• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another Foreign SBS Driver Lost His Way

http://singaporenewsalternative.blogspot.sg/2012/12/sbs-transts-passengers-taken-for-ride.html?m=1
Thursday, December 06, 2012
SBS Transit's passengers taken for a ride by foreign bus driver
Stomp.com.sg, 6 Dec 2012
"At about 4.45pm today (Dec 6), my friend boarded Bus number 21 at City Plaza in the Geylang area.
"As the bus was reaching Eunos MRT, instead of turning left to Eunos, he went straight to Upper Changi Road.
"Furthermore, when he noticed that he had gone on the wrong route, he went into a narrow road inside a private housing estate along Upper Changi Road.
"The whole bus went into a panic but the driver did not understand English. Full story
singaporenewsalternative at Thursday, December 06, 2012
No comments:

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

[h=2]PRC bus driver drives into private housing estate panicking commuters[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
December 8th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

bus_driver_misses_turn_and_sends_commuters_into_panic-thumbnail-300x180.jpg
A netizen has posted a note on STOMP describing his friend’s harrowing experience commuting on a SBS bus.
The netizen said that his friend boarded SBS bus number 21 at City Plaza in the Geylang area in the late afternoon on 6 Dec.
As the bus was reaching Eunos MRT, instead of taking the usual route and turning left to Eunos, the bus went straight to Upper Changi Road instead.
Noticing that he had taken the wrong route, the bus driver quickly went into a narrow road inside a private housing estate along Upper Changi Road.
A passenger in white (see pic) had to guide the driver through the narrow road.
The netizen’s friend recounted that the whole bus went into a panic but the driver did not understand English.
Since the driver did not understand English, one can only assume that the driver is probably from PRC.
It’s not known why our bus operators continue to hire PRC bus drivers since they have severe difficulty communicating in English. Many non-Chinese speaking Singaporeans as well as tourists have problems conversing with the driver especially when they have to ask him for directions.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

wendychan

no english?

Our Ref: BS-CT-1212-0011

Dear Wendy

This is to acknowledge we have received your feedback on 26 November 2012 and wish to apologise for your unpleasant experience.

We would like to share that the supervisor of the Service Leader(SL) has been duly informed of the incident. We will also launch an investigation to look into your feedback and appropriate disciplinary action will be taken if the SL is found to have been negligent or infringed safety standards when carrying out his duties. Rest assured that we will look into this matter and determine the appropriate action to take against the SL concerned. Please be assured that the mentioned SL also closely monitored and your feedback will be noted in his record and taken into account during his annual performance appraisal.

We would also like to share with you that prior to allowing our SLs to drive on our roads, all our SLs, especially those who are not local are sent for a basic English language course. However, we do recognise that some of our drivers are still not very conversant in the language as it takes time for one to adapt to a new language. Please be assured that we do arrange English language refresher training for our SLs and will continue to train our them better.

As a service provider, we take a serious view of issues pertaining to safety and lapses will not be condoned. To foster a safety culture amongst our Service Leaders, we conduct regular dialogue sessions, refresher courses and where appropriate; disseminate reminders on the importance of adhering to safety guidelines, being mindful of the wellbeing of our passengers and the safety of other road users.

We appreciate you for highlighting this matter to us and look forward to providing you with a better in future.

Yours sincerely

Kalaivani Jayaram

Customer Relations

SMRT Corporation Ltd

batman1

Why drivers they embellished with high-sounding titles like service leaders or bus captains ?

GenghisKHAN

What a piece of lousy letter writing; so full of sentence structure errors and grammatical mistakes. If Kalaivani Jayaram writes like this, we're not the least surprised that SMRT's Service Leaders are worse off in their English language proficiency.

Thick Face Black Heart

Does any bleeding heart liberal here still want to SUPPORT the PRC bus drivers strike?

Incompetence at job and want to strike for better wages?

Go buy a clue first.

Bigfuck

We would like to ensure you that SMRT is a bunch cock sucking Leegime cheebyes that spend more time sucking people's money to hold kopi breaks for the cocksucking management and will not incriminate themselves for all the negligience that has transgressed for over 10 years. SMRT will fuck and fuck and the citizens of Singapore. We thank you for your kind understanding.

Bigfuck

What a piece of lousy letter writing; so full of sentence structure errors and grammatical mistakes. If Kalaivani Jayaram writes like this, we're not the least surprised that SMRT's Service Leaders are worse off in their English language proficiency.

Point out all the mistakes leh. Show how cocksucking SMRT cocksuckers are leh/

kingrant

Agree with you. SDP, VW, and F8 shld all channel their energies into fighting for the homeless, the poor, the low-income families and the disenfranchised "unionised" but powerless LOCAL workers in Singapore than waste time on PRCs who earn their keep and fuck off home.

Does any bleeding heart liberal here still want to SUPPORT the PRC bus drivers strike?

Incompetence at job and want to strike for better wages?

Go buy a clue first.

One day an Ah Tiong driver will mistakenly drive his bus full of passengers to Lim Chu Kang cemetery instead of Choa Chu Kang Bus Interchange..

Thick Face Black Heart

Agree with you. SDP, VW, and F8 shld all channel their energies into fighting for the homeless, the poor, the low-income families and the disenfranchised "unionised" but powerless LOCAL workers in Singapore than waste time on PRCs who earn their keep and fuck off home.

SDP pitched their message right. VW has to thread carefully. If he keeps hammering the issue from only one angle, people will forget SDP's message and get confused.

borom

Like I have said in another thread, these PRC drivers are not here to serve locals or tourist but the pappy's beloved PRC immigrants and workers.

There are millions of people in this world who can speak English from poor regions eg Burma, Bangladesh, East Malaysia ect2 but why do the pappy owned bus companies insist on PRC's-despite their record of poor service, rudeness and accidents.

After giving these PRC's scholarships and jobs AT THE EXPENSE OF LOCALS, they now have to make sure their treasured PRC's can get around and feel at home with PRC drivers.How many times have we heard the Ministers exhorting locals to give way to and accomodate foreigners.

Even MRT stations are announced in Mandarin (and not Tamil/Malay)in a trial claiming its to benefit older folks-but why not before this place was infested with these PRC pest.

I do not know when the 60% will wake up-or must they wait until someone close to them got killed by a PRC driver or miss their exams (because of PRC driver getting lost/go on strike) .

Thick Face Black Heart

Without new media and the internet, how many of us would ever know that such things occurred?

This is crazy. We had one PRC driver going off for a 2 hour joy ride on the expressway, and now another one goes on a voyeuristic tour of the housing estate.

This has got to stop. You're disrupting people's lives, businesses, family time, plans for the weekend, etc.

What if this happened when a student needed to take her PSLE, GCE or university exams? How are you going to compensate the student to fail one subject because of your fucked up incompetence.

How are you going to compensate a businessman who lose a $10,000 deal because you took him on a one hour excursion.

Fucking piece of shits.

Its time to raise bus fares to prevent such problems in the future.

I have to agree with you....increase fare and invest in some GPS hardware.
For those who kpkb about being taken on joyrides or delays can buy a car or take a cab....cannot afford then stfu

GenghisKHAN

Point out all the mistakes leh. Show how cocksucking SMRT cocksuckers are leh/

Bro, I'm using a tablet and my fingers are too large for the keys on my keyboard, so cannot write long posts.

Anyhow, in summary, she mixes her present, past and past participle tenses like mixing a bowl of rojak. Also, for a basic example, she uses "would" and "will", as if they're interchangeable in her sentences, which is sloppy English, since this is an official letter she is writing. Hence, her use of tenses should be precise and accurate and not "we would and we will and we would", like mixing rojak.

Its time to raise bus fares to prevent such problems in the future.

So clever this one, raise the commuters salaries, who have to pay more for fares, so that, those in higher management get paid more, to be productive & attentive , who in return raise the "team leaders" "captains" salaries, who will be less problematic & know, every spoken language here & routes & roads..

and repeat...go round, round, round...and we all will drown!!!!!!:mad:

Kinana

So clever this one, raise the commuters salaries, who have to pay more for fares, so that, those in higher management get paid more, to be productive & attentive , who in return raise the "team leaders" "captains" salaries, who will be less problematic & know, every spoken language here & routes & roads..

and repeat...go round, round, round...and we all will drown!!!!!!:mad:

To pay for the poor drivers who are underpaid bro.
You want higher pay too right? Just like them.