• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anyone feel guilty eating this?

actuarry, hor ... sharks fin nice 2 eat meh? ...

nice 2 eat bcoz iz expensif? ... nice 2 eat bcoz ppl classify it as delicacy? ...

me dun crave 4 it ...

y ppl dun eat bear paws, elefant trunks, camel humps? ... oso delicacies wat! ...

Agoraphobic

Please lah, you really buy into this rubbish "extinction" or "cruelty" theory??? How about Foire Gras for you? Western food, no regrets, eh?

Foie Gras originated in Egypt. It is not common in the West. Only consumed by those who consider themselves "gastronomically aware." Same category as Shark's Fin. They are both high-priced foods for suckers.

Sharks fin are not over-priced food .. Imagine one big shark have only one fin and it's not easy job for fisherman to catch those fish .

Thick Face Black Heart

hmmmm very good point TFBH, unfortunately most of us are not aware of what's going on in the slaughterhouse. Is there anyway to find out more?

I heard a BBC report I think just last month that there were some MPs I think who opposed halal food being served in a government building kitchen because they opposed the way animals is being killed the Islamic way which they found it cruel.

A lot of this can be found on youtube ... chickens having their throats half-severed by an incompetent butcher and then left to die an agonizing death, etc. I think if you just google you can find the videos.

Agoraphobic

Sharks fin are not over-priced food .. Imagine one big shark have only one fin and it's not easy job for fisherman to catch those fish .

Sixty bucks for one bowl of soup is darn expensive to me. Should be the price for the whole shark!

Unrepented

Baby sharks already eat each other in their mommy's womb:o Can't we paralyze the shark and inseminate:confused:

Bro, if shark can be captive breed I believe a lot of business minded man will do that .

If ppl want to breed these fish in the future they have to artically inseminate female sharks ( because some shark give live birth ) .. It's is impossible hard to inseminate a shark . And sharks can grow very big in a short time .. And when great white reach adulthood they will also eat other sharks ..

Thick Face Black Heart

I heard a BBC report I think just last month that there were some MPs I think who opposed halal food being served in a government building kitchen because they opposed the way animals is being killed the Islamic way which they found it cruel.

Religion is a social, political and emotional powder keg that must be dealt with carefully by politicians. This Halal issue is not going to go away.

My view is that some amount of pain is unavoidable but the point is to make sure the slaughter is as swift as possible. Whether Halal method is cruel or not is up to individual opinion. In my opinion those incompetent butchers leaving chicken heads half-severed are far crueler.

Sixty bucks for one bowl of soup is darn expensive to me. Should be the price for the whole shark!

If u buy shark fin and cook at home it will not be $60 a bowl . Don't forget , when u dine in any restaurant you have to pay alot for many hidden cost :wink:

A lot of this can be found on youtube ... chickens having their throats half-severed by an incompetent butcher and then left to die an agonizing death, etc. I think if you just google you can find the videos.

Thank you TFBH I will look them up in youtube. Surely there must be an international NGO on animals rights.

Oh drifter its not only just one big dorsal fin, they also cut all the other fins like the pectoral, anal and tail fins too. Thats why after cutting them the shark can no long swim after being thrown back into the sea.

Agoraphobic

If u buy shark fin and cook at home it will not be $60 a bowl . Don't forget , when u dine in any restaurant you have to pay alot for many hidden cost :wink:

Agree that when we dine out, we pay a lot of overheads. However for this particular dish, it is still way overpriced.

The fin is added only for the texture, the taste comes from the stock and crab meat (or other flavours). For ten dollars more - I can get a whole duck - at the same restaurant.

No matter how they claim, shark's fin has become a prestige dish served at conspicuous Chinese dinners - weddings and business luncheons.

Thank you TFBH I will look them up in youtube. Surely there must be an international NGO on animals rights.

Oh drifter its not only just one big dorsal fin, they also cut all the other fins like the pectoral, anal and tail fins too.
Thats why after cutting them the shark can no long swim after being
thrown back into the sea.

U are right bro .. Because seldom ppl would want to eat shark meat .

Agree that when we dine out, we pay a lot of overheads. However for this particular dish, it is still way overpriced.

The fin is added only for the texture, the taste comes from the stock and crab meat (or other flavours). For ten dollars more - I can get a whole duck - at the same restaurant.
No matter how they claim, shark's fin has become a prestige dish served at conspicuous Chinese dinners - weddings and businessluncheons.

Yes I agree that sharks fin itself is tasteless ..but to catch a shark and sell their fins only...that alone make this fish fin so expensive .. caviar and bird nest are also expensive .

hahaha....GD, if by commercialising you mean raising them in farms.....then I have to tell you this not possible.
maybe you can contact your brother, Sea Dragon king and see if he can help.

Ok, points noted. I will continue having my sharks fin soup. Not much time left for them. Not much time left for me too. I have it at least once a month. Sometimes twice. Vinegar is a must for me. Without it, taste not so shiok. I also throw in the chilli padi. Seepay best!

Vinegar for me not necessary but brandy is a must, not too much though and lots of pepper.

Brandy and pepper optional for me. But die die must have lots of vinegar and chilli padi. Vinegar also needed when I take hot and sour soup. But when comes to women, I seldom 'eat vinegar'. Too old liao.

Bro GD, seriously women come and go, no need to jia-chor. So better to pay and forget. You're right, too old liao, forget about romance liao la. I'm a lover of Cordon Bleu like you, one day, just one day we must do this in Bangkok.

Forgot to add I love vinegar in fish maw soup too.

When younger, always eat vinegar wrt women. Part of growing up I guess. In mid-40s, bo feeling liao. I think the right word to use is insensate?

I used to hang flower for a singer quite consistently. One fine day, she asked if I was jealous when someone else hung $500 for her. I told her I was most pleased coz won't need to hang for her that particular night. Saved $100.

As long as not beer or stout, I am fine.