• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another PMD Fire. When will these PMD nonsense stop?

Fire breaks out in Ang Mo Kio HDB flat after PMD left to charge in kitchen, Singapore News
www.asiaone.com
amkpmdfire_st.jpg
SINGAPORE - A personal mobility device (PMD) left to charge in an Ang Mo Kio flat early on Monday (July 22) exploded in the afternoon, causing a fire that destroyed the flat and damaged two neighbouring units.
The e-scooter belonged to the fiance of the woman living in the rental flat who had charged his device in the kitchen before they both left for work.

But between 2pm and 3pm, the woman's older brothers, Mr Mohamad Fazir, 30, and Mohamad Fazrim, 26, who were in house at the time, heard a loud explosion.

Mr Fazir, who saw the e-scooter burst into flames, woke his brother, who was taking a nap in the living room, and they both rushed out of the front door.
"I saw the fire in front of my face and it spread so quickly," Mr Fazir told Yio Chu Kang's Citizens' Consultative chairman (CCC) Tung Yui Fai when he visited the victims at 7pm.
amkpmdfire3_st.jpg
PHOTO: The Straits Times
The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said in a Facebook post that it responded to a fire on a fourth-floor unit of Block 224 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1 at about 3pm.
The fire was raging when the SCDF arrived, and one adult and three children were rescued from the unit next to the burning flat. Around 60 people from the affected block were evacuated by SCDF and police officers.
A video of the incident on YouTube showed plumes of smoke billowing out of the fourth-floor corridor as the fire engulfed the flat.

The fire was extinguished with one water jet.
Preliminary investigations into the cause of the fire indicate it was from a PMD placed in the kitchen, SCDF said.
This was the fourth fire that broke out in Housing Board flats this month, and the second fire involving PMDs in less than a week, putting PMD-related fires in the spotlight.
A 40-year-old man who was rescued from a burning Bukit Batok Housing Board flat on Thursday died in hospital. The fire was accidental and linked to three burnt personal mobility devices in the unit, according to preliminary investigations by SCDF.
The number of such fires have been on the rise, with 74 PMD-related fires reported last year, a 51 per cent spike from 2017, according to statistics from the SCDF.
Most occurred during charging or shortly after charging, according to the SCDF.
Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Koh Poh Koon, who visited the block earlier, told reporters that the affected family would be housed temporarily in a flat on the second floor of the block.

When The Straits Times arrived at the scene at 5.40pm on Monday, Mr Fazir's family and their relatives were moving their mattresses and household items they could salvage into the one-room flat.
The fiance of Mr Fazir's sister, both of whom did not want to be named, said: "It's strange because I've had this e-scooter for two years."
Mr Fazir, including his parents, two of his brothers and his youngest sister lived in the flat.
amkpmdfire2_st.jpg
His sister-in-law, who also declined to be named, said all the siblings used to work as food delivery riders and had their own PMDs in the flat until they switched jobs about a year ago.
She said Mr Fazir's mother, who was at the market when the fire broke out, would always unplug the PMDs once they were fully charged.
She added: "It's just unfortunate that the e-scooter exploded in the house today, when the previous PMDs were fine."
The exterior of the two units next to the burnt-down flat were charred and the fire destroyed the electrical wires of one of the units, causing a power outage in the house.

The flat's owner, who wanted to be known only as Mr Muhammad, said his wife and children, all under the age of six, heard the explosion and huddled in a room.
Mr Fazir told Mr Tung: "I asked my neighbour (Mr Muhammad's wife) to come out of the house after my brother and I ran out of the flat, but she didn't."
Mr Muhammad, who works as a freelance mover and boat assistant, said: "There was a blackout and my wife was afraid to get out of the room. The SCDF rescued them."
At 7.15pm, Mr Tung and members of the CCC, including the neighbourhood's Citizens On Patrol, brought household necessities to Mr Fazir's family in their temporary flat on the second floor.
amkpmdfire4_st.jpg
This article was first published in The Straits Times. Permission required for reproduction.

Doubt it will be ban lah. Garment discourage motorists but encourage cyclist and PMD riders.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ears-up-for-faster-car-lite-transport-by-2040
I understand. But they are so slow in coming up with legislation to safeguard the public and PMD users. Even then, it is always reactive legislation after unfortunate events have occurred. Why are they paying themselves so much money when they lack foresight and can't anticipate problems these PMDs will cause? The best brains my arse!

The cheebye Minister who is in charge of this must be sacked! IRRESPONSIBLE POLICY MAKING!!! FUCK PAP:FU:

The average PMD user (young, stupid, ah beng loser, m&d loser) does not possess the intelligence to understand how volatile LiPo batteries are.

Yes, Lithium Ion Polymer (or Lipo) batteries are not to be messed with.
http://thedronegirl.com/2015/02/07/lipo-battery/

1. Never charge, discharge, use, or store a damaged or puffy LiPo battery. Immediately follow proper disposal protocols.

2. Avoid purchasing used LiPo batteries. You never know what the previous owner did with them and they could already be badly damaged. “LiPo Battery Like New, Used Once” is usually a scam and should be avoided.

3. Always use a proper LiPo battery balance charger/discharger when charging and discharging your LiPos. It is crucial that all cells in a LiPo battery maintain the same voltage across all cells at all times. If the voltages across the cells deviate too much from each other (5mV ~ 10Mv), the battery can become unstable and dangerous. (Unless it’s a single cell LiPo, in which case you do not need to worry about cell balance).

4. Always use a fire proof LiPo safety bag, metal ammo box, or other fire proof container when you are charging, discharging, or storing your LiPo batteries. While LiPo fires are rare, they can happen incredibly quickly and can do a lot of damage. All it takes is an internal short circuit to set the battery off. There is no way to predict when it will happen. It does tend to happen more often when batteries are fully charged, being overcharged, or while being discharged, but it can happen to any LiPo at any time. Never fill the container to capacity with your batteries, always follow manufacturer recommendations on LiPo bags for how many mAh’s it can safely contain. It’s ALWAYS worth investing in an (under $10) explosion-proof LiPo bag or ammo can.

5. Do not use your flight case/travel case for long term LiPo storage. The foam and plastic in these cases can help spread a LiPo fire. Always use a fire proof container such as a metal ammo box or fire proof safe for storage.

6. Never leave your LiPo batteries charging while unattended. If a battery starts to become puffy, smoke, or catches fire you need to be able to immediately handle the situation. Walking away for even just 5 minutes can spell disaster.

7. A LiPo fire is a chemical fire. Always keep a Class D fire extinguisher nearby your battery charging/discharging and storage area. The battery charging/discharging and storage area should be free from any materials which can catch fire such as wood tables, carpet, or gasoline containers. The ideal surface for charging and storing LiPo batteries is concrete or ceramic.

8. Never overcharge a LiPo battery. Typically a full charge is 4.2v per cell. Never “trickle” charge a LiPo battery.

9. Never discharge a LiPo battery below 3.0v per cell. Ideally you never want to go below 3.2v per cell to maintain a healthy battery. 2.9v per cell and lower is causing permanent damage.

10. Never leave your LiPo batteries sitting around on a full charge for more than 2-3 days. If by the 3rd day you realize you are not going to use your battery today, you need to discharge your battery down to 3.6v-3.8v per cell for safe storage until you are ready to use the battery again.

11. Always store your LiPo batteries at room temperature. Do not store them in a hot garage, or in a cold refrigerator. Even though a cold battery has less chemical reaction taking place which can prolong its lifespan, taking a battery out from a cold fridge can cause condensation to occur on the inside of the battery, which can be very dangerous.

12. Always remember that heat is the number one enemy of LiPo batteries. The hotter your batteries get, the shorter their lifespan will be. Never charge a battery that is still warm from usage, and never use a battery that is still warm from charging.

13. Depending on how they are used, most LiPo batteries typically do not last longer than 300 charge cycles. Leaving them around on a full or depleted charge all the time, running them completely dead, or exposing them to high temperatures will shorten this lifespan dramatically.

14. LiPo batteries do not work well in cold weather. The colder it is, the shorter your run times will be due to the slowing down of the chemical activity within the battery. If it is below 14F (-10C), LiPo usage is not recommended at all. Your battery could cause your R/C vehicle to suddenly fail without warning in these temperatures.

15. Always pack your LiPo batteries in your carry-on bag and never in your checked baggage when traveling on an airplane. It’s the law.

The average PMD user (young, stupid, ah beng loser, m&d loser) does not possess the intelligence to understand how volatile LiPo batteries are.

Yes, Lithium Ion Polymer (or Lipo) batteries are not to be messed with.
http://thedronegirl.com/2015/02/07/lipo-battery/

1. Never charge, discharge, use, or store a damaged or puffy LiPo battery. Immediately follow proper disposal protocols.

2. Avoid purchasing used LiPo batteries. You never know what the previous owner did with them and they could already be badly damaged. “LiPo Battery Like New, Used Once” is usually a scam and should be avoided.

3. Always use a proper LiPo battery balance charger/discharger when charging and discharging your LiPos. It is crucial that all cells in a LiPo battery maintain the same voltage across all cells at all times. If the voltages across the cells deviate too much from each other (5mV ~ 10Mv), the battery can become unstable and dangerous. (Unless it’s a single cell LiPo, in which case you do not need to worry about cell balance).

4. Always use a fire proof LiPo safety bag, metal ammo box, or other fire proof container when you are charging, discharging, or storing your LiPo batteries. While LiPo fires are rare, they can happen incredibly quickly and can do a lot of damage. All it takes is an internal short circuit to set the battery off. There is no way to predict when it will happen. It does tend to happen more often when batteries are fully charged, being overcharged, or while being discharged, but it can happen to any LiPo at any time. Never fill the container to capacity with your batteries, always follow manufacturer recommendations on LiPo bags for how many mAh’s it can safely contain. It’s ALWAYS worth investing in an (under $10) explosion-proof LiPo bag or ammo can.

5. Do not use your flight case/travel case for long term LiPo storage. The foam and plastic in these cases can help spread a LiPo fire. Always use a fire proof container such as a metal ammo box or fire proof safe for storage.

6. Never leave your LiPo batteries charging while unattended. If a battery starts to become puffy, smoke, or catches fire you need to be able to immediately handle the situation. Walking away for even just 5 minutes can spell disaster.

7. A LiPo fire is a chemical fire. Always keep a Class D fire extinguisher nearby your battery charging/discharging and storage area. The battery charging/discharging and storage area should be free from any materials which can catch fire such as wood tables, carpet, or gasoline containers. The ideal surface for charging and storing LiPo batteries is concrete or ceramic.

8. Never overcharge a LiPo battery. Typically a full charge is 4.2v per cell. Never “trickle” charge a LiPo battery.

9. Never discharge a LiPo battery below 3.0v per cell. Ideally you never want to go below 3.2v per cell to maintain a healthy battery. 2.9v per cell and lower is causing permanent damage.

10. Never leave your LiPo batteries sitting around on a full charge for more than 2-3 days. If by the 3rd day you realize you are not going to use your battery today, you need to discharge your battery down to 3.6v-3.8v per cell for safe storage until you are ready to use the battery again.

11. Always store your LiPo batteries at room temperature. Do not store them in a hot garage, or in a cold refrigerator. Even though a cold battery has less chemical reaction taking place which can prolong its lifespan, taking a battery out from a cold fridge can cause condensation to occur on the inside of the battery, which can be very dangerous.

12. Always remember that heat is the number one enemy of LiPo batteries. The hotter your batteries get, the shorter their lifespan will be. Never charge a battery that is still warm from usage, and never use a battery that is still warm from charging.

13. Depending on how they are used, most LiPo batteries typically do not last longer than 300 charge cycles. Leaving them around on a full or depleted charge all the time, running them completely dead, or exposing them to high temperatures will shorten this lifespan dramatically.

14. LiPo batteries do not work well in cold weather. The colder it is, the shorter your run times will be due to the slowing down of the chemical activity within the battery. If it is below 14F (-10C), LiPo usage is not recommended at all. Your battery could cause your R/C vehicle to suddenly fail without warning in these temperatures.

15. Always pack your LiPo batteries in your carry-on bag and never in your checked baggage when traveling on an airplane. It’s the law.
Again FUCK PAP! From FTs to PMDs! FUCK PAP :FU::FU::FU:

Leepotism

They are waiting for the first fatality before they will act. Fuck the pap:FU:
Already happened!

Man, 41, may be first PMD-fire fatality here
NP_20190722_FIRE22_4993633.jpg
The fire happened in Bukit Batok in the wee hours of last Thursday. PHOTO: TNP READER
Neighbours worried about e-scooters being charged in flats after Bukit Batok resident dies in hospital from burn injuries

A Bukit Batok resident is possibly the first fatal victim here of a fire caused by a Personal Mobility Device (PMD) being charged.
Mr Goh Keng Soon, 41, was unconscious when he was rescued by Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) firefighters from his burning flat in Bukit Batok in the early hours of last Thursday.
Mr Goh, who had third-degree burns on 40 per cent of his body, died at the Singapore General Hospital (SGH) on Saturday afternoon.
He was a private-hire car driver, Shin Min Daily News reported yesterday.
After the fire, Bukit Batok Member of Parliament Murali Pillai posted on Facebook that "the cause was traced to two e-scooters".

The New Paper understands that Mr Goh's cause of death can be confirmed only after investigations are completed and the coroner's report is released.

SINGAPORE

Already happened!

Man, 41, may be first PMD-fire fatality here
NP_20190722_FIRE22_4993633.jpg
The fire happened in Bukit Batok in the wee hours of last Thursday. PHOTO: TNP READER
Neighbours worried about e-scooters being charged in flats after Bukit Batok resident dies in hospital from burn injuries

A Bukit Batok resident is possibly the first fatal victim here of a fire caused by a Personal Mobility Device (PMD) being charged.
Mr Goh Keng Soon, 41, was unconscious when he was rescued by Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) firefighters from his burning flat in Bukit Batok in the early hours of last Thursday.
Mr Goh, who had third-degree burns on 40 per cent of his body, died at the Singapore General Hospital (SGH) on Saturday afternoon.
He was a private-hire car driver, Shin Min Daily News reported yesterday.
After the fire, Bukit Batok Member of Parliament Murali Pillai posted on Facebook that "the cause was traced to two e-scooters".

The New Paper understands that Mr Goh's cause of death can be confirmed only after investigations are completed and the coroner's report is released.

SINGAPORE
OMG! Really happened! Only yesterday. FUCK THE PAP!

https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/man-41-may-be-first-pmd-fire-fatality-here

The coordinating MP for People's Action Party town councils, Dr Teo Ho Pin, told TNP: "Charging PMDs at home poses certain fire risks. It is crucial that we educate PMD owners to only purchase reliable and certified PMDs."

Good luck enforcing that when anyone could buy cheap China-made PMDs from Lazada or Qoo. :rolleyes: