• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Mo Kio eggs..

Bro, which is why i dont caLL you a sifu for nothings; am sure you have many cuLinary know-hows up your sLeeves.
:)

My sleeves use to be very long, all my recipes all hilang inside, so these days i wear short sleeve but no where to hide my secret recipes, again all hilang! like that how? what to do? i can only recall & advice when someone asks.. if not all also hilang naluri :rolleyes:

Quote Originally Posted by roadrunner

"or step 3 & 4 can do like this.. slice tomatoes in 1/2 & scoop out all the seeds & wet squidgy bits inside & chop the fleshy parts of the tomatoes into chunks. Tomatoes & egg dishes are quite common in farming communities in most countries, some don't even have a name for it, just google tomatoes & egg recipe."

Thanks Bro for the suggestion.

No thanks need, practical cooking, see got short cut sure must use! :D

Sidetrack...any noticed if the eggs in supermarket now are getting smaller in size?

Actually Narong, the eggs in Supermarket have gotten bigger, induced with growth hormones, steroids and other additives. The only eggs that have gotten smaller (or actually remained the same size) are kampung chicken eggs.

Spring Onions mixed with eggs taste good to me at least. Some prefer to add PRAWNS !

Omelette also not bad...

There's PRC version dumbass, ur egg picture overcooked :D:D

Of course the omelete has to be overcooked, when you use tomatoes you have to cook until dry or else the whole damn omelete will be fucking soggy.

I thought as a Cantonese you should know this.

Of course the omelete has to be overcooked, when you use tomatoes you have to cook until dry or else the whole damn omelete will be fucking soggy.

I thought as a Cantonese you should know this.
PRC version is to retain reduced tomato juice mix with the 80% cooked omellete, it has to be wet rather than dry...
PRC version are cooked like this....

4728078601_b80d336584.jpg

Overcooked omellete is not a good omellete :D:D:D

Actually Narong, the eggs in Supermarket have gotten bigger, induced with growth hormones, steroids and other additives. The only eggs that have gotten smaller (or actually remained the same size) are kampung chicken eggs.

supermarkets on my side are starting to sell more smaller organic "brown" eggs from range-free chickens. demand is astonishingly high even though they are more expensive. even smaller range-free "yellow" chickens are being sold now from the poultry counter. the yellowness of the yolk is also being craved by housewives and pastry chefs alike. parents in their quest for healthier organic food don't wish their daughters to develop bouncy boobs by the age of 11. :p

10 for $2.30 now I think is still ok, but I find the eggs now quite weird, put the normal temp egg in boiling water for 2 minutes, then put it aside to let it cook slowly, the egg still not hard boiled, knn....

Overcooked omellete is not a good omellete :D:D:D

that's not an omellete. that looks more like scrambled eggs. an omellete has to be adequately cooked, not necessarily overcooked, for it to be rolled into a half circle or tube to hold ingredients within. and the ingredients need to be cooked thru' the protective cover of the omellete. :D

10 for $2.30 now I think is still ok, but I find the eggs now quite weird, put the normal temp in boiling water for 2 minutes, then put it aside to let it cook slowly, the egg still not hard boiled, knn....

that's perfect timing for half boiled eggs, my favorite! :D

that's not an omellete. that looks more like scrambled eggs. an omellete has to be adequately cooked, not necessarily overcooked, for it to be rolled into a half circle or tube to hold ingredients within. and the ingredients need to be cooked thru' the protective cover of the omellete. :D
ahh, mixed it up with scrambled egg, lol

..even smaller range-free "yellow" chickens are being sold now from the poultry counter. the yellowness of the yolk is also being craved by housewives and pastry chefs alike. parents in their quest for healthier organic food don't wish their daughters to develop bouncy boobs by the age of 11. :p

Corn fed chicken or feed that is tainted with yellow colouring = yellow skin chicken & egg yolks also more yellow! this is the latest Con by some unscrupulous poultry farmers, selling these as freerange or organic! Make sure you know your supplier!

.. I find the eggs now quite weird, put the normal temp egg in boiling water for 2 minutes, then put it aside to let it cook slowly, the egg still not hard boiled, knn....

Sounds like your eggs are not fresh! Do this test, crack the egg & pour into a sieve(fine sieve) & see how much of the egg whites drain away, if a lot of the whites drain off, it's past it's best or crack an egg into a bowl & swivel it around, with a fresh egg the whites stick close to the yolk, if it's runny it's old.

Here's a good tip for a hard boiled egg, use a needle & make a single small piercing on the top of your room temp. egg & cook as per your method. What this does is releases the air in the egg when boiling & guarantees a even cooking & the eggshell does not crack & spill out. Also the older the egg, the more air it has inside!

Corn fed chicken or feed that is tainted with yellow colouring = yellow skin chicken & egg yolks also more yellow! this is the latest Con by some unscrupulous poultry farmers, selling these as freerange or organic! Make sure you know your supplier!

good to know. avoid ah tiong owned supermarket and supplier. they are the most unscrupulous. :eek:

avoid ah tiong owned supermarket and supplier. they are the most unscrupulous. :eek:

Yes but very funny leh, grandparents or great grandparents were also AhTiongs & i bet they also did something similar to earn a little extra!:eek: now we're all localised Sinkies & complain about AhTiongs, i guess it's a case of it takes one to know one:D

*kee chiu* *raise hand* great grannies were called suaku suatenglang. grannies were called ahgu ahkow. by the time it came to us, kedang kebau named us as ah hock and ah huat. ah tiong is a very recent manifestation of chicoms with cash. :D

oops. there's the ahbeng generation between ahhock ahhuat and alphonsius angmomia.

*kee chiu* *raise hand* great grannies were called suaku suatenglang. grannies were called ahgu ahkow. by the time it came to us, kedang kebau named us as ah hock and ah huat. ah tiong is a very recent manifestation of chicoms with cash. :D oops. there's the ahbeng generation between ahhock ahhuat and alphonsius angmomia.

I think i can beat your earliest Mountain Tortoise Sua Ku & Sua TengLang & go one or more generations before, this is from the seriously old timer Peranakans in pre-war days who called those coming off the boats from Fujian China as "Sin Khek" aka newly arrived, they were looked down by the rich & educated Peranakans who called them uncouth country bumpkins! :D

Another 1 of my NO NO. I never like tomatoes no matter in whatever ways it is cooked.