• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

America’s New Health Insurance

Just heard Obama's long speech to encourage people to apply for his Health Insurance. Seems like many trying to apply as website slow. Anyway I am wondering if anyone here living in USA can share with us here what is this about like is it really good for the average Americans and how is this affecting the economy like is it draining money from the reserves, is this a popularity policy to increase the Democratic popularity. Also why is the Republican so against it to the extend of shutting down the government. Hope can shed some light for the ignorant like me.

same as MedisaveLife boh?

1. True that website were buggy in the first 2 weeks but now they are up and running.
Try it yourself www.healthcare.gov

2. It is more expensive in states that had deregulated insurance that allow insurance companies reject people with preexisting conditions. But it is much cheaper in places that has regulated insurance where insurance companies much cover everyone without discrimination. In new York it dropped by 50%.

3. Most people can keep their current insurance plans bought privately or under their companies. The exception is those with inadequate insurance. These plans were regularised under Obamacare and those under these schemes pay more.

If cpf life is implemented we will see premiums increase across the board by 30-50% because currently premiums are kept cheap through a discrimination process that is used by insurance companies to exclude coverage for preexisting conditions,

Three is no choice now but to do CPF life because uninsured pple can be bankrupted by severe illness as healthcare cost has risen much faster than income. The alternative to do nothing will simply mean more and more horror stories emerging from severely ill uninsured Singaporeans. For it to work everyone must have health insurance. To allow those with health conditions to come i at a reasonable cost, healthy young pple pay more.

Singaporeans always bark like dogs and complain when ask to pay more....myself included. However, this time I support the govt as this is the right thing to do...PROVIDED the govt limit the amount insurance companies can make as they do under Obama care. You can ask me any question on Obama care as I have been tracking it closely.

The greatest fear of republicans is not that Obama care will have detrimental effects but its potential to succeed and benefit 48 million Americans who I do not have insurance today. Why? Because Obama care runs against their philosophy of small hands off govt...they have strong ideological disagreement with it. Much of it result in fear mongering and saying it will destroy the economy.However prior to obamacare healthcare cost was rising at a rate that threaten to devour the economy and cripple it. The Obamacare legislation does pack enough change to rein in healthcare costs and is a new architecture for the healthcare system. The Republicans want to do everything they can to stop and undermine it... The greatest fear is its success

I have a friend who is paying $1200 a month for health insurance for him and his wife. Then there is deductible and co-payment. Health insurance before Obamacare is not cheap.

I predicted Singapore would follow Obamacare for pre-existing conditions and exclusions.

The insurance companies have been making loads of money from premiums, yet discriminating against those with pre-existing conditions and exclusions and hence depriving them of health insurance.

These are the ones who need insurance most.

Insurance is for peace of mind and works on the law of LARGE NUMBERS. But the insurance companies make it a money making machine and turn the concept of investments around to suit their prostituting of investment schemes under the pre-text of insurance.

The Singapore government should put a stop to this fucking nonsense from the insurance companies once and for all.

I have a friend who is paying $1200 a month for health insurance for him and his wife. Then there is deductible and co-payment. Health insurance before Obamacare is not cheap.
Try breaking a leg and going to American hospital ....doing a few x ray put on a cast, .....30K.

That why healthcare and insurance is spinning out of control. They really need Walmart of healthcare to bring down prices. Some Mexican Americans would go back to Mexico for medical just like singaporeans going to JB. Others go to Canada to buy medicine.After Obama care they should look at the monstrosity of healthcare regulation and law of tort that allow patients to sue for millions when hospital fail to cure them

After Obama care they should look at the monstrosity of healthcare regulation and law of tort that allow patients to sue for millions when hospital fail to cure them

You should the Time article on why health care cost is so high in US before mouthing the typical Republican bs.

People should simply accept the fact that they're going to die anyway so what's the point of all this stupid insurance. :rolleyes:

You should the Time article on why healthWhy is American health care so expensive?
Books could be written about this topic. And books have been written about this topic. In The Healing of America, T. D. Reid explored why American medicine falls behind other countries in quality while it races far ahead in cost of care.

Near the end of the book, Reid expands on two big reasons why U.S. health care is so expensive: (1) Unlike other countries, the U.S. government doesn't manage prices; and (2) the complications created by our for-profit system adds tremendous costs.

Oh god, found that I have been inadvertently brainwashed by Republican propaganda. If you hear the PAP propaganda it is the same, the pap inttroduced free markets to medical care by operating Singapore as a medical hub for the rich this is the main cause of healthcare cost escalation.... PAP policies is the cause!!!!!

Books could be written about this topic. And books have been written about this topic. In The Healing of America, T. D. Reid explored why American medicine falls behind other countries in quality while it races far ahead in cost of care.

Near the end of the book, Reid expands on two big reasons why U.S. health care is so expensive: (1) Unlike other countries, the U.S. government doesn't manage prices; and (2) the complications created by our for-profit system adds tremendous costs.

Oh god, found that I have been inadvertently brainwashed by Republican propaganda. If you hear the PAP propaganda it is the same, the pap inttroduced free markets to medical care by operating Singapore as a medical hub for the rich this is the main cause of healthcare cost escalation.... PAP policies is the cause!!!!!

Look at how the hospital bills for every item at astronomical prices which are totally out of the realm of reality. That's the main source of bloating health care cost. But when the hospitals have to bill under medicare, there is a cap on their charges.
Since healthcare has gone crazy under the private sector and curb under medicare, how can the exploding cost be a result of government policy?
If Obama had his way, he would have gone for the single payer system. But the political reality didn't allow it.

In sinkapore, even the government hospitals charge ridiculous sums. This I agree is caused by the PAP.

People should simply accept the fact that they're going to die anyway so what's the point of all this stupid insurance. :rolleyes:

Next you will be suggesting killing anyone who sees a doctor as it is a drain on the country's resources.

If the disease is treatable, by all means see a doctor. However, when you're organs have failed and you've lost your marbles, for God's sake just let go.

Can you suggest a few ways to let go with dignity?

I've been thinking about it but since euthanasia is unlawful, there is no other way to go with dignity.

Look at how the hospital bills for every item at astronomical prices which are totally out of the realm of reality. That's the main source of bloating health care cost. But when the hospitals have to bill under medicare, there is a cap on their charges.
Since healthcare has gone crazy under the private sector and curb under medicare, how can the exploding cost be a result of government policy?
If Obama had his way, he would have gone for the single payer system. But the political reality didn't allow it.

In sinkapore, even the government hospitals charge ridiculous sums. This I agree is caused by the PAP.
The pap can live and die by the market, if that is what they want. We will have to find our own way out if they can't get the job done. There are lives at stake here.

Topsage thank you for your insight, very informative, much appreciated.

Looks like the Republican fear of a Democrat success s very similar to the Thai situation when Thaksin was implementing the 30 baht healthcare policy. This policy eventually became so successful benefiting ordinary Thais that when the Democrat party came into power illegally through military coup they continued this policy saying they will not dismantle any successful policies, snake really as they claimed this is a vote buying policy by Thaksin and will bankrupt the country.

Thanks again for your reply.

Can you suggest a few ways to let go with dignity?

state sponsored suicide and funeral. invite all your friends and family to come to venue, give speech, talk kok, throw party, makan, then down the poisoned chalice. Huat ah!

one thing is for sure... there is a health care commercial on tv and radio every freaking 5 minutes! :*:

american companies spend big on advertisements and commercials. the moment sign ups for health care plans under the affordable care act goes live in california, we get bombarded 24 by 7 on all media, including papers and the internet, by every imaginable healthcare provider out there in this universe. it's extremely entrepreneurial over here.