Alex Au -My eyebrows rose thrice, part 1: Earn $1,000, buy a flat

Let’s assume he takes out a 25-year loan at 5 percent interest per annum. His interest and repayments of principal will be roughly as in the table at right. As you can see, he will be able to make the necessary payments from his CPF contributions alone, provided he devotes the bulk of his CPF inflow to those repayments for most of the 25 years.

So yes, Khaw is right. But what are the implications?

1. It’s a two-room flat, i.e. it has just one bedroom

2. With just one bedroom, how is he going to raise a family?

3. With only $880 in disposable income, how much can he possibly save?

Taken together, what we have is a picture of the minister being right only if we treat the question very narrowly. The moment we try to understand social well-being wholistically, the parts don’t add up.

That, unfortunately, is a strand that can be traced through many of the government’s assertions each time they are challenged about people’s well-being, whether we’re talking about healthcare, social mobility, income inequality, or in this case, housing. They score on specific points, but only if taken in isolation.

- http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/my-eyebrows-rose-thrice-part-1-earn-1000-buy-a-flat/

When Alex raises his eyebrows, I worry.

Alex always has a good point. It's all about semantics, and technicalities with this govt - whether it's buying an HDB flat (this example), or flooding (once in 50 years event), or crowding (you can always dont take the train), or anything that threatens to spend the reserves as a Nigerian scam, or restricting immigration (using the Bangla construction worker as a strawman when jobs for PMETs are thrown wide open to Indian nationals) etc etc.

Laughing_ChimpM-vi.gif

But the 'whities' will tell you, 2 roomers, get untilities rebates, conservancy fees rebates, income tax relief, every is ' sub until you die', what more you want. $1,000 can afford a 2 room flat, wahy not!...but children? ahh! another round of calculation of rebates, 'sub till you...". But, $800 left after CPF, enough to eat, travel or even clothe? never mind the iphone, broadband with optic fibre...the, the the...and $1,000 salary is the type of SINgaporean that our dear boss at Qian Hu, complains about, & are prime targets for condemnation by the bosses in SINgapore, which we know the mantra well...& will have stiff competition from the FT's that come by the truck loads..

On paper it look nice, with the statistics, in real life...tell the 'whites' try living that kind of life...wait, they must be paid more, for the have talents....ha ha ha, it is a pipe dream & a marketing gimmick! on WE CARE, inclusive society...dream on baby!, get real!

dream on baby!, get real!

DPM Tharman mooted the idea, supported by Khaw BW, Tan CJ gave his 2cts and now we have J Teo joining the fray. let's see who's next :eek::eek::eek:

I am waiting for the line of the lawyer's letter and the "What do you want, a 1 room flat, an executive or a bungalow?"

Executive or Bangalore, where S$1,000 can buy a bungalow! maybe?, no, it will be " Bishan, Tampines or Sentosa Cove!:D

Like I had said before, same lyrics, different singers, different genre, which will include Teochew Opera...same song!...aren't you guys bored?, amazing the 60% are tone deaf & numskull...heh he he he

Why settle for a HDB pigeon hole when you can get a bungalow at a fraction of $1000?

China_Town_Bangkok_h046.jpg

One shiny brand new bungalow.

China_Town_Bangkok_h049.jpg

You can also get Mercedes with free chauffeur!

China_Town_Bangkok_h048.jpg

Branded fashion and accessories. D&G, LV, Prada, Dior, Armani, YSL.

China_Town_Bangkok_h047.jpg

Stacks of 纸字 that you can count all day and yet still count some more.

Fellow Sinkies, we are so rich! We can have everything we want!

Alex has the ability to cut thru the smoke and mirrors and get to the nub. He also has great touch of the ground.

Let’s assume he takes out a 25-year loan at 5 percent interest per annum. His interest and repayments of principal will be roughly as in the table at right. As you can see, he will be able to make the necessary payments from his CPF contributions alone, provided he devotes the bulk of his CPF inflow to those repayments for most of the 25 years.

So yes, Khaw is right. But what are the implications?

1. It’s a two-room flat, i.e. it has just one bedroom

2. With just one bedroom, how is he going to raise a family?

3. With only $880 in disposable income, how much can he possibly save?

Taken together, what we have is a picture of the minister being right only if we treat the question very narrowly. The moment we try to understand social well-being wholistically, the parts don’t add up.

That, unfortunately, is a strand that can be traced through many of the government’s assertions each time they are challenged about people’s well-being, whether we’re talking about healthcare, social mobility, income inequality, or in this case, housing. They score on specific points, but only if taken in isolation.

- http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/my-eyebrows-rose-thrice-part-1-earn-1000-buy-a-flat/

i maybe the majority of singaporeans didn't hear correctly when gov wants us to reproduce. they could be secretly referring only those who are rich are entitled to breed like rabbits and not the poor.

again, if not mistaken, the poor foolishly believe the gov and starts to breed like rabbits while the rich don't have the time or energy left since they spend most of their vitality in making more money which in turn could be shared with the gov through tax.