• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ah Neh so smart! use solar panels to power airport!

xpo2015

PAP backed Changi leh?

airport.jpg

so many panels just for one airport?assuming one panel is 150w.the entire thing looks like it can generate 1.5 giga watts.

wwabbit

We don't actually have the luxury of that big plot of land to reserve for the solar panels.
A LFTR would be nice though!

All way ang. So little panel not enough to power 1 floor alone. Their airport is bus terminal type with no conveyor belt no aircon si boh?

cocobobo

india has solar, and thousands of this too

28wind.600.gif

as a result their power price is cheap.

sinkies, meanwhile, use gas, pay oil price, but when oil go down, power price still up.
kanna chop big time as usual.

Still saves electricity, whatever the amount of power generated.
It's not so simple. They hv problems huge problem during solar eclipse. You will not b able to displace this amt of energy. Beside these panels r reflective so glaring will b an issue of concern

xebay11

It's not so simple. They hv problems huge problem during solar eclipse. You will not b able to displace this amt of energy. Beside these panels r reflective so glaring will b an issue of concern

The benefits outweigh the costs, that's all that matters.

Brightkid

Very likely there is only 1 thin cable connecting all these solar panels to the power room distributing power throughout the airport.

All it takes is just 1 small rat to chew through the thin cable and the entire airport will come to a standstill.

Let's wait and see. I be avoiding that airport for sure.

xebay11

Very likely there is only 1 thin cable connecting all these solar panels to the power room distributing power throughout the airport.

All it takes is just 1 small rat to chew through the thin cable and the entire airport will come to a standstill.

Let's wait and see. I be avoiding that airport for sure.

Please lah there are backup cells in all solar powered applications and also UPS to prevent any interruptions.

kunkin

india has solar, and thousands of this too
28wind.600.gif

as a result their power price is cheap.
sinkies, meanwhile, use gas, pay oil price, but when oil go down, power price still up.
kanna chop big time as usual.

Although a relative newcomer to the wind industry compared with Denmark or the United States, India has the fifth largest installed wind power capacity in the world.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wind_power_in_India

Some states derive 30 to 40 % power from wind energy. .
The future is renewable energy and india is doing well..