• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are gmail, yahoo and hotmail accounts unsecure?

See lah. Cut their monthly allowance, now PAP MPs so poor until need to use free email accounts. $15,000 per month allowance not enough to get proper email account.

What were our Members of Parliament thinking?

Some weeks ago, while I was looking up MP Chen Show-Mao’s email on the Parliament of Singapore website (I wanted to ask him about the SMU Handa Centre which he had not replied my email till today) and I noticed that some MPs were using Gmail, Yahoo or Hotmail accounts as their corresponding email.

I was telling myself that this cannot be right. We all know that when we sign on to such services, we are giving up some of our privacy, and allowing these companies to track our activities, location and even allowing them to read our emails. While others are suing Google forbreach of such privacy, our Members of Parliament are using it as if it is a secure service provided by our government. Google was even charged by US FederalTrade Commission for illicit monitoring of Apple owners. I wonder what were these MPs thinking when they signed up for foreign controlled emails accounts, and using it to correspond with each other on national issues, concerns of their residents, and possibly national policies that are in the pipeline. This had been happening probably for years and I wonder if the Ministry in-charge of cyber security had even raised such concerns to them. Or does no one dare to advise MPs?

In any case, such email services are not that secure as it seems. In 2009, an article in globalpolitican touched on the security lapses of Gmail.

It would be common sense that each MP should be given a secure email account where its servers are located within the country. The current practice is akin to a company allowing the contract cleaners access to all levels and rooms within its building, while applying restriction on the access to its own employees. It just does not make any sense trusting outsiders more than someone you are employing. Anyone with common sense would know that it is much easier to investigate into a security breach only if evidences are within your reach. So if there is a security breach on one of the MPs’ email, how can the authorities investigate? Write to Google, Microsoft or Yahoo, asking for information? The same people who were probably also checking your emails for you even before you had read it?

For those interested, these are the list of MPs who are using foreign controlled email accounts.

MPs.jpg

http://sporehallofshame.blogspot.sg/2013/01/what-were-our-members-of-parliament.html

See lah. Cut their monthly allowance, now PAP MPs so poor until need to use free email accounts. $15,000 per month allowance not enough to get proper email account.

You obviously don't have a clue how an email server works. :rolleyes:

Security has nothing to do with whether it's free or paid for. In fact, yahoo and hotmail are probably more secure than a small ISP hosting an email server which your own domain is pointing to.

I believe they used these email accounts to receive feedback from the public. Don't think they will discuss anything serious or involving state secrets on those platform. If they do, then I don't know what to say liao.

But is it true that service provider can read your email?

Thank u. Now i can email Baey to complain about his PAP IB bullies and also tell him to go fcuk spider. :D

Security has nothing to do with whether it's free or paid for. In fact, yahoo and hotmail are probably more secure than a small ISP hosting an email server which your own domain is pointing to.

But local isp not accessible by CIA mah :)

On the internet, there is no such thing as "foreign" and "local". It's just one big network. The guy who wrote that article is a moron.

It's better for them to use public free email service, then they know they will not be spied upon by their own email administrator or their bosses.

Or, if you believe Microsoft, the Gmail Man is out to get you.

[video=youtube;TDbrX5U75dk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDbrX5U75dk[/video]

In fact, yahoo and hotmail are probably more secure than a small ISP hosting an email server which your own domain is pointing to.

Agreed. If I were an opposition MP, I would never make use of an email service provider based in Sinkieland.

If sensitive information or discussion is involved, I urge opposition MPs to opt for an email service provider (definitely not Sinkieland-based or Sinkie company) that offers free email (SSL) certificates. These provide encryption/decryption and protection against identity theft.

Gmail read all your emails for advertising purposes, meaning people can know a lot about what is happening to you or around you.

WP uses their www.wp.org.sg. So no worry.

Agreed. If I were an opposition MP, I would never make use of an email service provider based in Sinkieland.

If sensitive information or discussion is involved, I urge opposition MPs to opt for an email service provider (definitely not Sinkieland-based or Sinkie company) that offers free email (SSL) certificates. These provide encryption/decryption and protection against identity theft.

Of late my yahoo mail have been giving some 'late delivery' problems; dont know why.
Have since switched to gmail as a temp measure..

Of late my yahoo mail have been giving some 'late delivery' problems; dont know why.
Have since switched to gmail as a temp measure..

Go check your spam folder. The mails are there.

Stop using Yahoo. It's a piece of shit.

Gmail read all your emails for advertising purposes, meaning people can know a lot about what is happening to you or around you.

Totally agreed.

These are some of the men who have been sabo by Yahoo and have to spend time in jail:

Wang Xiaoning

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3JeKIyE__I

Li Zhi and Shi Tao

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/4695718.stm

You may be interested to read the following article:

"Government surveillance on the rise, says new Google report"

http://gigaom.com/2012/11/13/government-surveillance-on-the-rise-says-new-google-report/