• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are our poor people really poor?

I met up with a syt friend over the weekend and she told me that there is actually no poor people in Singapore. I was about to wack her because of that statement but decided to listen to her first because she is chio.

She told me that her Malay friend who has 5 kids is earning $1500 per month and the wife is not working. The family is staying in a 3 room flat in Marsiling and had been applied for social welfare with various organisations. As he is qualify for many of the financial assistance. The family is not lack of food every month. Every month they will get financial aids of up to hundreds in cash for the family. The children studies for free and are given free tutition by Mendaki. Besides that, different organisation will give them free food and vouchers monthly. At times, there were so much food that the family will sell the dried stuff (rice, sugar, salt, noodles, etc) to friends or give it to their other family members. Even then, they still could not finish the food.

During the recent Hari Raya, there were different organisations visiting the family every few hours, giving more cash and food (Hari Raya kuehs, etc). Now the family are planning to give away the food to their family and friends again.

If what she say is true then maybe there should be some government organisation that should oversee such welfare distribution and coordinate government linked welfare org, private welfare org and even religious org.

Kinana

If you stay in rental or low cost flats, always get food n stuff from all kinds of charity one. There is some coordination at rental flats but not very vigorous

But to a point of too much food? No wonder our expenditure for the needy has gone up by a lot.

If you stay in rental or low cost flats, always get food n stuff from all kinds of charity one. There is some coordination at rental flats but not very vigorous

depeche

you never understand what poor is when people has no place to sleep and eat...I saw homeless people sleeping under the road bridge in OZ during freezing winter days...life in SG is consider above average already....

Cruxx

It's nigh impossible for a tax haven and a money laundering hub at that to be mired in poverty. :rolleyes:

Cruxx

you never understand what poor is when people has no place to sleep and eat...I saw homeless people sleeping under the road bridge in OZ during freezing winter days...life in SG is consider above average already....

Agree. There are no homeless people living in the void decks of SG. Homelessness has been eradicated in Singapore.

Actually, I have seen someone staying in rental flat who drives a Mercedes SL500.

I met up with a syt friend over the weekend and she told me that there is actually no poor people in Singapore ...

She told me that her Malay friend who has 5 kids is earning $1500 per month and the wife is not working. The family is staying in a 3 room flat in Marsiling and had been applied for social welfare with various organisations. As he is qualify for many of the financial assistance. The family is not lack of food every month. Every month they will get financial aids of up to hundreds in cash for the family. The children studies for free and are given free tutition by Mendaki. Besides that, different organisation will give them free food and vouchers monthly ...
if dey r not poor, do dey haf 2 apply 4 social welfare, financial assistans, financial aids, free vouchers? ...

so, wat she meant? ... rich sinkies oso can haf social welfare, financial assistans, financial aids, free vouchers? ...

I think the issue is that there is no coordination and not enough checks on the amount of welfare is given to those who earns below the stated income.

if dey r not poor, do dey haf 2 apply 4 social welfare, financial assistans, financial aids, free vouchers? ...

so, wat she meant? ... rich sinkies oso can haf social welfare, financial assistans, financial aids, free vouchers? ...

Your friend is super ignorant. If she envies the poor, then why doesn't she become one and enjoy the 'perks' she so resents that the poor are getting?

If what she say is true then maybe there should be some government organisation that should oversee such welfare distribution and coordinate government linked welfare org, private welfare org and even religious org.

the last thing you want is a bloated gov organization to run welfare. the current sg model is adequate with a small welfare budget, supplemented by ngo's and volunteer organizations. the truth is that help is out there, but some ill-informed folks like very elderly and those with disabilities don't have a clue public and private assistance exists. it will be helpful and positive if those bros here who constantly complain about a lack of welfare in sg can get off their arses and start going out to inform and help these disadvantaged folks, instead of kpkbooing online while surfing porn. :rolleyes:

Kinana

But to a point of too much food? No wonder our expenditure for the needy has gone up by a lot.

The food part is not easy to coord. Who is to say how much food is too much? If charities want to give, who will reject?
The money part is also tricky. There are so many agencies, govt and non govt, all not linked up. There was this guy from my church that took money from the church and from other charities at the same time. Even when the pastor know also don't want to play bad guy and cut his monthly cheque.
My fren who lived in low cost flat told me he really enjoyed alot of free stuff. At the same time, he owns about 10 stalls sellling BBQ chicken wings.

She is not envy, just thought that things could be done better and welfare could be redistribute to others who are also suffering. Why you so defensive? You on welfare assistance too?

Your friend is super ignorant. If she envies the poor, then why doesn't she become one and enjoy the 'perks' she so resents that the poor are getting?

ChaoPappyPoodle

I met up with a syt friend over the weekend and she told me that there is actually no poor people in Singapore. I was about to wack her because of that statement but decided to listen to her first because she is chio.

She told me that her Malay friend who has 5 kids is earning $1500 per month and the wife is not working. The family is staying in a 3 room flat in Marsiling and had been applied for social welfare with various organisations. As he is qualify for many of the financial assistance. The family is not lack of food every month. Every month they will get financial aids of up to hundreds in cash for the family. The children studies for free and are given free tutition by Mendaki. Besides that, different organisation will give them free food and vouchers monthly. At times, there were so much food that the family will sell the dried stuff (rice, sugar, salt, noodles, etc) to friends or give it to their other family members. Even then, they still could not finish the food.

During the recent Hari Raya, there were different organisations visiting the family every few hours, giving more cash and food (Hari Raya kuehs, etc). Now the family are planning to give away the food to their family and friends again.

Many children from low income families are malnourished. Food on the table is scarce. If you have spent time with these children you will see that they can eat a horse and will still be willing to eat more. There have even been studies and their reports that show that a large percentage of Singaporeans are malnourished. Having these I do believe that there are many types of financial assistance schemes for the poor in Singapore and quite often these are provided unnecessarily.

There are countless numbers of the elderly who do not know how to obtain financial assistance who need more help but do not receive it. These people also need medical assistance which is costly and maybe that is why a blind eye is turned to them as helping them requires lots of financial assistance and the garment is not willing to do this.