Adam Khoo on why expats will rule Singapore...

sense

The self-made millionaire makes a sweeping prediction on foreign talent in Singapore, to a wave of agreement
By Larry Loh 5 January, 2010

Investment gurus and self-help coaches like to make controversial statements to attract the public's eye, but this one just about takes the cake. Adam Khoo, Singapore's self-professed self-made millionaire and investment author, made a sweeping prediction -- "that in a couple of years, the expatriates (from China, India, United States etc.) will rule Singapore. They will increasing take on more leadership roles of CEOs, directors, heads of organizations, award winners." The funny thing is, there's not that many dissenting voices in the blogsphere.

It's a open statement and post in his website, Adam Khoo's Philosophies and Investing Insights, which we reproduce portions of here.

"If you observe closely, it is already happening now. This year’s top PSLE (Primary School Leaving Exam) student is a China National. Most of the deans list students and first class honors students in the local universities are foreigners and more and more CEOs, even that of government linked corporations are expats. The top players in our National teams are expats.

The question I have been asking is, 'why are the expats beating the crap out of Singaporeans?' What I noticed is that these expats have a very important quality that many Singaporeans (especially the new Y generation lack). It is a quality that our grandfathers and great-grandfathers (who came from distant lands) had that turned Singapore from a fishing village to the third richest country in the world (according to GDP per capita). Unfortunately, I fear this quality is soon disappearing from the new generation of Singaporeans. This quality is the hunger for success and the fighting spirit!

I hate to say this but in a way, I prefer to hire expats for my own business than locals. Expats are willing to work long hours, go the extra mile, are fiercely loyal to you and don’t complain so much. They also come alot more qualified and do not ask the moon for the remuneration. Recently, I placed an ad for a marketing executive. Out of 100+ resumes, more than 60% came from expats. While locals fresh grads are asking for $2,500+ per month, I have expats with masters degrees from good universities willing to get less than $2,000! They know that if they can come in and learn and work hard, they will eventually climb up and earn alot more. They are willing to invest in themselves, pay the price for future rewards. Sometimes I wonder how some of the locals are going to compete with this."

It's certainly meant to rake up the leaves, given the recent discussions on foreign talents and the increasing number of expats in Singapore, and comments have been coming in hot but not quite so bothered. jiaan posted on Adam's website he knows "of many people who still think that their job is an iron rice bowl & their wages will increase yearly. I do know of people who have the mindsets that their parents should be the one paying for their wedding or providing captial for them to start a business" but Spike didn't really agree that Singaporeans lack fighting spirit or are not hungry for success -- "Regarding your point that Singaporean kids do not ask questions or tend to be quiet, I believe this is more a result of their upbringing. Our past and current education system trains children to accept what their teachers, parents, etc tell them without questioning. This form of rote learning tends to produce kids who are like sponges; great for memorizing chunks of data but unable to analyze or articulate what they’ve learned."

The Online Citizen website member ken, who doesn't really follow Adam Khoo and his so-called 'investment philosophies', cannot fault him on the fact that Singapore needs the expats. "But how many of them could have have been replaced now by local talent if our education system and general mindset was different 20-30 years ago?" he asked. sloke believes that "the locals have their passion and fighting spirit doused out by the system. It took years of programming and it is now showing in the form of apathy towards most things except private pursuits of wealth and happiness. The locals are competing with both hands tied behind their backs."

On the SgForums site, angel7030 posed the notion that "it is better to let Singaporean a feel of the global market competition now rather than later, now they understand they are not worth that much to walk around, point and point there while earning a five-figure paid, these will motivate them work harder and smarter, so that in a long run, our Singaporean PMET or workers will be able to adapt to any condition set about in the global market."

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/none/adam-khoo-why-expats-will-rule-singapore-857716
http://www.adam-khoo.com/304/the-expats-will-rule-singapore/

362992.jpg

Maybe these expats can also get to be minister for less then a couple of million dollars as well? It would help Singapore be more competitive right? Why pay $4million a year when you can get someone for less and would work harder for the people?

If those FTs failed to progress in SG, they can always go back to whatever shithole they came from. For locals, it's checkmate.

Truly an exploitive opportunist. Selling hot air to under qualified parents looking for a bright future for their kids and selling koyok to the gullible. Undercutting prices and wages is a long known phenomenon for migrating labour and talent. the idea is to cover their fixed cost, settle down and start building a life. He benefits because the is no minimum wages, the Govt looks to the GDP as a performance marker, there is no intention to build a nation and survival of the fittest. Quality is sacrificed, compassion is devalued and innovation cannot be achieved.

He should stick to what he is good at - bovine explusion of the first order.
No decent bull would want to be mentioned in the same breath with him.

The truth is Sinkies are aware of his "business" and he is trying to shift his business focus to expats.

This guy is a throughbred crook! He works with schoold principals and get them to get their students to sign up for course. Teaching you empty nothings. Stating the obvious and charging bombs for it. A complete arsehole. After his course, if your child makes no progress, he tells you that you need to send your kid for refreshers course which he charges super high fees for. The great thing about it is that the unqualified instructors that he uses for the courses are doing if for free. What he is doing is taking advantage of your ignorance by making empty promises and getting rich in the process. Beware of this super con. You learn absolutely nothing and get poorer in the process.
Out of the thousand he cheats, one get lucky and he claims the success as his and puts it in the papers to con others.

Spot on. He also pays "referral" fees to find outstanding students, get them to attend his courses for free as an enrichment execise and when they ace their exams, he uses them to bait others. This guys successfully transferred the placebo effect to education.

This guy is a throughbred crook! He works with schoold principals and get them to get their students to sign up for course. Teaching you empty nothings. Stating the obvious and charging bombs for it. A complete arsehole. After his course, if your child makes no progress, he tells you that you need to send your kid for refreshers course which he charges super high fees for. The great thing about it is that the unqualified instructors that he uses for the courses are doing if for free. What he is doing is taking advantage of your ignorance by making empty promises and getting rich in the process. Beware of this super con. You learn absolutely nothing and get poorer in the process.
Out of the thousand he cheats, one get lucky and he claims the success as his and puts it in the papers to con others.

The sad thing is he's still in business so it shows that there are many gullible ppl out there. Not only in this aspect but in other segements like take religion and the christian church thing, even in this forum we have new nicks that come in to the gambling forum and assure ppl that they can win almost 100% of the time if they follow their teachings with of course a complimentary fee of a few thousand or a "loan".

This guy is a thoroughbred crook! He works with schoold principals and get them to
get their students to sign up for course. Teaching you empty nothings. Stating the
obvious and charging bombs for it. A complete arsehole. After his course, if your
child makes no progress, he tells you that you need to send your kid for refreshers
course which he charges super high fees for. The great thing about it is that the
unqualified instructors that he uses for the courses are doing if for free. What he is
doing is taking advantage of your ignorance by making empty promises and getting
rich in the process. Beware of this super con. You learn absolutely nothing and
get poorer in the process. Out of the thousand he cheats, one get lucky and he
claims the success as his and puts it in the papers to con others.

PAP style convince, insist, manipulate , patent and monopolize .

Looks like Adam Khoo is well connected to Tony Tan

[video=youtube;Ijy0ve78BVU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ijy0ve78BVU[/video]

The real truth is that after attending his course you should be motivated and energised to do what you know must be do and do it with your fullest ability. This is the most accurate measurement of whether you truly understand the contents of his course. Most sadly, no one and completely no one managed to learn anything and graduated from his course effectively. Because if there were even just one, he/she would have gone up to him in front of his entire staff and demand full refund of fees paid. The true secret to his business is "there's a sucker born every minute" just work on the suckers and you definitely have enough to feed on. Also those who know better will never take his course. So when you come to his free course preview, he know that you are desperate and he sings your tune so that you will be taken in.
Now to improve business, he's claiming relationship with PAP because he know that PAP supporters are kiasu,gulliable and want to get ahead. Most importantly, these people believe in magical shortcuts that he will exploit to the max. As long as there are people taking his course in Singapore, it is proof that there are still many stupid people around. With such a population in Singapore, we should be peddling blue tictacs as viagras and be rich.

Those who can do, those who cannot teach..........
The smart are too busy making monies to teach-except their own kids to take over their empire.

Face it. Sinkies aren't the sharpest tool in the box. You can't nurture creativity and critical thinking in a milieu that values conformity over curiosity. The Sinkie is lost without 10 yr series assessment books, government laws, an encik barking instructions and PAP.

Adam Khoo sells fear factor.Nothing more nothing lees .A lesson he learnt from PAP how it sell itself to Sinkies for the past 50 years.

Now,it is it not so simple as to any foreigner with a masters degree willing to work for less than $2000 monthly to reach our shores.This is something Adam won't tell you.True,there are millions who can work for far less than those foreigners currently working in Singapore.But they are not here but others are.Why?Because it essentially boils down to money to spare.For example,a construction or shipping workers has to forrk out at least $8 to $10k to agents to reach here........which begets that even if you are amply qualified and willing to work for less the initial capital is a must as foreigner.A fortune for those in the 3rd world countries.

That applies to Sinkies as well.For example,the minimum wages in Australia is around $15 an hour.I am certain among us there are thousands who will work for far less there.But how many amongst us who has the initial capital to settle in Australia despite the fact that cost of living is far better in Australia than here?

He's a Conjob, he tells everyone he's makes 1million by age of 30 and everyone believes ?
gosh how gullible can people be. He simply just rides on his parents coattails just like any rich kid. they are simply just kidding you. U think this guy has the spurs stuck behind his back ?
Bullocks to him. Knows shit about business, the only money he is making are from Registration Fees gullible people pay to listen to him talk cock.

Another example thai express another young "entrepreneur" who claims on TV he made it before age of 34, alast we found out he's actually son of Tommy Goh.Another rich kids riding on his family's coattails and knows shit about business.

Same case for Sheng shiong.

EVeryone loves a rags to riches story, but this ain't a no rags to riches story, it's a MLM con job.

a sign that we cannot make it, if we cannot compete, we blame our education system for making us what we are today.
That's a truely sad & defeatist mindset.

He's a Conjob, he tells everyone he's makes 1million by age of 30 and everyone believes ?
gosh how gullible can people be. He simply just rides on his parents coattails just like any rich kid. they are simply just kidding you. U think this guy has the spurs stuck behind his back ?
Bullocks to him. Knows shit about business, the only money he is making are from Registration Fees gullible people pay to listen to him talk cock.

Another example thai express another young "entrepreneur" who claims on TV he made it before age of 34, alast we found out he's actually son of Tommy Goh.Another rich kids riding on his family's coattails and knows shit about business.

Same case for Sheng shiong.

EVeryone loves a rags to riches story, but this ain't a no rags to riches story, it's a MLM con job.

The Thai-Express guy is actually Tommy Goh's son-in-law. Abt the same lah... connection mah :)

How about some thai chinese guy that became a local celeb on tv by being a hoster now opening his restaurant cooking thai food in bugis junction?