Ah Gong Was Right About Genetics After All!! Losers Have Poorer Genes!!

Hormones that are out-of-balance in poor and uneducated people may explain why they age faster and are more vulnerable to disease than their more affluent peers, a new study suggests.

It has long been known that less affluent folk die earlier and are "biologically older" than the rich, with those in the most affluent areas expected to live around eight years longer than those in the poorest regions, according to a report in Britain's Daily Telegraph.

Now, researchers at University College London (UCL) may have worked out why.

After monitoring a cohort of 1,880 British men and women since 1946, they have discovered that hormones critical to healthy ageing are significantly out of balance in poorer people by the time they reach 60-64.

Men with the lowest household income - defined by less than £6,000 (S$12,000) a year - had 10 per cent lower testosterone than men earning £30,000 a year or higher, reported the Telegraph.

Low testosterone has been linked to weight gain, loss of muscle, osteoporosis and depression.

In contrast, women whose parents were unskilled workers had testosterone levels 15 per cent higher than the daughters of professionals.

In women, too much testosterone is linked to early puberty, infertility and polycystic ovaries.

Those with the lowest education in both sexes also had depleted levels of insulin-like growth factor (IGF) which has been linked to poor cognitive function and an increased risk of cancer and cardiovascular mortality.

Women with no qualifications had 16 per less IGF than women who had degrees. For men the difference was 8 per cent less IGF, the Telegraph reported.

Low levels of cortisol, which can lead to heart palpitations, depression, pain and insomnia, was also seen in both men and women with the lowest education.

Professor Diana Kuh, of the Medical Research Council’s Unit for Lifelong Health and Ageing at UCL said the hormonal differences showed how societal factors literally "get under the skin" and affect health.

“We found that socioeconomic disadvantage across life, based on father’s social class and on the study member’s education, social class and income, was associated with an adverse hormone profile," she said, according to the Telegraph.

“These hormones are thought to work together to ensure healthy development and also have many different roles in regulating health in older age.

“So our findings suggest that these socioeconomic differences in hormone systems may play a role in explaining social inequalities in health as we age.

“Hormones may be affected by exposure across life to stress and adverse events, health problems and obesity, and unhealthy lifestyles such as physical inactivity, poor diet, and smoking.”

It is already known that socio-economic status has a major impact on health, with studies showing that being poor is associated with increased risks of cardiovascular, respiratory, rheumatic and psychiatric diseases, low birth weight and infant mortality.

Scientists believe psychological stresses of having a less secure future, being bossed around and having lower self-esteem and less access to social support networks cause an increased rate of molecular damage, said the Telegraph. Living in an area of high crime is also thought to accelerate ageing.

Dr David Bann, of the Institute of Education at UCL said: “Our study shows that people from a disadvantaged background are biologically different which could explain health inequalities.

“These hormone levels change with age, so it could potentially explain difference rates of ageing.”

But if the damage is being driven by an out-of-kilter hormone system, it may be possible to fix the disparities through better education and raising the standard of living.

Prof Di added: “We are examining the impact of these hormone differences in explaining inequalities in physical and mental functioning in older age.

“We are also looking at whether socioeconomic differences in other biological systems could help explain social inequalities in how fast we age.

“Our findings provide further evidence of the potentially harmful effects of social disadvantage on health, suggesting that reducing inequalities could have powerful benefits in improving the health of the population and reducing health-care expenditure.”

The research, which was based on data from the MRC National Survey of Health and Development was published in the journal Social Science and Medicine, the Telegraph said.

http://www.straitstimes.com/world/s...medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#xtor=CS1-10

That is the reason why there is no point implementing policies to help the poor.

They are genetically inferior and no matter how much help is rendered, they're still going to be losers.

That is the reason why there is no point implementing policies to help the poor.

They are genetically inferior and no matter how much help is rendered, they're still going to be losers.

The converse is neither true. If the rich has superior genes, why do they need help from the government ? No matter how, they can still go at it themselves and come out as winners.

The poor needs help so that they do not sink further.

But perhaps the main reason why the government helps the poor is that they still get to vote every 5 years.

Wow, you have just committed sedition. You have accused Lee Gay Loong of being adopted and not the real child of Lee Con You and Gecko. If he really was, he would not have the inferior genes that allowed him to have asshole cancer, and produce albino kids. Better call ISD and apologize.

PM Lee is precisely Ah Gong's offspring. He beat cancer twice while Ong Teng Cheong did not survive one round of cancer. Clearly PM Lee has good genes.

Have good genes won't get cancers lah!

Deng Xiaoping has good genes. Smoke so much also dun get cancers.

Indeed. The fastest way to eliminate poverty, is to eradicate the poor! Common sense really. :cool:

where in the article does it say its due to their genes?read it carefully its clear everything is blamed on lack of education and poor standard of living and socioeconomic differences.its clear many in this thread are poor and genetically inferior from their lack of reading comprehension.

thats why we need minimum wage like australia,everybody in australia looks rich and affluent well dressed well fed well lived and well played.....life is good when ur making minimum $17 an hour.compared to sinkies where everybody looks like

where in the article does it say its due to their genes?read it carefully its clear everything is blamed on lack of education and poor standard of living and socioeconomic differences.its clear many in this thread are poor and genetically inferior from their lack of reading comprehension.

thats why we need minimum wage like australia,everybody in australia looks rich and affluent well dressed well fed well lived and well played.....life is good when ur making minimum $17 an hour.compared to sinkies where everybody looks like

We are not going to pay our maids and toilet cleaners $17 an hour. Overnight, over a hundred thousand maids and banglas will lose their jobs.

Totally agree with you, Leongsam.

Civil serpents of Chief Natural Aristocrat should enact policies to bring in more wealthy families from China, India, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Iran to populate Sinkieland.

Indeed. The fastest way to eliminate poverty, is to eradicate the poor! Common sense really. :cool:

Totally agree, Your statement is so logical.

At the time of writing this post there are at least 10 million Ah Tiongs and 7 million Ah Nehs who each have at least US$1 million in assets.

If Chief Natural Aristocrat gives free Sinkie citizenships to these individuals, he will reach his goal of 10 million citizenships in no time.

We are not going to pay our maids and toilet cleaners $17 an hour. Overnight, over a hundred thousand maids and banglas will lose their jobs.

is ur mom a maid and ur dad a bangla?why are u so worried about them losing their jobs?

if u are being paid $17 an hour maybe u would have some time to look after ur own children instead of strangers raising them?

money paid to lower working class and middle class isnt so bad,these are the people that drive the economy when they spend their paychecks back into the economy.the rich only cares about accumulating more and more money and wealth and assets,the money and assets they hoard get taken out of the system rather than being spend back into the economy.