• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Android users - Facebook knows which whores you booked

Why Facebook's New Scandal Is the Worst of All
by PAUL WAGENSEIL Mar 27, 2018, 1:32 PM

Forget Cambridge Analytica. The latest Facebook scandal is worse.

The social network silently logged Android users' call and text histories, didn't tell anyone about it, got caught and now claims that Android users consented to it all along and that every other online service does it too. (Hint: They didn't and most don't.)

aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmJlc3RvZm1pY3JvLmNvbS9IL1ovNzYwMTAzL29yaWdpbmFsL3p1Y2tlcmJlcmctZnJhbmNlLXNoc3QuanBn

Credit: Frederic Legrand - COMEO/ShutterstockGetting the full picture from Facebook about this practice has been like trying to keep up with a game of three-card monte. The company has been telling part of the truth, then another part of the truth, all while reassuring the public that this highly invasive practice exists for the sake of users who, even if they didn't know it was happening, would have been happy about it if they had.

Facebook could be given the benefit of the doubt about the Cambridge Analytica mess, which might charitably be seen as the result of naiveté and shortsightedness. But the deliberate deception that Facebook is currently engaged in regarding the call-logging controversy should persuade users to never trust anything from the company again.

People are asked if they want to upload their contact lists, not their entire call and text histories. There's a big difference between the two.

To catch you up on this brouhaha, several people discovered last week, after downloading their Facebook data in the wake of the Cambridge Analytica publicity, that Facebook had secretly logged calls and texts made from their Android phones. These users didn't remember having given Facebook apps permission to do so.

You didn't know you wanted this

When asked about this, Facebook stated that users had in fact consented to sharing their call and text logs when they agreed to let Facebook see their phones' contact lists. The users weren't informed of that when they installed the apps, but Facebook insists that they should have known.

"The most important part of apps and services that help you make connections is to make it easy to find the people you want to connect with. So, the first time you sign in on your phone to a messaging or social app, it's a widely used practice to begin by uploading your phone contacts," read a statement released by Facebook.

MORE: How to Download Your Facebook Posts

"Contact uploading is optional. People are expressly asked if they want to give permission to upload their contacts from their phone — it's explained right there in the apps when you get started. People can delete previously uploaded information at any time and can find all the information available to them in their account and activity log from our Download Your Information tool."

Frankly, that's bogus. People are asked if they want to upload their contact lists, not their entire call and text histories. There's a big difference between the two.

The police normally go to the phone companies when they want to find out when certain calls or texts were made. If I were a cop, I'd get a warrant for a suspect's Facebook records first.
How this was even possible

Furthermore, Facebook doesn't collect text and call logs on iPhones. The only reason it could do so on Android devices, and in some instances still does, is because Android's privacy policies were initially terrible and apps could do almost anything they wanted.

Under Android's old rules, when you gave an app permission to read your contact list, it could also then read your call and text logs. You just didn't know about it.

Google changed this rule in 2012 with Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, but there was a catch. To keep older apps running properly, Android supported the old permissions model for legacy apps until late 2017.

Facebook has some of the best coders and security experts in the world, but for years it seems to have made sure that updates to its Android apps preserved the older software function that enabled it to read user call and text logs. And indeed, several people with devices that never had run older versions of Android nevertheless found that Facebook had their call and text logs right up until the fall of 2017.

What exactly gets collected

To be clear, logging the calls and texts doesn't mean Facebook has the contents of those communications. It has only when they were made, which phone numbers were involved and how long calls lasted.

But that's plenty. This is metadata, the same kind of information that Edward Snowden revealed the NSA had been collecting from Verizon. Metadata can reveal when you called your mother, when you texted your best friend or when took a call from someone with whom you've been having a secret affair.

The police normally go to the phone companies when they want to find out when certain calls or texts were made. But the phone companies keep such records for only a few months. Facebook seems to have been keeping them for at least three years. If I were a cop and I knew this, I'd get a warrant for a suspect's Facebook records first.

MORE: How to Stop Facebook from Sharing Your Data

Facebook now says that call and text logging is only available, and has only ever been available, for Facebook Messenger and Facebook Lite for Android.

That contradicts what several users have found. Sean Gallagher at Ars Technica, whose article on this issue is well worth reading, is sure he'd never installed either app, because neither shows up in his "Installed" list in Google Play. He had installed the regular Facebook app in 2015, and lo and behold, call and text logs show up in his downloaded Facebook files.

There's an enormous breach of trust here. You don't know what else the company might be doing behind your back.

Dancing around the truth

Sean's article got a lot of publicity over this past weekend, and in response, Facebook put up a blog post that seems to dance around the truth.

"Call and text history logging … helps you find and stay connected with the people you care about, and provides you with a better experience across Facebook," the post said.

"We introduced this feature for Android users a couple of years ago. Contact importers are fairly common among social apps and services as a way to more easily find the people you want to connect with. This was first introduced in Messenger in 2015, and later offered as an option in Facebook Lite, a lightweight version of Facebook for Android."

Contact importers are indeed common among both Android and iOS apps. But as far as we're aware, uploading users' call and text histories is not. And we're pretty sure that this practice was in the regular Facebook app as well.

Facebook also insists that it doesn't share or sell the call and text logs with third parties. But it hasn't answered why — and we've asked — why it needs the logs at all.

How to make sure your calls and texts aren't logged

The good news is that this logging no longer occurs in the regular Facebook app for Android. Users of Facebook Lite and Messenger for Android can opt out of it — here's how to do it for one, and for the other— although in the case of Messenger, stopping the logging will also stop the syncing of contact lists.

But that doesn't come close to mitigating the enormous breach of trust that Facebook has committed here. You don't know what else the company might be doing behind your back.

If you haven't already done so, delete the Facebook apps on your phone. Use the mobile browser to access the Facebook mobile website in an incognito or private browsing tab, and use Signal, Apple Messages or WhatsApp (owned by Facebook, but less intrusive) as your messaging client.

On the desktop, use a private browsing or incognito window to access Facebook. Otherwise, it'll just track your movements across the internet.

You could just delete your Facebook account, but that's impractical. Instead, take the above steps to minimize what you give to Facebook.

iPhone users shouldn't be gloating yet though because if she's on an Android phone your mobile number is logged in your whore's facebook account. :po_O

The most secure phones are still the good old 2G antiques. Unfortunately most telcos are closing or have already closed down their 2G networks.

Always there are some silly old fogeys singing praises for Android and dissing iPhones. Where are they hiding now? Vanished! :eek:

While no company is 100% trustworthy I do trust Apple far more when it comes to security and privacy and that is because they have a business model that does not require mining and sharing information from its user base.

Whether this holds true in the future only time will tell.

As for mobile phones made by Chinese companies I am 99% sure that they contain tracking and data capturing scripts which are embedded in the firmware! There is no way the Chinese government would forego the opportunity to track its citizens.

In China George Orwell's predictions are now an absolute reality.

Wanted: Jaywalkers' faces plastered on LED screens at intersections in Shenzhen
27 Mar, 2018 4:58pm
4 minutes to read
NZQ4DJGE75EJHBKCIJ6ETKR6BI.jpg

Shenzhen traffic police began naming and shaming jaywalkers in April last year. Photo / SCMP
Other

South China Morning Post

Traffic police in the southern Chinese city of Shenzhen have always had a reputation for strict enforcement of those flouting road rules in the metropolis of 12 million people.

Now with the help of artificial intelligence and facial recognition technology, jaywalkers will not only be publicly named and shamed, they will be notified of their wrongdoing via instant messaging - along with the fine.

Intellifusion, a Shenzhen-based AI firm that provides technology to the city's police to display the faces of jaywalkers on large LED screens at intersections, is now talking with local mobile phone carriers and social media platforms such as WeChat and Sina Weibo to develop a system where offenders will receive personal text messages as soon as they violate the rules, according to Wang Jun, the company's director of marketing solutions.

ADVERTISEMENT

"Jaywalking has always been an issue in China and can hardly be resolved just by imposing fines or taking photos of the offenders. But a combination of technology and psychology ... can greatly reduce instances of jaywalking and will prevent repeat offences," Wang said.

First-tier Chinese cities like Beijing and Shanghai have already employed AI and facial recognition technology to regulate traffic and identify drivers who violate road rules, while Shenzhen traffic police began displaying photos of jaywalkers on large LED screens at major intersections in April last year.

In other law enforcement applications, police at the Zhengzhou East high speed rail station in Henan province have been equipped with smart glasses with facial recognition software that can identify wanted criminals, while Beijing police are using the world's first surround-body camera with inbuilt facial recognition technology.

For the current system installed in Shenzhen, Intellifusion installed cameras with 7 million pixels of resolution to capture photos of pedestrians crossing the road against traffic lights.

F2O7MEJUJVGVPCLMYGSG33M5Y4.jpg

Jaywalkers will not only be publicly named and shamed, they will be notified of their wrongdoing via instant messaging. Photo / 123rf

Facial recognition technology identifies the individual from a database and displays a photo of the jaywalking offence, the family name of the offender and part of their government identification number on large LED screens above the pavement.

In the 10 months to February this year, as many as 13,930 jaywalking offenders were recorded and displayed on the LED screen at one busy intersection in Futian district, the Shenzhen traffic police announced last month.

While no company is 100% trustworthy I do trust Apple far more when it comes to security and privacy and that is because they have a business model that does not require mining and sharing information from its user base.

Whether this holds true in the future only time will tell.

As for mobile phones made by Chinese companies I am 99% sure that they contain tracking and data capturing scripts which are embedded in the firmware! There is no way the Chinese government would forego the opportunity to track its citizens.

Well reasoned sir. I concur. There had been some high profile data leakages like the Fappening, but our personal information probably isn’t sold to the highest bidder.

The whole of bully PAP gangs are holy grail to Facebook.

Only stupid pinky think Facebook is his IT God.

Why Facebook's New Scandal Is the Worst of All
by PAUL WAGENSEIL Mar 27, 2018, 1:32 PM

Forget Cambridge Analytica. The latest Facebook scandal is worse.

The social network silently logged Android users' call and text histories, didn't tell anyone about it, got caught and now claims that Android users consented to it all along and that every other online service does it too. (Hint: They didn't and most don't.)

aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmJlc3RvZm1pY3JvLmNvbS9IL1ovNzYwMTAzL29yaWdpbmFsL3p1Y2tlcmJlcmctZnJhbmNlLXNoc3QuanBn

Credit: Frederic Legrand - COMEO/ShutterstockGetting the full picture from Facebook about this practice has been like trying to keep up with a game of three-card monte. The company has been telling part of the truth, then another part of the truth, all while reassuring the public that this highly invasive practice exists for the sake of users who, even if they didn't know it was happening, would have been happy about it if they had.

Facebook could be given the benefit of the doubt about the Cambridge Analytica mess, which might charitably be seen as the result of naiveté and shortsightedness. But the deliberate deception that Facebook is currently engaged in regarding the call-logging controversy should persuade users to never trust anything from the company again.

People are asked if they want to upload their contact lists, not their entire call and text histories. There's a big difference between the two.

To catch you up on this brouhaha, several people discovered last week, after downloading their Facebook data in the wake of the Cambridge Analytica publicity, that Facebook had secretly logged calls and texts made from their Android phones. These users didn't remember having given Facebook apps permission to do so.

You didn't know you wanted this

When asked about this, Facebook stated that users had in fact consented to sharing their call and text logs when they agreed to let Facebook see their phones' contact lists. The users weren't informed of that when they installed the apps, but Facebook insists that they should have known.

"The most important part of apps and services that help you make connections is to make it easy to find the people you want to connect with. So, the first time you sign in on your phone to a messaging or social app, it's a widely used practice to begin by uploading your phone contacts," read a statement released by Facebook.

MORE: How to Download Your Facebook Posts

"Contact uploading is optional. People are expressly asked if they want to give permission to upload their contacts from their phone — it's explained right there in the apps when you get started. People can delete previously uploaded information at any time and can find all the information available to them in their account and activity log from our Download Your Information tool."

Frankly, that's bogus. People are asked if they want to upload their contact lists, not their entire call and text histories. There's a big difference between the two.

The police normally go to the phone companies when they want to find out when certain calls or texts were made. If I were a cop, I'd get a warrant for a suspect's Facebook records first.
How this was even possible

Furthermore, Facebook doesn't collect text and call logs on iPhones. The only reason it could do so on Android devices, and in some instances still does, is because Android's privacy policies were initially terrible and apps could do almost anything they wanted.

Under Android's old rules, when you gave an app permission to read your contact list, it could also then read your call and text logs. You just didn't know about it.

Google changed this rule in 2012 with Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, but there was a catch. To keep older apps running properly, Android supported the old permissions model for legacy apps until late 2017.

Facebook has some of the best coders and security experts in the world, but for years it seems to have made sure that updates to its Android apps preserved the older software function that enabled it to read user call and text logs. And indeed, several people with devices that never had run older versions of Android nevertheless found that Facebook had their call and text logs right up until the fall of 2017.

What exactly gets collected

To be clear, logging the calls and texts doesn't mean Facebook has the contents of those communications. It has only when they were made, which phone numbers were involved and how long calls lasted.

But that's plenty. This is metadata, the same kind of information that Edward Snowden revealed the NSA had been collecting from Verizon. Metadata can reveal when you called your mother, when you texted your best friend or when took a call from someone with whom you've been having a secret affair.

The police normally go to the phone companies when they want to find out when certain calls or texts were made. But the phone companies keep such records for only a few months. Facebook seems to have been keeping them for at least three years. If I were a cop and I knew this, I'd get a warrant for a suspect's Facebook records first.

MORE: How to Stop Facebook from Sharing Your Data

Facebook now says that call and text logging is only available, and has only ever been available, for Facebook Messenger and Facebook Lite for Android.

That contradicts what several users have found. Sean Gallagher at Ars Technica, whose article on this issue is well worth reading, is sure he'd never installed either app, because neither shows up in his "Installed" list in Google Play. He had installed the regular Facebook app in 2015, and lo and behold, call and text logs show up in his downloaded Facebook files.

There's an enormous breach of trust here. You don't know what else the company might be doing behind your back.

Dancing around the truth

Sean's article got a lot of publicity over this past weekend, and in response, Facebook put up a blog post that seems to dance around the truth.

"Call and text history logging … helps you find and stay connected with the people you care about, and provides you with a better experience across Facebook," the post said.

"We introduced this feature for Android users a couple of years ago. Contact importers are fairly common among social apps and services as a way to more easily find the people you want to connect with. This was first introduced in Messenger in 2015, and later offered as an option in Facebook Lite, a lightweight version of Facebook for Android."

Contact importers are indeed common among both Android and iOS apps. But as far as we're aware, uploading users' call and text histories is not. And we're pretty sure that this practice was in the regular Facebook app as well.

Facebook also insists that it doesn't share or sell the call and text logs with third parties. But it hasn't answered why — and we've asked — why it needs the logs at all.

How to make sure your calls and texts aren't logged

The good news is that this logging no longer occurs in the regular Facebook app for Android. Users of Facebook Lite and Messenger for Android can opt out of it — here's how to do it for one, and for the other— although in the case of Messenger, stopping the logging will also stop the syncing of contact lists.

But that doesn't come close to mitigating the enormous breach of trust that Facebook has committed here. You don't know what else the company might be doing behind your back.

If you haven't already done so, delete the Facebook apps on your phone. Use the mobile browser to access the Facebook mobile website in an incognito or private browsing tab, and use Signal, Apple Messages or WhatsApp (owned by Facebook, but less intrusive) as your messaging client.

On the desktop, use a private browsing or incognito window to access Facebook. Otherwise, it'll just track your movements across the internet.

You could just delete your Facebook account, but that's impractical. Instead, take the above steps to minimize what you give to Facebook.

And so.... the Chinese are right alk the time. Ban Facebook Google and anything between that are angmoh sry.

iPhone users shouldn't be gloating yet though because if she's on an Android phone your mobile number is logged in your whore's facebook account. :po_O

my uncle say KNN self pawned sinkie vain losers uploading personal data and mma sparring video and bank account to strangers is the stupidest humji of all plus borrow money to feed the vanity.

Cottonmouth

Does Facebook know which girl is a whore??
Just by looking at the number of calls to her, from India, Iran and other cesspools.

Does Facebook know which girl is a whore??
Just by looking at the number of calls to her, from India, Iran and other cesspools.

Facebook does not know but your political or business enemies would pay lots of money for this sort of information. It would be goldmine of advanced weaponry in any war.

Well reasoned sir. I concur. There had been some high profile data leakages like the Fappening, but our personal information probably isn’t sold to the highest bidder.

The data leaks that occurred in the fappening were caused by the users themselves and not because of any security loophole in the Apple database. Famous people were tricked into revealing their passwords via a variety of means often via a phishing email or because usual security checks such as DOB are common knowledge. They might also have used the same password for icloud, dropbox, facebook etc so once one password is obtained the rest of the accounts are compromised.

You want to know, how much facebook had collected information about you, go to settings , scroll down to "Download a copy of your facebook data"....you have to key in your password, then it will be sent to....

After unzipping the file...you get files..like photo, message etc..you will see how how, information you have plastered all over FB..but, the sneaky, secretive tracking ones...you won't get to know.

What you download will be enough to raise your eyebrows...

How much personal data have this forum collected about us?... ha ha ha ha ha

The data leaks that occurred in the fappening were caused by the users themselves and not because of any security loophole in the Apple database. Famous people were tricked into revealing their passwords via a variety of means often via a phishing email or because usual security checks such as DOB are common knowledge. They might also have used the same password for icloud, dropbox, facebook etc so once one password is obtained the rest of the accounts are compromised.

Yes..they stupidly trusting...these attention seeking famous people...

How much personal data have this forum collected about us?... ha ha ha ha ha

To be perfectly honest the only field in this database that might compromise anyone's privacy is your email address. If you registered using the same email address that you use for your daily affairs in real life then anyone who succeeds in hacking this forum can simply use the email address to google for more information.

Anyone worried about their privacy here can re register with a different email address which does not point to you.

One more vulnerability is the content of your PMs (now called conversations in xenforo). If you have disclosed your real identity to some other member now is the time to delete that PM and also request the recipient to do the same.

dancingshoes

come on man! facebook has always been compromised, it's just like storing your files on google drive. you'd be a nitwit if you think there is no survelliance by big brother which is going on.

i am keeping my facebook and google drive cos' i am keeping my evidence and i have dirt to spill on s'pore technologies and the lasup matas.

one thing i dare not is to spill on the aussies but if they keep on harrassing me, i will do a kamikaze. send all evidence to foreign press on the intimidation and harrassment.

if i lose my life in oz, it's definitely not an accident, it's murder.

Victory2016

What can we do?

Use new prepaid phone for comms only. Best is those "ahem" prepaid SIM cards. Or foreign Sim card.
In new phone, do not use google but another browser if need to check internet. Never use this phone to connect to our official emails, fb. Clear history after every session. Change Sim card after a few months.

Use VPN.
Each PC or phone we use a different browser.

Use different comms platform. Telegram. Whatsapp.
Wechat is open book to PRC Public Security Gestapo.

Banking, credit card usage, singpass sites - use a PC that we can afford to let the authorities check. This is the clean PC.

What else can be done to protect ourselves? Or is it too late liau?

What can we do?

Use new prepaid phone for comms only. Best is those "ahem" prepaid SIM cards. Or foreign Sim card.
In new phone, do not use google but another browser if need to check internet. Never use this phone to connect to our official emails, fb. Clear history after every session. Change Sim card after a few months.

Use VPN.
Each PC or phone we use a different browser.

Use different comms platform. Telegram. Whatsapp.
Wechat is open book to PRC Public Security Gestapo.

Banking, credit card usage, singpass sites - use a PC that we can afford to let the authorities check. This is the clean PC.

What else can be done to protect ourselves? Or is it too late liau?

Whatsapp owned by Facebook. It knows your phone number, your circle of friends, and their phone numbers. What you said, how you feel about things. All neatly documented and stored for easy access and analysis. In the wrong hands, even blackmail! :eek: