• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anti-Vaxxers, u ain't gonna win. Better to wake-up plan ahead than living in denial .... Esp Sinkies.

nirvarq

You can run but you can't hide for loong. You can't live off-grid or disconnect from society esp in SG.

Unless u stay home 100% of the time. Even hawkers and markets won't be FFA for long. Public transports will be next hence the recent 'checks' on bus terminals. All the Bus-Captains were Asymptomatic b4 the mass test not to mention they were all vaccinated too, who cares. Can eat/use dun waste lol......

You think wat ?! It's all in 'the plan'. lol......

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________​

Trudeau promises $1B to help provinces pay for vaccine passport​

John Paul Tasker · August 28 2021

fedelxn-liberals-20210827.jpg

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau visits a restaurant as he makes a campaign stop in Mississauga, Ont., on Friday, Aug 27, 2021. (Sean Kilpatrick/Canadian Press)

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau today announced a billion-dollar fund to help provinces create their own vaccine passports — credentials people vaccinated against COVID-19 can show to businesses to make everyday activities safer.
Speaking to reporters at a campaign stop in Mississauga, Ont., Trudeau said he wants to see "Canadians moving again in a safe and responsible way." He said the best way to do that is to create a tool the vaccinated can use to prove they've had their shots before entering a store, arena or office.
If a province requires that everyone at a local restaurant, gym or other non-essential business location be fully vaccinated and show proof of vaccination, Trudeau said, Ottawa would pay for the development and the rollout of that program.
"It keeps people safe. It encourages everyone to do the right thing. It keeps our businesses open and it keeps our economy rebuilding," he said.
Some provinces, notably B.C. and Quebec, already have created smartphone-based vaccine passports that people can use to prove their COVID-19 immunization status in commercial or public spaces — everything from bars and restaurants to bowling alleys and hockey rinks — where provincial law will soon require proof of a shot before entry. Manitoba is also expected to make its passport system mandatory for some nonessential businesses in the coming weeks.

covid-que-vaccine-passport-20210825.jpg

Quebec's new vaccine passport apps, called VaxiCode and VaxiCode Verif, on an iPhone. (Graham Hughes/The Canadian Press)
But in two of the country's largest provinces — Alberta and Ontario — provincial leaders have refused to implement such a system.
Ontario Premier Doug Ford has said a vaccine passport would lead to a "split society" and claims the paper receipts people receive at vaccine clinics are sufficient proof of status. In the absence of a provincewide vaccine mandate for some venues in Ontario, private businesses and universities have stepped into the void by creating their own vaccine verification programs.
In Alberta — where COVID-19 case numbers are high and vaccination numbers comparatively low — government officials have been insisting that a proof-of-vaccination program is a non-starter.
The federal government has long promised its own vaccine passport-style program for international travel but Canadians are still waiting.
At a press conference before the election, the government said work is underway on a smartphone app and it could be available sometime this fall. Other countries have had this sort of regime in place for months. Ottawa has explained away the delay by pointing to the provinces, which control vaccination records.
WATCH: Trudeau promises $1B fund to support provincial vaccine passports

trudeauvax_256kbps_1280x720_1938649155905.jpg

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau promises $1B fund to support provincial vaccine passports​

1 day ago
1:06
When asked if he was politicizing the COVID-19 vaccine during the campaign, Trudeau said his message hadn't changed and this was just another way to get more people vaccinated. 1:06
Trudeau has tried to present himself as a vaccine champion on the campaign trail, routinely pillorying his main opponent, Conservative Leader Erin O'Toole, for opposing vaccine mandates for federal public servants and the travelling public. O'Toole also hasn't forced his candidates to get vaccinated, something Trudeau has said puts voters at risk.
O'Toole ducked questions Friday about whether a federal government led by him would make a similar financial commitment to help provinces stand up a vaccine passport system. He said the development of these programs should be left to the other jurisdictions to figure out.
"We will respect the provinces and their decisions with respect to health measures and balancing the needs of keeping people safe and keeping the economy going. We will support and respect what the provinces decide to do," O'Toole said.
"We're in the midst of a fourth wave election because Mr. Trudeau has put his own political interests ahead of fighting the fourth wave together. I will partner with the provinces to fight COVID-19."
Asked about the Liberal announcement, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh said that, rather than supporting the provinces' efforts to develop separate vaccine passport regimes, the federal government should take the lead and create a proof-of-vaccination program that could be used nationwide.
"Wouldn't it be easier just to have one central document that we get from the federal government and we can use it in any province we travel to? It would just make life easier, easier to show proof. I think that would be an important thing that the federal government could just do," Singh said.
However, under the Constitution, health care is a provincial responsibility and Ottawa doesn't have access to medical records. Moreover, there is no uniformity to the public health restrictions that are in place across jurisdictions, which could make a national passport for domestic purposes difficult to implement.
Trudeau talked up his government's vaccine procurement record Friday, reminding voters that Canada is among the top countries in the world for COVID-19 vaccinations. While the immunization campaign got off to a slow start in the early months of this year, nearly 84 per cent of all eligible Canadians have now had at least one dose.
Trudeau said a re-elected Liberal government would aggressively procure enough vaccines to "ensure all Canadians have access to free COVID-19 booster shots and second-generation vaccines as needed, across all provinces and territories."
He also said a government led by him would invest more money into studying "the long-term health impacts of COVID-19, including the effects of 'long-COVID' on groups, including vulnerable populations and children."
"We can't afford to stop now and we certainly can't afford a party that would roll back our progress. That's why this election matters so much," Trudeau said.
Trudeau made this announcement at a small Syrian bakery where there was little social distancing between the supporters, reporters and Liberal Party staff in attendance.
Under Ontario's current COVID-19 guidelines, the Roadmap to Re-open, indoor gatherings of this sort are permitted as long as people can maintain a two-metre distance from other patrons.
Reporters in attendance said the group was crammed with little, if any, space separating those on hand for the announcement.

dredd

You can run but you can't hide for loong. You can't live off-grid or disconnect from society esp in SG.

Unless u stay home 100% of the time. Even hawkers and markets won't be FFA for long. Public transports will be next hence the recent 'checks' on bus terminals. All the Bus-Captains were Asymptomatic b4 the mass test not to mention they were all vaccinated too, who cares. Can eat/use dun waste lol......

You think wat ?! It's all in 'the plan'. lol......

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________​

Trudeau promises $1B to help provinces pay for vaccine passport​

John Paul Tasker · August 28 2021

fedelxn-liberals-20210827.jpg

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau visits a restaurant as he makes a campaign stop in Mississauga, Ont., on Friday, Aug 27, 2021. (Sean Kilpatrick/Canadian Press)

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau today announced a billion-dollar fund to help provinces create their own vaccine passports — credentials people vaccinated against COVID-19 can show to businesses to make everyday activities safer.
Speaking to reporters at a campaign stop in Mississauga, Ont., Trudeau said he wants to see "Canadians moving again in a safe and responsible way." He said the best way to do that is to create a tool the vaccinated can use to prove they've had their shots before entering a store, arena or office.
If a province requires that everyone at a local restaurant, gym or other non-essential business location be fully vaccinated and show proof of vaccination, Trudeau said, Ottawa would pay for the development and the rollout of that program.
"It keeps people safe. It encourages everyone to do the right thing. It keeps our businesses open and it keeps our economy rebuilding," he said.
Some provinces, notably B.C. and Quebec, already have created smartphone-based vaccine passports that people can use to prove their COVID-19 immunization status in commercial or public spaces — everything from bars and restaurants to bowling alleys and hockey rinks — where provincial law will soon require proof of a shot before entry. Manitoba is also expected to make its passport system mandatory for some nonessential businesses in the coming weeks.

covid-que-vaccine-passport-20210825.jpg

Quebec's new vaccine passport apps, called VaxiCode and VaxiCode Verif, on an iPhone. (Graham Hughes/The Canadian Press)
But in two of the country's largest provinces — Alberta and Ontario — provincial leaders have refused to implement such a system.
Ontario Premier Doug Ford has said a vaccine passport would lead to a "split society" and claims the paper receipts people receive at vaccine clinics are sufficient proof of status. In the absence of a provincewide vaccine mandate for some venues in Ontario, private businesses and universities have stepped into the void by creating their own vaccine verification programs.
In Alberta — where COVID-19 case numbers are high and vaccination numbers comparatively low — government officials have been insisting that a proof-of-vaccination program is a non-starter.
The federal government has long promised its own vaccine passport-style program for international travel but Canadians are still waiting.
At a press conference before the election, the government said work is underway on a smartphone app and it could be available sometime this fall. Other countries have had this sort of regime in place for months. Ottawa has explained away the delay by pointing to the provinces, which control vaccination records.
WATCH: Trudeau promises $1B fund to support provincial vaccine passports

trudeauvax_256kbps_1280x720_1938649155905.jpg

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau promises $1B fund to support provincial vaccine passports​

1 day ago
1:06
When asked if he was politicizing the COVID-19 vaccine during the campaign, Trudeau said his message hadn't changed and this was just another way to get more people vaccinated. 1:06
Trudeau has tried to present himself as a vaccine champion on the campaign trail, routinely pillorying his main opponent, Conservative Leader Erin O'Toole, for opposing vaccine mandates for federal public servants and the travelling public. O'Toole also hasn't forced his candidates to get vaccinated, something Trudeau has said puts voters at risk.
O'Toole ducked questions Friday about whether a federal government led by him would make a similar financial commitment to help provinces stand up a vaccine passport system. He said the development of these programs should be left to the other jurisdictions to figure out.
"We will respect the provinces and their decisions with respect to health measures and balancing the needs of keeping people safe and keeping the economy going. We will support and respect what the provinces decide to do," O'Toole said.
"We're in the midst of a fourth wave election because Mr. Trudeau has put his own political interests ahead of fighting the fourth wave together. I will partner with the provinces to fight COVID-19."
Asked about the Liberal announcement, NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh said that, rather than supporting the provinces' efforts to develop separate vaccine passport regimes, the federal government should take the lead and create a proof-of-vaccination program that could be used nationwide.
"Wouldn't it be easier just to have one central document that we get from the federal government and we can use it in any province we travel to? It would just make life easier, easier to show proof. I think that would be an important thing that the federal government could just do," Singh said.
However, under the Constitution, health care is a provincial responsibility and Ottawa doesn't have access to medical records. Moreover, there is no uniformity to the public health restrictions that are in place across jurisdictions, which could make a national passport for domestic purposes difficult to implement.
Trudeau talked up his government's vaccine procurement record Friday, reminding voters that Canada is among the top countries in the world for COVID-19 vaccinations. While the immunization campaign got off to a slow start in the early months of this year, nearly 84 per cent of all eligible Canadians have now had at least one dose.
Trudeau said a re-elected Liberal government would aggressively procure enough vaccines to "ensure all Canadians have access to free COVID-19 booster shots and second-generation vaccines as needed, across all provinces and territories."
He also said a government led by him would invest more money into studying "the long-term health impacts of COVID-19, including the effects of 'long-COVID' on groups, including vulnerable populations and children."
"We can't afford to stop now and we certainly can't afford a party that would roll back our progress. That's why this election matters so much," Trudeau said.
Trudeau made this announcement at a small Syrian bakery where there was little social distancing between the supporters, reporters and Liberal Party staff in attendance.
Under Ontario's current COVID-19 guidelines, the Roadmap to Re-open, indoor gatherings of this sort are permitted as long as people can maintain a two-metre distance from other patrons.
Reporters in attendance said the group was crammed with little, if any, space separating those on hand for the announcement.
The plan is to live with COVID as an endemic disease, like the common flu, so we can all go about our normal lives. And to do that, we need vaccinations to downgrade the disease so people don't die, suffer serious illness or clog up healthcare services. Nothing more than that.

nirvarq

The plan is to live with COVID as an endemic disease, like the common flu, so we can all go about our normal lives. And to do that, we need vaccinations to downgrade the disease so people don't die, suffer serious illness or clog up healthcare services. Nothing more than that.

End lan cheow lah ! You didn't see more and more people dying and more kena everyday meh despite our 90% and support wtf you toking ? Brain damaged ?!

dredd

End lan cheow lah ! You didn't see more and more people dying and more kena everyday meh despite our 90% and support wtf you toking ? Brain damaged ?!
The word is endemic, not "end lan cheow". You sound like the old uneducated uncles you see spouting obscenities because they don't understand things happening around them.

Our infection and mortality rates are relatively very low because of the vaccination rate of 90%. Imagine the number of infections or mortality if our vaccination rate is only 10% like in other countries.

Don't need to sound like a thug and call me names. I am not intimidated. In fact, I find your stupidity amusing. :biggrin:

Distribution of oximeters, masks and ART kits... Brilliant! Sinkies can hole up at home unless very seriously ill. But workplace entrance will check or not ah?

nirvarq

The word is endemic, not "end lan cheow". You sound like the old uneducated uncles you see spouting obscenities because they don't understand things happening around them.

Our infection and mortality rates are relatively very low because of the vaccination rate of 90%. Imagine the number of infections or mortality if our vaccination rate is only 10% like in other countries.

Don't need to sound like a thug and call me names. I am not intimidated. In fact, I find your stupidity amusing. :biggrin:

Our mortality rate of covid for 1.5 yrs is around 30+ death with half which is imported with existing conditions seeking medical help here and died. We have 60k infected and we have also no critical conditions for that 1.5yrs before mass trail vaccination was introduced. You're not local or here in real time meh these 1.5 yrs ?

You're at and in Thailand right ? If not how can you not know ? Most of the members here are not local or stationed here, they migrated hence gather here etc...

Then the authorities here twist and say vaccines lowers the mortality rate and critical conditions which is not only a lie but a crime against our own facts and stats. Our own state media has been reporting for 1.5yrs all other infected cases has been asymptomatic all along, u're not here in real time meh ?

Simply put our infection and mortality rate has been extremely low until this vaccination exercise starts and even now at say near 90% it's been getting worst and worst is it not ?

What's your purpose ? agenda ? Or is it too late to u-turn now ? You're vaccinated already right ? You gave up your natural immunity for a COVID scam ya ? lol............

nayr69sg

Staff member
Canada very rich.

Now election i hear throw $1b here and there.

NDP says want to lower student loan interest rates and forgive student loan debt. So which one? If i student i say just forgive all debt no need bother lower interest rate.

Trudeau want to give money young people buy house also.

Rich country. I waitint for UBI universal basic income. Then I can retire sooner.

This ridiculous situation isn't going to carry on forever. Covid with just become another Coronavirus which causes mild symptoms even without all these mass vaccination efforts.

Everyone should just relax.

nayr69sg

Staff member
This ridiculous situation isn't going to carry on forever. Covid with just become another Coronavirus which causes mild symptoms even without all these mass vaccination efforts.

I went to the YMCA rec centre with my daughter to play in the kids play area and pools.

Seems like normal. Except they reduce number of people at one time which is good so less crowding.

The only people who might see more busy and alarm are the drs and nurses in hospital.

As usual nobody cares about that group and they dont see the crowds or increased workload of drs and nurses in hospital.

I have been there before. Nobody gives a shit about us.

I went to the YMCA rec centre with my daughter to play in the kids play area and pools.

Seems like normal. Except they reduce number of people at one time which is good so less crowding.

The only people who might see more busy and alarm are the drs and nurses in hospital.

As usual nobody cares about that group and they dont see the crowds or increased workload of drs and nurses in hospital.

I have been there before. Nobody gives a shit about us.

The boost the capacity. Everyone has stressful periods of their lives where workloads are horrendous. I went through it and so have many others you don't have to be in the medical field to face a work overload.

As long as you don't get emotionally involved in the situation everything should be fine. At the end of the day medical services are just an industry like any other. Capacity constraints will always happen for various reasons.

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 12.56.35 PM.png

As for the data it seems to show that Sweden, who played by the tried and true method of dealing with a pandemic, got it about right. No Delta surge, hardly any delta fatalities, no masks, no restrictions, no lockdowns or ups.

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 1.03.25 PM.png

37 in ICU out of a population of 10 million.

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 1.04.18 PM.png

100% Delta variant.

Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 1.05.49 PM.png

Surprisingly less than 60% fully vaccinated way lower than Israel.

nayr69sg

Staff member
The boost the capacity. Everyone has stressful periods of their lives where workloads are horrendous. I went through it and so have many others you don't have to be in the medical field to face a work overload.

As long as you don't get emotionally involved in the situation everything should be fine. At the end of the day medical services are just an industry like any other. Capacity constraints will always happen for various reasons.
Nobody wants to pay drs and nurses. It is an expense. No kick backs.

Vaccines on the other hand......

Nobody wants to pay drs and nurses. It is an expense. No kick backs.

Vaccines on the other hand......

I never believed that medical treatment was a right that every citizen deserved. It should be a user pay system just like any other industry.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I never believed that medical treatment was a right that every citizen deserved. It should be a user pay system just like any other industry.
Nobody wants to pay. Patients themselves.

But the medical ethics says you cannor discriminate and deny treatment to patients because they cannot pay.

Nobody wants to pay. Patients themselves.

But the medical ethics says you cannor discriminate and deny treatment to patients because they cannot pay.

I actually like the "you die your business" policy. Why medical services cannot be rationed according to ability to pay just like any other service is beyond me.

A couple of months ago a homeless man in Auckland amputated his thumb in an accident. An elite surgical team was assembled and it took 6 hours to re attach the appendage.

Why spend hundreds of thousands of dollars of resources to fix the thumb of a hobo who just lies in the streets half stoned 24 hour a day??? It truly is a waste of resources.

dredd

Our mortality rate of covid for 1.5 yrs is around 30+ death with half which is imported with existing conditions seeking medical help here and died. We have 60k infected and we have also no critical conditions for that 1.5yrs before mass trail vaccination was introduced. You're not local or here in real time meh these 1.5 yrs ?

You're at and in Thailand right ? If not how can you not know ? Most of the members here are not local or stationed here, they migrated hence gather here etc...

Then the authorities here twist and say vaccines lowers the mortality rate and critical conditions which is not only a lie but a crime against our own facts and stats. Our own state media has been reporting for 1.5yrs all other infected cases has been asymptomatic all along, u're not here in real time meh ?

Simply put our infection and mortality rate has been extremely low until this vaccination exercise starts and even now at say near 90% it's been getting worst and worst is it not ?

What's your purpose ? agenda ? Or is it too late to u-turn now ? You're vaccinated already right ? You gave up your natural immunity for a COVID scam ya ? lol............
You have to look at the numbers in perspective. COVID is turning worse because of the delta variant. That's nobody's fault. Thailand had a few hundred cases elevated to 20K with deaths going by the hundreds per week. Their vaccination numbers are in the 20% region. SG has close to 90% and is still maintaining the manageable numbers with a very low infection and mortality rate even when you compare with other countries in the region currently. Why? Because vaccinations work to prevent deaths and serious illness. That's no lie and no scam. When infection rates rise, of course the numbers go up lah. But just imagine if our vaccination rate is 10%. You don't need to be a rocket scientist to figure what shit problems we are in. The situation is NOT getting worse. It's because COVID is infecting and killing more people everywhere and we are at 90% vaccination. That is why we are where we are and Thailand and other countries are where they are.

I have no agenda or nefarious reasons for simply stating facts. I have seen for myself what a farked up government who botched up during COVID against a government that didn't and what it does to ordinary people. I can tell you now, you are damn lucky to have a gahment that is at least competent. You have to be in my shoes now to know how farking lucky Sinkees are. You have the luxury to bitch about vaccinations even when it is offered free. Many people here are dying for vaccinations. Natural immunity? Yes, only when you get COVID and recovered from it. Don't bank on that. Yes, I am vaccinated because I have seen the sufferings of those who didn't. Most people who live in countries badly hit will share the same thoughts as me. Believe me.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I actually like the "you die your business" policy. Why medical services cannot be rationed according to ability to pay just like any other service is beyond me.

A couple of months ago a homeless man in Auckland amputated his thumb in an accident. An elite surgical team was assembled and it took 6 hours to re attach the appendage.

Why spend hundreds of thousands of dollars of resources to fix the thumb of a hobo who just lies in the streets half stoned 24 hour a day??? It truly is a waste of resources.
Not for me to decide.

Medical authority says so.

It is all part of the medical profession has to be righteous compassionate non discriminatory etc.

Basically we follow Jesus.

dredd

Of course the situation can't run forever. We will have to open up some time. I have to make a living and we all have to live normally. It's how we do it that's all. I am a fan of living with COVID endemically.

Covid mutâtes from sars which mutated from flu. When the next pandemic comes no one will remember COVID and whether you vax or not is indifferent.