Another lonely death....

THE 75-year-old woman was dead, but no one realised it until a few days later when her rubbish-filled flat began to smell even more than usual.

Her body was found in her seventh-storey flat in Block 209, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 at about 5pm last Friday (Nov 30).

Neighbours said that the woman, known only as Miss Tan, had lived there for more than 30 years and that she collected rubbish.

Oh noes, now who will collect the rubbish?

We lost another 75-year old economic digit who could make herself useful and contribute to the workforce... RIP. :(

I ever saw a old uncle collect plate in restaurant and collapse suddenly.....

I am so worry I end up like him when I am old...

So sad.....is human life so tragic?

Reminded me of this song.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/MqVnfiTbKQk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

this is terrible. in fact, more and more elderly are working in the various industries....cleaners, dish washers, jaga toilets, running food stalls in kopitiam and food court....you see them looking sick, looking unhappy and looking sad and miserable...

you order something, they can't hear. you shout into their ears, they get angry. you give you a sour look. spoil your appetite. they got scalded. their plates and utensils smashing the floor. they got accidents. the fell and injured themselves. sometimes, they splashed meesiam gravy into your baju.they block your way. they clean the tables with a dirty wet cloth that also spills over to you...

it's a miserable elderly world down here....and for those who are living alone ..dying is a lonely lonely death....

too poor to see doctor...too weak to see doctor....too sick to move out....too lonely to cook....so just collect garbages, horde them and then die a lonely pathetic death...with all their garbage collections. what a terrible lonely death...

it's a miserable elderly world down here....and for those who are living alone ..dying is a lonely lonely death....

too poor to see doctor...too weak to see doctor....too sick to move out....too lonely to cook....so just collect garbages, horde them and then die a lonely pathetic death...with all their garbage collections. what a terrible lonely death...

Death is not lonely lah. It is only lonely when they're alive. Once dead, all loneliness fades away in an instant. It's a relief from the pathetic existence.

Main point for anyone getting on in years is to have all of one's matters in order, and, more to the point, to simplify one's life by disposing of many personal items. This will make it easier for family members when the day arrives.

a few years ago, my dad's friend shipped me a classic folding bike DHL from melbourne. he said he and his wife were at an age where they were giving things away....
a lot of peeps don't understand that

you can see the bickerton bicycle http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bickerton_(bicycle)
at lifecycles in rangoon rd

I ever saw a old uncle collect plate in restaurant and collapse suddenly.....

I am so worry I end up like him when I am old...

So sad.....is human life so tragic?

Sinkie human life is. Name me another country that exhorts its citizens to (quite literally) work towards their graves.

this is sad. i have talked to a few of these working uncles and aunties.most of them have no children to support them. those who have children also have abandoned them. so they are quite a pathetic lot. many suffering from chronic diseases and they told me they have to work to pay for the "expensive" medications!...what a sad and lonely life indeed!!!

Death is not lonely lah. It is only lonely when they're alive. Once dead, all loneliness fades away in an instant. It's a relief from the pathetic existence.

i got your drift. death is nothingness - everything gone. but the process of dying and terminal stage is scary, painful, anguishing and pathetically lonely if you do not have anyone...it's hell to stay alive even for one moment just before you close your eyes and say good-bye.....i saw my dad pass on....i saw my mum pass on.....unforgettable anguish in their eyes just before they passed on....

live a happy and wholesome life and your death will be peaceful....nirvanic:)

i agree. im not afraid of death, just the pain and suffering before it. best thing is to sleep peacefully and never wake up

this is sad. i have talked to a few of these working uncles and aunties.most of them have no children to support them. those who have children also have abandoned them. so they are quite a pathetic lot. many suffering from chronic diseases and they told me they have to work to pay for the "expensive" medications!...what a sad and lonely life indeed!!!

Who did they vote for?

Lonely death... My elderly parents are so worried that they would add extra burden... They say that if either one pass away, send the remaining one to stay in an old folks home...

Sad life in Sinkapore...

Lonely death... My elderly parents are so worried that they would add extra burden... They say that if either one pass away, send the remaining one to stay in an old folks home...

Sad life in Sinkapore...

The govt must make a major effort to deal with the issue of elderly and hospice care. There should be substantial provision for this. Eventually each person's CPF should be allowed to pay for such care.

lianbeng not surprised many people will be left to die n rot alone!:D

In the eyes of pap.....these useless old folks are machiam stray cats and dogs...
Die faster the better to free up a valuable slot for their beloved FTs