainable career mitigates the risk of stress of burnout.

Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Manpower Shawn Huang also flagged the importance of making sound career decisions, as having a fulfilling, sustainable career mitigates the risk of stress or burnout.
More
Follow our live coverage here

SINGAPORE – About a third of over 15,000 workers in Singapore reported facing work-related stress or burnout in 2024, based on data from a free online assessment tool by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) and several partners.

However, as it is optional for employers to let employees take the iWorkHealth assessment, the sample may not be fully reflective of the overall workforce or within specific industries, cautioned Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Manpower Shawn Huang.