Angmor Masterchef judges act like experts in SEA cuisine and culture

angmos are spoilt by nasi lemak sinkie chinkie style where it cums with fried wings, so they think all nasi lemak variants with rendang must have fried chicken. they don’t know jackshit that rendang as a standalone dish is stewed for hours. all they know is messed up shit served in sg.

Simple nasi lemak (coconut rice) wrapped with banana leaf with just ikan bilis or ikan kembung, egg, nuts, timun and of course the sambal. Enough already. Shiok! Original version. But if U go add fried chicken, hot dog, otak2, fish cake etc etc...become nasi campur.

The Sydney Morning Herald

'Whitesplaining': MasterChef UK's take on rendang curry riles Southeast Asians
photo of chicken rendang on Twitter and light-heartedly asking whether anyone has ever eaten a crispy chicken curry. Malaysian Foreign Minister Anifah Aman said the judges were guilty of "whitesplaining."

The contestant, Zaleha Kadir Olpin, was eliminated from the competition but took to Instagram to vow she'd never stop cooking the traditional way.

6949fbe787971db03c6872d9e533c3ec29cf1999

UK Masterchef judges John Torode and Gregg Wallace.

Her offending rendang was presented as part of Malaysia's national dish, nasi lemak, or rice cooked in coconut milk that comes with sides such as peanuts, spicy prawns and rendang.

The judges lavished praise on most of the ingredients but dismissed the non-crispy chicken rendang as a "mistake."

One of the judges, John Torode, later stirred more controversy online by trying to fuel the ages-old war of words between Malaysians and Indonesians over which country invented rendang.

However the absurdity of the crispy curry saga has provided the neighbouring countries with a rare point of agreement.

The curry, which some suggest originates from West Sumatra in Indonesia, is popular in Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Brunei and southern Thailand.

MasterChef judges have always been pompous assholes. This time they've got their foot in their mouths.

and I also can't stand one of the judges John Torode. he's done a number of travel series shows in Asia but you can always tell how insincere he is when talking to local people

Simple nasi lemak (coconut rice) wrapped with banana leaf with just ikan bilis or ikan kembung, egg, nuts, timun and of course the sambal. Enough already. Shiok! Original version. But if U go add fried chicken, hot dog, otak2, fish cake etc etc...become nasi campur.
yes, thanks for reminding me about nasi campur. i asked for nasi lemak at chinkie uncle stall in bedok as i saw fried ikan bilis and peanuts on the display but he gave me nasi campur (with wings) and charged me more. bait and switch. will only eat nasi lemak from malay stall from now onwards.

Bro,
ikan kuning better, imho

Ang Moh are rubbish. Especially when they try to pretend knowledge about Asia. But there are still even more foolish Asian to appreciate Ang Moh talking craps because they know even lesser than these Ang Moh clowns. Ang Moh look at things from animalistic point of views and angles. You teach them good things also won't stay in their brains.

Without the Ang Mohs Asians would still be living in tree houses. You should show more gratitude.