• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang mohs laugh at Ho Ching's stupidity

imperialarms

Singapore's Temasek Stumbles Again

Written by Our Correspondent
Sunday, 16 November 2008

The island republic's premier sovereign wealth fund takes another massive writeoff

Although global markets have stabilized at least temporarily over the last couple of weeks, there is no sign of a letup for Temasek, the Singapore sovereign wealth fund that has already chalked up massive paper losses from its exposure to the world’s ailing banks.

Temasek looks likely to have lost its entire S$400m (US$270m) investment in ABC Learning Centres, the recently-collapsed Australian childcare provider, and there are growing concerns that the fund may have to help bail out the Marina Bay Sands casino project in Singapore as owner Las Vegas Sands creaks under a mountain of debt.

If last year, when Temasek built multi-billion dollar stakes in the once mighty Merrill Lynch and the UK banks Barclays and Standard Chartered, was a bad time to be putting money into the financial services sector, then now is not exactly the ideal moment to be pushed into a big investment in Singapore’s nascent casino industry.

Like other investors enticed by the dramatic gains on offer in a late-stage bull market, Temasek - which is run by Ho Ching, the wife of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - appears to have had the canny knack of buying right at the top of the market and then watching its investments slide in value. Even as the first warning signs of serious problems in the banking sector appeared in the first half of last year, Temasek continued to pump money into the financial services industry, which now accounts for 40 percent of its S$185 billion (US$124 billion) portfolio.

The_Latest_H

Singapore's Temasek Stumbles Again

Written by Our Correspondent
Sunday, 16 November 2008

The island republic's premier sovereign wealth fund takes another massive writeoff

Although global markets have stabilized at least temporarily over the last couple of weeks, there is no sign of a letup for Temasek, the Singapore sovereign wealth fund that has already chalked up massive paper losses from its exposure to the world’s ailing banks.

Temasek looks likely to have lost its entire S$400m (US$270m) investment in ABC Learning Centres, the recently-collapsed Australian childcare provider, and there are growing concerns that the fund may have to help bail out the Marina Bay Sands casino project in Singapore as owner Las Vegas Sands creaks under a mountain of debt.

If last year, when Temasek built multi-billion dollar stakes in the once mighty Merrill Lynch and the UK banks Barclays and Standard Chartered, was a bad time to be putting money into the financial services sector, then now is not exactly the ideal moment to be pushed into a big investment in Singapore’s nascent casino industry.

Like other investors enticed by the dramatic gains on offer in a late-stage bull market, Temasek - which is run by Ho Ching, the wife of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - appears to have had the canny knack of buying right at the top of the market and then watching its investments slide in value. Even as the first warning signs of serious problems in the banking sector appeared in the first half of last year, Temasek continued to pump money into the financial services industry, which now accounts for 40 percent of its S$185 billion (US$124 billion) portfolio.

The investment in ABC Learning Centres surprised me. I mean don't Ho Ching know anything about the stuff she's considering investing? Did she do her homework, or is she buying as if its like lottery: buy and hope?

people president scholar leh

can memorise all the maths and all the formula like the nobody business

dun underestimate PAP education system that build for third world country to supply manpower to multinational leh

wait, we are no more third world , what to do with education system??????????
die lor....

The_Latest_H

dun underestimate PAP education system that build for third world country to supply manpower to multinational leh

die lor....

A President's Scholar with no judgment is equivalent to a military general who has no sense of warfare strategies and tactics. In the end, without EQ, IQ is useless. You need scholarly smarts for sure, but you also need street smarts.

Just ask someone like General David H. Petraeus, who has both. Or look back to someone like US President Nixon, who had all the IQ in the world, but hadn't had the judgment in the important matters, which in the end, ended his presidential run.

A President's Scholar with no judgment is equivalent to a military general who has no sense of warfare strategies and tactics. In the end, without EQ, IQ is useless. You need scholarly smarts for sure, but you also need street smarts.

Just ask someone like General David H. Petraeus, who has both. Or look back to someone like US President Nixon, who had all the IQ in the world, but hadn't had the judgment in the important matters, which in the end, ended his presidential run.

dun anyhow insult the arm chair scholar generals of singapore hor. when come to take order from pap to restore law and order in the street, they will order the troops to shoot the protesting civilians with GPMG. you think pap paid them stack of cashs to do what? defend the country from foreign invader? hack, FT and FW are welcome in Singapore. They dun have to invade.

you type in ho ching in wikipedia.

what did you learn in school??? do you know there is a road name after her.

bebo

Temasek looks likely to have lost its entire S$400m (US$270m) investment in ABC Learning Centres, the recently-collapsed Australian childcare provider

Of all industry, why did Temasek invest in a child care provider?

Is the child care provider really worth S$400m?

For S$400m, Temasek could have start any business and make money from there!

banova888

Of all industry, why did Temasek invest in a child care provider?

Is the child care provider really worth S$400m?

For S$400m, Temasek could have start any business and make money from there!

$400m is more than enough to start a childcare business in Singapore.

Tailok

Even the top CEO's of companies who lost big $$$$$ know how to bow out in dignity. This bloody bitch just dun care. :mad:

Leegimeremover

Only with people like her can ang mohs jetset around the world and fuck 20000 USD prostitutes on some suckers's money, aka Singapore taxpayers.

eQuipment

$400m is more than enough to start a childcare business in Singapore.
$400m can be distributed to every citizen household, to compensate wives to stay home shake leg & make babies, and afford a maid to handle the labour intensive chores/errands at home.

In doing so, free up more job vacancies in the job mkt for freshies & retirement denied seniors to fill.

Hope

The investment in ABC Learning Centres surprised me. I mean don't Ho Ching know anything about the stuff she's considering investing? Did she do her homework, or is she buying as if its like lottery: buy and hope?
I believ that it was a con job,the father anhd daughter in law team kena conned a cold $400 million,but not their money,why should they bother.

Perhaps even retort as usual:

We are prepared to losde more of yr CPF,what can you do?

HeHe,stupid 66.67%,blame no one but yrself

die lor....

I have worked with people, good with their books, stellar qualifications from Singapore, but streewise wnd workwise....FARKED UP!.

Leegimeremover

$400m can be distributed to every citizen household, to compensate wives to stay home shake leg & make babies, and afford a maid to handle the labour intensive chores/errands at home.

In doing so, free up more job vacancies in the job mkt for freshies & retirement denied seniors to fill.

You see PAP jealous and fucked maths. I would fill it up with FTs and collect levies to get back the 400 million and create new jobs or training for freshies and retirement denied seniors. Seniors as gardeners to make Singapore a green city is the best idea. Make them look after real garden plants, not fuck shit. Lengthen their lifespan while provide good service and calm their nerves.
Old people for gardens is the best. Not roadsweepers, okay?

The_Latest_H

dun anyhow insult the arm chair scholar generals of singapore hor. when come to take order from pap to restore law and order in the street, they will order the troops to shoot the protesting civilians with GPMG. you think pap paid them stack of cashs to do what? defend the country from foreign invader? hack, FT and FW are welcome in Singapore. They dun have to invade.

*laughs*

If they seriously do that, then by that time, I would doubt whether did they sign up to protect the country, or just to protect a political party.

Leegimeremover

*laughs*

If they seriously do that, then by that time, I would doubt whether did they sign up to protect the country, or just to protect a political party.

they are kept in SOEs as clowns because afraid some Russian or PRC meimei scissor clamp them with their cheebyes and make them leak military worthless secrets. Yes nor sir charge you is a joke in any proper MNC. These are glorified positions of chorbolan. I know a few jokers from PRC now hired as Vice Presidents of big Eurotrash companies. Skill? English literature and PRC govt. job for all their life, not related to business. Tells u a lot.